National Institute Of Food Technology Entrepreneurship And Management
Of the 613 undergraduates on the rolls at NIFTEM Kundli, 62 are from Haryana, the state the campus stands in. The rest arrive from everywhere else, and on 110 of the 200 B.Tech seats they can arrive through three different doors: a JEE Main rank, a NEET rank and a CUET score each carry a quota of their own on the same degree. It is a Government institute run by the Ministry of Food Processing Industries. It finished 22nd on the 2025 agriculture and allied sectors ranking, and a General category undergraduate pays Rs 1,25,100 in the first semester.
Overview
NIFTEM-K is the younger of the two institutes that carry the NIFTEM name, and it was built for the food processing ministry rather than for the education ministry. Its counterpart at Thanjavur traces its own beginning to a Paddy Processing Research Centre set up in 1967 and reached the NIFTEM name by way of IICPT and IIFPT; Kundli's story starts forty-five years after that. The Ministry of Food Processing Industries set it up in 2012 as an Institute of Excellence in food science and technology, and until September 2021 it ran as a Deemed to be University in the De Novo category under Section 3 of the UGC Act. The prospectus describes it as the only institute in the country holding university status exclusively in food processing.
What changed the institute's legal footing was an Act rather than an accreditation visit. The National Institutes of Food Technology Entrepreneurship and Management Act was published in the Gazette of India on 30 July 2021 and came into force on 1 October 2021, which is the date the Institute of National Importance status attaches to Kundli. In the counselling system it is still handled as a centrally funded outsider rather than as a technology institute: the Joint Seat Allocation Authority carries it under institute code 430 and types it as an Other GFTI, alongside the government institutes that are neither IITs nor NITs nor IIITs.
| At a glance | Detail |
|---|---|
| Type | Institute of National Importance under the Ministry of Food Processing Industries |
| Set up | 2012, as an Institute of Excellence in food science and technology |
| Earlier status | Deemed to be University, De Novo category, Section 3 of the UGC Act, until September 2021 |
| Statute | NIFTEM Act 2021, gazetted 30 July 2021, in force from 1 October 2021 |
| JoSAA classification | Institute code 430, Other GFTIs |
| Campus | Plot No. 97, Sector 56, HSIIDC Industrial Estate, Kundli, District Sonipat, Haryana |
| Degrees taught | B.Tech, integrated B.Tech with MBA, BBA (Hons), M.Tech, M.Sc, MBA, Executive MBA, PhD |
| NIRF 2025, agriculture and allied sectors | Rank 22, score 54.61 |
The student body is national rather than regional, and that shapes almost everything about how the place runs. The institute's most recent ranking return puts 613 students on the four year undergraduate programmes and 226 on the two year postgraduate ones, and only 62 of the undergraduates are from within Haryana against 551 from outside it. Women are 182 of the undergraduate roll and 106 of the postgraduate one, so the balance is markedly more even at master's level than in the first degree. An institute drawing that share of its intake from outside the state is a boarding institution first, which is why living on campus is compulsory here.
Courses & Fees
Eight degrees are on offer here, and the mix leans much harder towards management than the food technology name suggests: two of the eight are MBAs, one is a BBA in data analytics, and the integrated programme welds a B.Tech to an MBA over five years. Three of those eight opened for the first time in 2026-27 - the BBA (Honours), the integrated B.Tech with MBA and the M.Sc - alongside a new Early PhD route taken straight from a four year bachelor's degree, so none of the four has a graduating batch or a published closing rank behind it yet.
| Programme | Duration | Seats | Route in |
|---|---|---|---|
| B.Tech (Food Technology and Management) | 4 years, 8 semesters | 200 | JoSAA and CSAB for 90, direct on JEE Main, NEET or CUET for 110 |
| B.Tech (Food Technology) + MBA, integrated | 5 years, 10 semesters | 30 | Direct, on a JEE Main rank |
| BBA (Honours) in Data and Business Analytics | 4 years, 8 semesters | 30 | CUET (UG) |
| M.Tech, five separate programmes | 2 years, 4 semesters | 100 | GATE for 60, CUET-PG for 40 |
| M.Sc Food Science and Technology | 2 years, 4 semesters | 20 | CUET (PG) |
| MBA, Food and Agri-Business Management | 2 years, full time | 30 | CAT, MAT or CMAT, or the institute's own test, then GD and interview |
| Executive MBA | 2 years, online with a campus immersion week | 30 | CAT, MAT, CMAT or GMAT, or the institute's test, then interview |
| PhD, five departments | Regular and early PhD modes | 101 | Research Entrance Test, three stages |
Unusually for a central institute, the whole fee schedule is printed in the prospectus, programme by programme, rather than held behind an enquiry form. Every figure below is a first semester total, and on every campus programme it already includes hostel room rent, which is billed as a fee head rather than separately. The Executive MBA is the exception: it runs online, so its bill carries no room rent and accommodation for the immersion week is charged separately where it can be provided at all.
| Programme, first semester | General, OBC-NCL and EWS | SC, ST and PwD |
|---|---|---|
| B.Tech (FTM) | Rs 1,25,100 | Rs 73,450 |
| B.Tech (FT) + MBA | Rs 1,25,100 | Rs 73,450 |
| M.Tech | Rs 1,17,155 | Rs 91,305 |
| M.Sc | Rs 1,17,155 | Rs 91,305 |
| MBA | Rs 2,05,450 | Rs 77,950 |
| Executive MBA | Rs 1,47,875 | Rs 48,600 |
| PhD, regular | Rs 65,170 | Rs 60,950 |
The reserved category column is not a discount on the same bill, it is the same bill with tuition set to zero, so where the other heads are heavy the reserved figure climbs: an SC or ST student on the M.Tech pays Rs 91,305 in the first semester, more than a General category student would pay on the PhD. And the MBA sits in a different price class from everything else on campus, with a tuition head alone of Rs 1,27,500 against Rs 51,650 for the B.Tech.
Exactly one charge sits outside those totals: mess charges of Rs 27,000 a semester, payable in advance when you join the hostel. Two more are worth pulling out from inside the total, because neither is tuition and neither recurs. Rs 15,000 is a refundable security deposit against the institution, library and mess, and Rs 11,650 for alumni membership and an identity card is a one time charge that is never refunded. Family income then works on the tuition head alone, and the waiver bands are set out under Scholarships below.
Admissions
The undergraduate seat is the one worth understanding in detail, because Kundli splits its intake between the national counselling system and its own portal. Of 200 B.Tech seats, 90 are filled through JoSAA and CSAB under institute code 430, and the other 110 are filled by the institute itself, split 50 on JEE Main, 30 on NEET and 30 on CUET, with a further 20 supernumerary seats for foreign students under DASA and Study in India. A NEET rank buying an engineering seat is rare anywhere in India, and it works here because the qualifying subject list accepts biology in place of mathematics at Class XII.
| B.Tech eligibility, 2026-27 | General, OBC-NCL and EWS | SC, ST and PwD |
|---|---|---|
| Class XII, Physics, Chemistry, Maths or Biology, English and one more subject | 60% | 55% |
| JEE Main All India Rank, common rank list | Less than 5 Lakh | Less than 7 Lakh |
| NEET All India Rank | Less than 7 Lakh | Less than 9 Lakh |
| CUET, aggregate across three domain subjects | Minimum 40% | Minimum 35% |
Applying under more than one exam means more than one form. A candidate holding both a JEE Main rank and a CUET score has to submit a separate application for each qualifying exam, because merit lists are drawn inside each mode, and where a candidate qualifies in more than one the better rank or score is the one considered. When the mode wise lists are exhausted the institute runs an on-spot counselling round, and if seats survive even that, a pooled round throws every remaining registered candidate into one common merit list ordered on Class XII marks, whichever exam they came in on.
The published calendar opened online applications for every programme on 29 Apr 2026 and closed them on 3 Jun 2026, and the prospectus says in advance that the deadline will move once national results land. It moved. The admission page carries an extension notice for the MBA and Executive MBA applications; the undergraduate seat allotment the calendar put in the first week of August was still running a final round on 11 Aug 2026; an on-spot round followed on 27 Aug 2026, and a special drive for OBC-NCL, SC and ST candidates came after that. Treat the printed dates as an opening position and keep watching the admission page through August.
Postgraduate entry is exam driven on the technical side and interview driven on the management side. The M.Tech splits 60 seats to GATE and 40 to CUET-PG, with vacant seats interchangeable between the two modes and a campus entrance test only once both are exhausted. The MBA shortlists on a CAT, MAT or CMAT score or on an internal paper of 50 objective questions over 90 minutes with no negative marking, then decides on group discussion and interview. Doctoral entry runs a three stage Research Entrance Test held only at the Kundli campus, with an aptitude qualifier at 40%, a department paper at 60% for unreserved candidates and an interview; JRF holders and sponsored candidates skip the first two stages.
Cutoff
Kundli publishes its own closing ranks, so the direct admission bar here is a matter of record rather than of rumour. The table below is the 2025-26 direct admission round, and the notice carrying it states plainly that it confers no right or guarantee of admission in a later year.
| 2025-26 direct admission | JEE Main opening rank | JEE Main closing rank | NEET opening rank | NEET closing rank | CUET minimum | CUET maximum |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| General | 80704 | 327310 | 64169 | 293983 | 59.26% | 94.36% |
| EWS | 294875 | 435437 | 357071 | 778740 | 42.03% | 50.95% |
| OBC-NCL | 202001 | 500882 | 145967 | 659630 | 39.04% | 56.82% |
| SC | 253532 | 797792 | 277873 | 386922 | 40.39% | 47.32% |
| ST | Not available | Not available | Not available | Not available | Not available | Not available |
The ST row prints NA across all three exams, and ST seats were still going unfilled a year later: going into the on-spot round of August 2026 the institute still had four ST seats and two ST-PwD seats open on the JEE Main mode alone, and a special drive for OBC-NCL, SC and ST candidates followed that round. The General JEE list also runs deep, closing at 327310, so a rank well past three lakh has been enough here in a recent year even in the open category.
All three doors were then narrowed for 2026-27, and the same notice prints both years side by side. The JEE Main bar moved from a rank under 6 Lakh to under 5 Lakh, NEET from under 8 Lakh to under 7 Lakh, and the CUET requirement from a minimum of 35% taken over physics, chemistry and whichever of maths or biology scored higher, to 40% aggregated across three domain subjects. Two routes that worked in 2025-26 would not work now: the SC list closed at 797792 on JEE Main and the EWS list at 778740 on NEET, and both of those sit past the bar that now applies.
The 90 seats routed through JoSAA and CSAB carry no institute published cutoff at all. Those closing ranks belong to the counselling authority and are released in its own opening and closing rank archive, under institute code 430.
Placements
The pay figures for recent batches all sit inside a NIRF submission, and there is exactly one of them per cohort: a median. The undergraduate median has climbed in each of the three reported years while the graduating cohort swung from 122 to 135 and back to 116.
| B.Tech cohort | Graduated in stipulated time | Placed | Median salary of placed graduates | Went to higher study |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 122 | 85 | Rs 7,00,000 | 35 |
| 2023-24 | 135 | 74 | Rs 7,10,000 | 58 |
| 2024-25 | 116 | 77 | Rs 7,21,000 | 35 |
The postgraduate side runs a lower median than the undergraduate side, which matters if you are weighing an M.Tech here against taking a job straight after the B.Tech.
| PG cohort | Graduated in stipulated time | Placed | Median salary of placed graduates | Went to higher study |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 74 | 68 | Rs 6,00,000 | 4 |
| 2023-24 | 80 | 55 | Rs 6,25,000 | 22 |
| 2024-25 | 90 | 75 | Rs 6,80,000 | 14 |
The middle year is the one to hold in mind on both tables. In 2023-24 the undergraduate batch was the largest of the three, placements fell to 74, and 58 of that cohort went to higher study against 35 in each of the years either side of it. The postgraduate side swung the same year, from 68 placed out of 74 down to 55 out of 80 before recovering. One weak year in a cohort this size moves the percentage violently, so read all three rows rather than the newest one.
A highest package does exist on the record, but it is old. The institute's own JoSAA profile prints a five year salary table that stops with the 2018-22 batch: maximum CTC of Rs 7.00 Lakh for the 2014-18 batch, then Rs 9.00 Lakh, then Rs 10.00 Lakh for each of the last three of those batches, while average CTC over the same span barely moved, from Rs 5.06 Lakh to Rs 5.36 Lakh. Nothing under a package heading has been published since, so for any batch that graduated after 2022 the NIRF medians are the whole of it. Company names have to come from the placement brochure, which prints an internship host beside every student in the outgoing batch. The two that come up most often across those entries are ITC, mostly its Agri Business Division, and Eureka Analytical, a testing laboratory rather than a manufacturer; behind them sit Dabur India, Nestle R&D at Manesar, AB InBev, Marico and Haldiram's. The same brochure sizes the outgoing batches at 135 for the B.Tech, 78 for the M.Tech and 20 for the MBA. An internship host is not the same thing as a recruiter, and the Corporate Resource Cell page carries its recruiter strip as logo images with no readable names, so no year wise recruiter list or offer count exists to quote.
Seat Matrix
Sanctioned intake sat still for three years and then jumped. Undergraduate seats went from 180 to 200 in 2024-25 and postgraduate seats from 90 to 100 in the same year.
| Sanctioned intake | 2024-25 | 2023-24 | 2022-23 | 2021-22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| UG, four year programmes | 200 | 180 | 180 | 180 |
| PG, two year programmes | 100 | 90 | Not reported | Not reported |
Sanctioned intake is not what a late applicant is actually competing for, and the institute publishes the residue too. Going into the on-spot round of 27 Aug 2026, 31 B.Tech (FTM) seats were still vacant, and the split across the three doors was heavily lopsided.
| Vacant B.Tech (FTM) seats, on-spot round 2026 | Seats |
|---|---|
| JEE Main mode | 27 |
| NEET mode | 3 |
| CUET mode | 1 |
| Total | 31 |
The same notice put 10 seats unfilled on the integrated B.Tech with MBA and 13 on the BBA. Read the doors against each other and the NEET and CUET lists close hard while the JEE Main list stays open into late August, which is not what an intake of 50 JEE Main seats, 30 NEET seats and 30 CUET seats would lead you to expect.
Rankings
NIRF gave the institute one scored position in 2025: 22nd of the 40 institutions its agriculture and allied sectors table published, on a total of 54.61. The five parameters behind that total pull hard against each other.
| NIRF 2025 agriculture parameter | Score |
|---|---|
| Outreach and Inclusivity | 67.72 |
| Graduation Outcomes | 65.95 |
| Teaching, Learning and Resources | 62.02 |
| Research and Professional Practice | 50.08 |
| Perception | 10.22 |
Haryana puts four institutions on this table and Kundli finishes third of them, behind ICAR's National Dairy Research Institute at Karnal in 2nd place on 75.87 and Chaudhary Charan Singh Haryana Agricultural University at Hisar in 10th on 61.47, and ahead of Lala Lajpat Rai University of Veterinary and Animal Sciences, also at Hisar, in 37th on 48.03. Hisar's agricultural university is the instructive comparison, because the two split cleanly: Hisar scores 87.12 on teaching resources against Kundli's 62.02, and 64.57 on perception against Kundli's 10.22, while Kundli takes research and professional practice at 50.08 against 33.38 and outreach at 67.72 against 51.72. Only one institution in the whole published table scores lower than Kundli on perception, and that is Amity University on 3.69. Perception is polled from employers and academics rather than measured, so a weak number there reports how well known a campus is, not how it teaches.
Its other 2025 entry comes with no score attached at all. Engineering ranks only its top hundred and then gathers the next fifty into a 101 to 150 band set out A to Z, and that band is where Sonipat sits, one line above the Thanjavur campus on the same page. It tells a reader the institute cleared the framework's threshold and nothing whatever about where inside those fifty it falls. Kundli entered the overall category as well and came away with nothing to print: the name is on the 2025 list of participating institutes for that category but on neither the ranked table nor the 101 to 150 band beneath it, and no ranked table in university, management, research or innovation carries the name.
Departments
Five departments carry every degree on campus, and each of the five owns exactly one M.Tech specialisation.
| Department | Head | Owns the M.Tech in | PhD seats |
|---|---|---|---|
| Food Engineering | Dr S. Thanga Lakshmi | Food Process Engineering and Management | 30 |
| Interdisciplinary Sciences | Dr Harinder Singh Oberoi | Food Safety and Quality Management | 24 |
| Food Business Management and Entrepreneurship Development | Dr Vimal Pant | Food Plant Operations and Management | 20 |
| Food Science and Technology | Dr Rajni Chopra | Food Technology and Management | 15 |
| Postharvest Technology, Bioprocessing and Environmental Sciences | Dr Bhim Pratap Singh | Food Supply Chain Management | 12 |
Interdisciplinary Sciences is headed by the Director of the institute himself, listed on the contact directory as Director and HoD on one line, which a doctoral applicant to that department should weigh when estimating how much supervision time to expect. Food Business Management and Entrepreneurship Development is the one that reaches furthest off campus: its MBA sends students on an immersion programme at IIM Nagpur, IIM Jammu, IIM Shillong and IIT Roorkee, and the sixteen visiting faculty the prospectus names are drawn from much the same set of management schools rather than from food science departments.
Facilities & Infrastructure
This is a purpose built campus rather than a converted one. The JoSAA institute profile records it as spread over 100 acres on NH-1 close to the North Delhi and Haryana border, set up with an initial investment of about Rs 500 crore. Teaching space runs to eight 100 seater and nine 25 seater classrooms, each with a podium, projection and lecture recording, and there is an auditorium seating 650.
The library is a building rather than a room. The NIFTEM Knowledge Centre occupies a five storey, boat shaped block of 5474.29 square metres, runs RFID self issue and return, and provides a digital library with 12 multimedia terminals and seating for more than 230 readers. The two official descriptions of it disagree on the software behind all that: the prospectus names KOHA as the library management system while the campus life page names VTLS-Vertua.
What separates this campus from a university department is the analytical and pilot plant side. The Centre for Food Research and Analysis runs LC-MS/MS, GC-MS/MS, ICP-MS and ICP-OES for residue, toxicant and heavy metal work, and it carries a set of regulatory accreditations set out further down this page. Alongside it sit five pilot plants and the NIFTEM Technology Innovation and Business Incubation Foundation, which the prospectus says has supported more than 65 start-ups across the food and agri value chain. The money confirms where the priority lies: capital spending in 2024-25 ran to Rs 1,70,90,189 on the library and Rs 4,70,68,956 on new laboratory equipment.
One gap is worth naming because the institute names it itself, in two documents that contradict each other. The prospectus lists shops, a laundry, a dispensary, a canteen and indoor and outdoor sports facilities as already running on a fully residential campus, while the campus life page puts the sports grounds, and the amenity complex holding a bank, post office, departmental store and food court, in the future tense as things being planned. Sport is the first thing a boarder will look for, so ask the hostel office which version is true in the semester you are joining.
Hostel
Living on campus is not a choice here. The institute is fully residential and its own campus life page states that staying in the hostel is mandatory for all students, which is why room rent shows up inside the semester fee rather than as a separate bill. Boys are housed in three halls named Brahmaputra, Sutlej and Ganga, girls in separate hostels, and rooms are allotted on a single, double or triple sharing basis.
| Residential cost | Amount | How it is billed |
|---|---|---|
| Room rent, sharing basis, B.Tech and integrated programme | Rs 9,000 a semester | Inside the semester fee |
| Room rent, single room where allotted, B.Tech | Rs 12,000 a semester | Inside the semester fee |
| Room rent, M.Tech, M.Sc, MBA and PhD | Rs 12,000 a semester | Inside the semester fee |
| Mess charges | Rs 27,000 a semester | Paid in advance on joining the hostel |
| Security deposit for institution, library and mess | Rs 15,000 | One time, refundable |
The mess charge is a flat advance rather than a monthly bill divided among whoever ate, and the prospectus warns that inflation or a jump in raw material costs may be passed on to students already enrolled. One clause catches interns out: hostel room rent is not refunded or waived in whole or in part when a student leaves campus for an internship, a study tour or a vacation, and the B.Tech carries industry immersion away from Kundli.
Faculty
Adhoc and contractual appointments are 18 of the 72 faculty rows in the institute's most recent agriculture ranking return, against 53 regular appointments and one visiting, and 65 of the rows carry a doctorate. Beyond that resident body the prospectus lists sixteen visiting faculty drawn from IIM Nagpur, IIM Jammu, IIM Sambalpur, IIFT, IIT Delhi, IIT Roorkee and the University of Delhi, and they teach into the management programmes rather than the food science ones.
| Research and consultancy | 2024-25 | 2023-24 | 2022-23 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sponsored projects | 21 | 14 | 29 |
| Funding agencies | 17 | 14 | 14 |
| Sponsored research received | Rs 3,63,84,870 | Rs 3,26,52,934 | Rs 1,29,49,995 |
| Consultancy projects | 81 | 31 | 10 |
| Client organisations | 38 | 27 | 9 |
| Consultancy income | Rs 2,40,79,197 | Rs 1,21,13,516 | Rs 2,69,79,350 |
The consultancy row tells a story the totals hide. Project count went from 10 to 81 in two years while income fell from Rs 2,69,79,350 to Rs 2,40,79,197, so the average assignment has fallen from about Rs 27 Lakh to under Rs 3 Lakh: many small jobs where there used to be a handful of large ones. Patents are the thinnest line in the whole return, at 3 granted in calendar 2024, 5 in 2023 and 2 in 2022. The doctoral roll, by contrast, is large for a faculty of this size: 134 full time and 17 part time scholars were on the rolls, with 13 full timers finishing in 2024-25.
One caution on those figures comes from the institute's own paperwork. The sponsored research amount for 2024-25 is filed as Rs 3,63,84,870 in the agriculture return and as Rs 3,63,64,870 in the overall return for the same year, and the two capital expenditure tables disagree for 2022-23 as well. Neither gap is large, but both are a reminder to read a NIRF submission as the institute's own declaration rather than as an audited figure.
Notable Alumni
The institute names no alumni. Its Alumni Association site renders a heading and nothing under it, and there is no distinguished alumni page or destination list anywhere on the main domain either, so a name circulating under this institute's banner has come from somewhere other than NIFTEM-K.
The nearest thing to a public record of who holds a degree from here is the convocation page, which carries the Souvenir 2025 and the media galleries for the fifth and sixth convocations.
News & Articles
The admission page is where this institute's news actually lives, and in an admission year it moves weekly. Through August 2026 alone it carried the third and the final counselling rounds for the B.Tech, physical reporting notices for both undergraduate programmes, a fee refund guideline for candidates admitted through JoSAA and CSAB, the vacant seat matrix for the on-spot round, a corrigendum to that round, and then the special drive notice for OBC-NCL, SC and ST categories. Anyone tracking a seat should read the admission page rather than the calendar in the prospectus, because the printed calendar was overtaken twice inside one cycle.
College Compare
Contact & Location
The campus sits inside an industrial estate rather than in a university town, which is worth picturing before you accept a seat: the address is a plot number in the HSIIDC estate at Kundli, and the nearest railway station is at Sonipat rather than at Kundli.
| Contact | Detail |
|---|---|
| Address | Plot No. 97, Sector 56, HSIIDC Industrial Estate, Kundli, District Sonipat, Haryana 131028 |
| Institute board | +91-130-2281020 |
| Admission cell | Dr P. Murali Krishna, Head, admission@niftem.ac.in, +91-130-2281011 |
| Admission office, alternate | +91-130-2281100, 1101 |
| Director | vc@niftem.ac.in |
| Registrar, In-charge | Dr Ashutosh Upadhyay, registrar@niftem.ac.in, +91-130-2281072 |
| Controller of Examination | Dr Narender Hooda, coe@niftem.ac.in, +91-130-2281115 |
| Getting there | Distance from campus |
|---|---|
| Jahangirpuri, nearest metro station | 19 Km |
| Sonipat, nearest railway station | 20 Km |
| ISBT Kashmiri Gate, Delhi bus stand | 30 Km |
| New Delhi Railway Station | 35 Km |
| Indira Gandhi International Airport | 55 Km |
Anything about a JoSAA or CSAB allotment belongs to the counselling authority, and the institute says outright that it will not entertain queries about that mode. The direct admission rounds, the on-spot round and the pooled round are its own, and both channels lead to the same desk: the admission cell is headed by Dr P. Murali Krishna on +91-130-2281011, and he is the same person the JoSAA profile names as head of admissions, listed there as Prayaga K. Murali behind a different phone number and a gmail address.
Verified
Approvals & Accreditation
Statutory approvals and accreditation grades from official bodies.
Nothing about this institute's standing rests on an accreditation visit, which is unusual enough to state plainly. Its authority to award degrees comes from the NIFTEM Act 2021 and from the Institute of National Importance status that Act confers, not from a UGC affiliation or a grade. We could not find a NAAC grade or an NBA programme accreditation for NIFTEM-K in the national accreditation records or anywhere on its own domain; searching the institute's own site for NAAC returns only its Internal Quality Assurance Cell page. Neither badge is what gives this institute its power to award a degree, so the blank is not the failing it would be at an affiliated college, but it does mean there is no grade or CGPA here to set beside a state university's.
The accreditations the institute does hold sit in its laboratory rather than in its classrooms. The Centre for Food Research and Analysis is accredited by NABL under certificate TC-4009 for both the chemical and the biological disciplines against ISO/IEC 17025:2017, is notified by FSSAI as a primary, referral and national reference laboratory, and is recognised by APEDA for export certification. Those cover the testing work the centre does for industry and for regulators; they say nothing about a B.Tech or an MBA, and a prospective student should not read them as a proxy for one.
Aid
Scholarships
Money reaches students here through three channels, and the one that matters most on the undergraduate side is not called a scholarship at all. It is the tuition waiver: on the B.Tech and on the integrated B.Tech with MBA, a family income below Rs 1 Lakh a year removes the tuition head completely, and an income between Rs 1 Lakh and Rs 5 Lakh removes two thirds of it. Since tuition is already zero for SC, ST and PwD candidates, this is the relief a General, OBC-NCL or EWS family actually claims, and it is applied per semester rather than once at admission.
The second channel is the institute's own fellowship, and it is restricted to postgraduates. Every M.Tech and M.Sc student admitted on a GATE score or a CUET qualification draws a monthly fellowship pitched at the GATE rate; a regular PhD scholar holding no national award draws one comparable to the DST and ICAR rates, while a scholar already funded by UGC, CSIR, DBT or ICMR draws nothing further from the institute. There is a string attached that is easy to miss: withdraw before finishing and the fellowship money drawn to that date has to be paid back. Alongside it the institute runs merit, merit-cum-means and industry sponsored awards, and a State Bank of India branch inside the campus handles education loan paperwork.
The third is the National Scholarship Portal; the prospectus prints U-0989 as the institute code to quote there. How far all three channels actually reach is countable, because the ranking return files it. Its undergraduate row separates out 238 students as socially challenged and another 60 as economically backward, then accounts for who paid: 102 full tuition reimbursements came out of the institute's own funds, 82 out of state and central government funds, not one out of a private body, and 114 undergraduates were left carrying a bill nobody reimbursed in full.
Decide
Compare with similar colleges
Voices
Student Reviews
Campus
Gallery
Questions
Frequently asked questions
References
Sources
- Paddy Processing Research Centre set up in 1967 – josaa.admissions.nic.in
- Official website – niftem.ac.in
- NIRF 2025 ranking – nirfindia.org
- Alumni Association site – alumni.niftem.ac.in
At a glance
Quick facts
- Established
- 2012
- NIRF 2025 (Agriculture)
- Rank #22NIRF· 2025-08-14
- Website
- niftem.ac.in

Expertie Editorial Team
This page is researched and maintained by the Expertie editorial team, and checked against official sources.
Found something that looks wrong? Email us at editorial@expertie.com.
Last updated
