Manipal Institute Of Technology, Manipal
The branch you take at Manipal Institute of Technology decides what four years cost, and the spread is wide: computer science is priced at Rs 24,42,000 for the whole course while mechanical, civil and chemical sit at Rs 18,02,000. Getting in is not a JoSAA affair either. MIT fills its general seats from two separate merit lists, one built on the Manipal Entrance Test and one on a JEE Main percentile, and only the first of them runs more than a single round of counselling.
Overview
Manipal Institute of Technology is a constituent institute, not a university in its own right, and that shapes almost everything about how it admits, prices and accredits. It was set up in 1957 as one of the first self-financing engineering colleges in the country and became a constituent institute of Manipal Academy of Higher Education in 2000, as the institute's own profile records. Its campus is the Technology and Science half of the Manipal township, run separately from the health-sciences colleges beside it: MAHE's contact directory gives the two sides different chief wardens, different hostel lines and different email addresses.
Before it joined MAHE it taught under a chain of affiliating universities, and its accreditations page still lists them in order: Karnataka University from 1965, Mysore University from 1974, Mangalore University from 1998 and Visvesvaraya Technological University from 2000. Anyone reading an older MIT degree certificate will find one of those names on it rather than MAHE's.
The undergraduate body is large and overwhelmingly from outside Karnataka. MIT reported 8226 students across its four-year B.Tech programmes in its NIRF 2025 data submission, of whom 1704 were from within the state, 6366 from other states and 156 from outside India, alongside 890 students in two-year postgraduate programmes.
One consequence of being a constituent unit shows up on MIT's own NAAC page, which carries no grade at all, only a pointer to the university's record: NAAC assesses MAHE, not the institute inside it. What MIT holds in its own name is accreditation from the National Board of Accreditation, published from the accreditations page as a file of accreditation letters rather than as a single institutional certificate. NBA accredits one programme at a time, so the question that matters is whether your branch is in that file, not whether the college is accredited.
Courses & Fees
MAHE prices each branch separately and publishes the whole course bill rather than an annual sticker, so the figures below are what a General-category student pays across the full course, not per year.
| Programme (4-year B.Tech unless stated) | Total course fee, 2026-27 (INR) |
|---|---|
| Computer Science & Engineering | 24,42,000 |
| Computer Science and Financial Technology | 24,42,000 |
| Mathematics and Computing | 24,42,000 |
| Electronics & Communication Engineering | 24,42,000 |
| Aeronautical Engineering | 19,66,000 |
| Mechatronics | 19,66,000 |
| Mechanical, Civil, Chemical, Electrical & Electronics, Electronics, Biotechnology | 18,02,000 |
| Master of Computer Applications (2 years) | 4,90,000 |
| M.Sc Physics, Chemistry, Geology or Applied Mathematics & Computing (2 years) | 2,16,000 |
The postgraduate engineering degree costs a fraction of the undergraduate one. M.Tech runs from Rs 3,66,000 for programmes such as automobile, biomedical, chemical and defence technology up to Rs 4,54,000 for structural engineering, microelectronics and industrial automation and robotics, on the same schedule. A refundable caution deposit of Rs 10,000 rides on the first instalment, and the opening year of computer science, Rs 6,18,000, splits into tuition of Rs 3,76,000 and other fees of Rs 2,32,000.
Several B.Tech listings are 2+2 dual degrees with Australian National University, Monash, Macquarie or Deakin. Only the Manipal half appears on MAHE's schedule, at Rs 9,06,000 to Rs 12,26,000, and the partner university bills its own two years separately, so no single Indian fee sheet carries the total.
Four fee reductions can move that number, and each is branch-specific. The AICTE tuition-fee-waiver route is capped at 5% of the approved intake in each branch and is open to families with gross annual income below Rs 8 lakhs, per the counselling brochure MAHE publishes for it. The scholarship handbook adds three more: a Harish and Bina Shah Foundation grant that waives programme fee, hostel fee and mess charges in full for roughly 40 students who spent at least 3 years in a government school and whose family income is under Rs 12 lakhs; a 30% waiver for girls admitted to chemical, civil or mechanical engineering; and the Freeship and Scholar awards, which are pegged to published MET and JEE rank bands rather than to income.
Admissions
MET is not MIT's private paper. The same Manipal Entrance Test feeds B.Tech admission at MIT Manipal, Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology, Manipal University Jaipur and MIT Bengaluru, and the test-pattern page states that the common counselling which follows is open to MET rank holders only. A student sitting MET is therefore competing across four campuses at once, and choosing between them inside one counselling queue.
The paper itself is short by national-exam standards. MET 2026 ran 120 minutes over 60 questions worth 240 marks: 15 multiple-choice questions in mathematics, 10 each in physics, chemistry and English, then 5 numerical-answer questions each in mathematics, physics and chemistry. A correct multiple-choice answer earned 4 marks and a wrong one cost 1, numerical-answer questions carried no penalty, and a candidate could sit the test twice.
Where the two routes really differ is in what they demand of your Class 12 marks and how they rank you afterwards.
| Route | Class 12 requirement | How the merit list is built |
|---|---|---|
| MET rank | Physics, mathematics and English compulsory with one optional subject, 50% aggregate across physics, mathematics and the optional | 50% weightage to the MET score and 50% to Class 12 marks in physics, mathematics, chemistry and English |
| JEE Main | The same subjects at 75% aggregate, plus 90 percentile or above in JEE Main 2026 | JEE Main Common Rank List, with 20% of General-category seats earmarked and a single round of online counselling |
| Lateral entry to the second year | Three-year engineering diploma at 45%, or a B.Sc with mathematics in Class 12 at 45% | Qualifying-examination marks |
That single-round rule is the detail to plan around. A JEE Main candidate gets one allotment and no upgrade cycle, so the preference list has to be one you can live with on the first pass. MET candidates go through multiple rounds, where withdrawals and upgrades free seats later in the sequence, which is why MAHE's own scholarship rules keep re-awarding places "after completion of all rounds of counselling", as its handbook puts it. The higher Class 12 bar on the JEE route, 75% against 50%, also rules out candidates who cleared the national exam but coasted through boards.
Cutoff
There is no branch-by-branch closing-rank table for MET, and the counselling paperwork explains why in plain terms: allotment turns on the MET rank, on how many candidates register, on the choices they fill and on the seats still open when their turn comes, per the tuition-fee-waiver brochure. Anything presented elsewhere as an official MIT cutoff is a reconstruction from student reports, not a MAHE release.
What does exist, and almost nobody quotes, is an official set of MET rank bands. The scholarship handbook awards a Freeship to MET ranks 1 to 100 and a Scholar award to ranks 101 to 5,000, with the parallel JEE Main bands set at Common Rank List 1 to 3,000 and 3,001 to 1,00,000. Those are money thresholds rather than admission thresholds, but they are the university's own published statement of where it considers a rank strong.
The same document sizes those awards branch by branch, which is the closest public signal of how the intake is distributed. Computer science at Manipal carries 37 Freeship and Scholar places on the MET list and 9 on the JEE list; electronics carries 9 and 2, mechanical 9 and 2, electronics and communication 6 and 2, while biotechnology, chemical, civil, mathematics and computing, and aeronautical carry 2 and 1 each, in the handbook's own table. Because every one of those allocations is pegged to 5% of the General-category intake in that branch, the ratios track branch size closely, and they say computer science is several times larger than anything in the core streams.
Placements
MIT's placements page carries no numbers at all, so the only figures with an institutional name behind them are the ones it filed with the ranking framework.
| B.Tech batch | Graduated in minimum time | Placed | Median salary (INR) | Went to higher studies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021-22 | 1879 | 1090 | 8,00,000 | 229 |
| 2022-23 | 1664 | 1136 | 8,88,250 | 281 |
| 2023-24 | 1755 | 1140 | 8,50,000 | 288 |
Read the placed column and the money column together, because they moved in opposite directions. The number placed crept up across the three years while the median slipped from Rs 8,88,250 for the 2022-23 batch to Rs 8,50,000 for 2023-24, so the campus placed marginally more students at a slightly lower midpoint. Postgraduate outcomes sit lower again: of the 231 students who completed a two-year postgraduate programme in 2023-24, 196 were placed, at a median of Rs 7,50,000, on the same submission. NIRF collects that row for all two-year PG programmes together, so it covers M.Tech, MCA and the M.Sc degrees at once and cannot be quoted as an M.Tech figure.
The one claim MIT does make on its placements page is a citation of someone else: a Times of India piece of January 2024 that listed the institute among ten Indian colleges with the highest placement packages. No recruiter list, no highest package and no branch-level split sits behind it, which is why the NIRF median is the number to plan a loan around and the media mention is not.
Seat Matrix
Sanctioned intake at MIT has grown steadily on the undergraduate side and held flat on the postgraduate side.
| Academic year | B.Tech sanctioned intake | PG (2-year) sanctioned intake |
|---|---|---|
| 2020-21 | 2040 | not reported |
| 2021-22 | 2280 | not reported |
| 2022-23 | 2340 | 775 |
| 2023-24 | 2400 | 775 |
Those totals are not the pool an open-merit MET candidate competes in, because three carve-outs come off the General-category seats first. The JEE Main list is earmarked 20% of General seats, per the eligibility document; the AICTE tuition-fee-waiver quota takes up to 5% of the approved intake in each branch, per its brochure; and the Freeship and Scholar awards are fixed at another 5% of the General intake per branch.
Enrolled strength runs well above any single year's sanction, as it should for a four-year programme admitting annually: 8226 undergraduates and 890 postgraduates were on the rolls in the 2023-24 filing, with 375 undergraduates receiving full tuition-fee reimbursement from institution funds and 33 from state and central government schemes, on the same submission. Category-wise seat splits of the kind a state counselling authority publishes do not exist here, because this is a private in-house process rather than a government counselling pool.
Rankings
MIT's rank moved the wrong way between the two most recent NIRF cycles while its total score moved the right way, so the parameter rows are where the story sits.
| NIRF Engineering parameter | 2024 | 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Rank | 56 | 59 |
| Overall score | 52.12 | 52.55 |
| Teaching, learning and resources | 67.60 | 68.27 |
| Research and professional practice | 37.45 | 41.71 |
| Graduation outcomes | 57.59 | 60.77 |
| Outreach and inclusivity | 60.23 | 58.59 |
| Perception | 30.56 | 15.50 |
| Sources: NIRF's 2025 and 2024 engineering tables. |
The institute scored better and ranked worse, which stops looking contradictory once you reach the last row. Research and professional practice climbed by more than four points and graduation outcomes by three, both of them things a college controls. Perception fell by half, and perception is the parameter no amount of teaching moves inside one cycle. That single row is what pushed a slightly stronger overall score three places down, because the 2025 engineering table around rank 59 is dense enough that hundredths of a point separate one institution from the next.
Departments
MIT has been folding its departments into schools, the most recent of them, the School of Mechanical Engineering, established on 1 January 2026. The schools and faculty page lists it beside the School of Basic Sciences, Humanities and Management, the School of Civil and Chemical Engineering, the School of Computer Engineering and the School of Electrical Engineering, with the Department of Aeronautical and Automobile Engineering still standing outside that structure.
The counselling paperwork groups the Manipal B.Tech offerings into five admitting streams that only partly line up with those schools, and it is the cleanest available list of what actually takes students in: chemical (biotechnology, chemical), civil, computer (computer science and engineering, computer science and financial technology, mathematics and computing), electrical (electrical and electronics, electronics and communication, electronics engineering) and mechanical (aeronautical, mechatronics, mechanical), per the tuition-fee-waiver brochure.
Three of those degrees are umbrellas rather than fixed programmes, and the choice inside them is settled by campus performance, not by your entrance rank. Computer science and mechanical work the same way: the option opens before the third year and is allotted on the CGPA earned by the end of the second. Computer science offers artificial intelligence and machine learning, cyber security, data science, gamification and digital twining, networks and IoT, robotics and artificial intelligence or software engineering; mechanical offers automobile and industrial engineering; and a student who takes neither simply graduates with the plain degree.
Electronics engineering differs on both counts, and it is the difference worth knowing before you fill a preference. The option there comes a year earlier, before the second year and on first-year CGPA, and MAHE's eligibility document states that candidates MUST opt for one of biomedical engineering, cyber physical systems, instrumentation engineering or VLSI design and technology. An electronics degree from MIT always carries a specialization on it, and which one is decided by a single year of marks.
Facilities & Infrastructure
MIT's own pages describe its laboratories in adjectives; its NIRF filing prices them. In 2023-24 the institute put Rs 21,20,08,748 into new laboratory equipment and software, Rs 9,34,85,827 into the library and Rs 87,38,233 into engineering workshops, on that submission, against Rs 3,76,53,128 on laboratory equipment two years earlier. Equipment spending has multiplied while the library line has roughly doubled, and the workshops line went from nothing at all in 2021-22 to a funded budget.
Beyond the teaching blocks, the Innovation Centre was set up to mark MIT's golden jubilee in 2007 and names four facilities of its own: Idea Cafe, Excelerate, Makerspace and an Apple Creative Studio, with seed funding and incubation support behind them. An AICTE IDEA Lab sits alongside as a prototyping floor open across disciplines. The institute's accreditations page also points to the Marena indoor sports complex, a Wi-Fi campus and exchange links with Esigelec in France, Hochschule Bremen in Germany, Queensland University of Technology and Chemnitz University of Technology.
Two of the three accessibility questions NIRF asks came back qualified rather than absolute. MIT answered "more than 80% of the buildings" on lifts or ramps and again on specially designed toilets, and only the question about walking aids and transport between buildings got an unqualified yes, in the same filing. Which blocks sit outside that 80% is nowhere published, which makes it a question for the Technology and Science warden rather than for a prospectus.
Hostel
Hostel charges at the MIT campus are set by room type and billed on top of the course fee, never inside it. These are the first-year B.Tech rates in the General category.
| Accommodation | Annual hostel fee (INR) | First-year total (INR) |
|---|---|---|
| Triple, common bath, non-AC | 58,000 | 1,27,500 |
| Double, common bath, non-AC | 61,000 | 1,30,500 |
| Double, attached bath, AC | 1,05,000 | 1,92,000 |
| Deluxe double, attached bath, AC | 1,16,000 | 2,03,000 |
| Double, attached bath, AC, block XXII | 1,27,000 | 2,14,000 |
| Single, attached bath, non-AC | 1,33,000 | 2,02,500 |
| Single, attached bath, AC | 1,62,000 | 2,54,000 |
The first-year total is not rent alone. It folds in a mess advance of Rs 62,000, compulsory for every first-year undergraduate living in hostel, a deposit of Rs 7,500 on non-AC rooms or Rs 15,000 on air-conditioned ones, and an electricity advance of Rs 10,000 to Rs 15,000 where air conditioning applies, on the same schedule. Men's and women's blocks are separate, and block XXII is the priciest shared option on the women's side.
Allotment is first-come and unforgiving. Rooms are chosen by the student on MAHE's hostel management portal after admission, and a selected room is held for 15 minutes only before the payment has to clear, per the same document. The same schedule marks the cheapest men's option, triple with common bath in blocks V and VI, and the priciest women's option, block XXII, as limited seats, so the decision has to be made before those minutes start rather than during them.
Faculty
The faculty figure MIT filed with NIRF is 735, set against the 8226 undergraduates and 890 postgraduates counted in the same submission. That total is not a proxy for the branch you are joining, and MIT does not leave it as a total: the schools and faculty directory names its staff individually under each school, which is the only place the number resolves into the people who would actually teach you.
The doctoral pipeline is deeper than the undergraduate scale suggests. There were 370 full-time and 102 part-time PhD students on the rolls to 2023-24, and 42 full-time doctorates were awarded that year against 39 the year before and 25 the year before that, on the same filing. Doctoral output has risen in each of those three years, and completed PhDs are one of the inputs NIRF's research parameter counts.
Research income and consultancy income tell different stories. Sponsored projects rose from 43 worth Rs 1,23,22,706 in 2021-22 to 73 worth Rs 5,34,04,221 in 2023-24, drawn from 48 funding agencies, while consultancy ran to 2334 projects for 825 client organisations for a combined Rs 40,11,470 in the same year, in the submission. Grant money is growing fast; consultancy is high in volume and small in value, which points to short testing and advisory jobs rather than long industry contracts.
Notable Alumni
MAHE's alumni roll records its best-known engineer against a batch and a branch rather than a vague association: Satya Nadella, executive chairman and chief executive of Microsoft, is listed as "Batch 1984 (E&C), MIT, Manipal", which places him in electronics and communication on this campus. Rajeev Suri, now chair of the board at M-KOPA and previously chief executive of Nokia, is listed from the 1986 batch of the same branch, and Amit Mallik, who runs Ciena's India and South Asia business, from 1991.
What the same page records about money is more useful to an applicant than the job titles. Harish Shah, an MIT alumnus, donated about INR 12 crore to sponsor 60 students' tuition and hostel stay at MIT through their course, the gift that sits behind the Harish and Bina Shah Foundation scholarship on MAHE's 2026 scholarship list, and Faizal Kottikollon's contribution built the MIT KEF R&D Centre, put at over INR 15 crores on the alumni page. Both gifts are attached to something a student can actually be allotted, a funded seat and a research building, rather than to a networking claim.
News & Articles
The 2026 intake ran on a tight calendar. Choice filling for the AICTE tuition-fee-waiver stream closed on 23 June 2026, with candidates warned that a seat lapses if the first instalment is not paid inside that round's deadline, in the counselling brochure. Preferences for that stream were collected once, with no window to edit them afterwards.
That same brochure closes with a notice worth repeating to anyone who is offered help securing a seat: MAHE states it has no agents and no middlemen, and that admission can be secured only by merit in the all-India MET and the counselling that follows, with any dispute falling to the Udupi court. Queries on the counselling itself go to one address only, btech.counseling@manipal.edu, and the brochure says it will not answer for anything sent elsewhere.
MAHE's fee schedules carry their revision date inside the file name itself, which is the quickest way to tell a current sheet from a cached copy sitting on a coaching or listing site.
College Compare
The comparison that trips families up is not MIT against an IIT. It is MIT against the other campuses sitting on the same MET application form. The MET 2026 syllabus names four of them, and only two, Manipal and Bengaluru, are constituent units of MAHE. Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology is a third body, and Manipal University Jaipur is a private university in Rajasthan under its own management, which happened to out-rank its Karnataka namesake in 2025: 58th at 52.69 against MIT Manipal's 59th at 52.55 on the NIRF engineering table. A shortlist that says "Manipal" without naming a campus has not chosen anything.
Against the private engineering universities students weigh alongside it, MIT sits well below Vellore Institute of Technology, 16th on that same 2025 table. Its distinction is structural rather than academic: this is an engineering institute inside a deemed university whose fee book opens with MBBS and reaches B.Tech nine pages later, and whose hostel prospectus prints a separate rate card for the health-sciences side of town.
Contact & Location
Four different desks handle the four things a B.Tech applicant here calls about, and the hostel line for the Technology and Science campus is not the one the health-sciences colleges use.
| Purpose | Contact |
|---|---|
| Campus address | Manipal 576104, Karnataka |
| B.Tech counselling | btech.counseling@manipal.edu, +91 92437 77722 |
| Placement and practice school | placement.mit@manipal.edu, +91 820 2925562 |
| Hostels, Technology and Science campus | chiefwarden.mit@manipal.edu, +91 820 2925221 |
| General admissions | admissions@manipal.edu |
Verified
Approvals & Accreditation
Statutory approvals and accreditation grades from official bodies.
Aid
Scholarships
Decide
Compare with similar colleges
Voices
Student Reviews
Campus
Gallery
Questions
Frequently asked questions
References
Sources
- as the institute's own profile records – manipal.edu
- NIRF 2025 ranking – nirfindia.org
At a glance
Quick facts
- Established
- 1957
- Affiliation
- Manipal Academy of Higher Education, Manipal
- NIRF 2025 (Engineering)
- Rank #59NIRF· 2025-08-14
- Website
- manipal.edu/mit.html

Expertie Editorial Team
This page is researched and maintained by the Expertie editorial team, and checked against official sources.
Found something that looks wrong? Email us at editorial@expertie.com.
Last updated
