Indian Institute Of Technology, Tirupati
IIT Tirupati has appeared in four editions of the National Institutional Ranking Framework, and across those four its engineering rank has read 56, then 59, then 61, then 57. The rank slipped twice while the underlying score rose every year, which is the most useful thing an applicant can know about a campus this young: it is improving on the government's own measure, and for two of those years the field around it improved faster. What a semester costs, how many seats exist and what a graduating batch was actually paid all come from the institute's fee circular, its ranking submission and its annual report rather than from any listing site.
Overview
IIT Tirupati was established in 2015 and is one of the 23 IITs in the country, an autonomous statutory institution of national importance. It taught out of a temporary campus for its first years and moved to the permanent site in June 2022, becoming fully operational there from July 2022. The 2024-25 report is the tenth the institute has published, and it records the graduation of six batches.
The scale is easy to state. In 2024-25 enrolment reached 1,667: 915 B.Tech students, 228 in M.Tech, 99 in M.Sc, 32 in the Master of Public Policy, 47 in M.S. by research and 346 doctoral scholars, on a permanent campus of 548.11 acres at Merlapaka village on the Yerpedu to Venkatagiri highway. Doctoral scholars outnumber every single master's programme and sit second only to the undergraduate body, which is where a young IIT's growth tends to show first.
Two district names attach to this one address. The national higher education survey files the campus under Chittoor district, while the institute's own fee circulars print Tirupati District on the letterhead. Andhra Pradesh redrew its district map after the older record was made. The campus did not move.
Courses & Fees
Six B.Tech branches, eleven M.Tech streams, three M.Sc programmes, the Master of Public Policy, M.S. by research and doctoral work in nine disciplines make up the teaching, and each has its own door in.
| Programme | Duration | Route in |
|---|---|---|
| B.Tech, six branches | Four years | JEE Advanced rank, seat allotted through JoSAA |
| M.Tech, eleven streams | Two years | GATE score, offer settled through COAP |
| M.Sc in Physics, in Chemistry, and in Mathematics and Statistics | Two years | IIT JAM |
| Master of Public Policy | Two years | The institute's own admission process |
| M.S. by research | Research degree | Institute selection |
| Ph.D, nine disciplines | Research degree | Institute test and interview |
The undergraduate branch list is Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Engineering Physics, the last of which was added in 2024-25 alongside 12 minors in fields such as artificial intelligence, green and renewable energy, robotics and autonomous systems, environmental management and public policy. A minor here is stacked on top of the core credits rather than swapped for them, so a mechanical student can carry the artificial intelligence minor without leaving the branch JoSAA allotted.
What a B.Tech seat costs depends less on the branch than on parental income, because tuition is charged on a four-band ladder rather than a single rate.
| Fee head, July to December 2026 semester | SC/ST/PwD | GEN, OBC-NCL or EWS, income below ₹1 lakh | Income ₹1 lakh to ₹5 lakh | Income above ₹5 lakh |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition fee | 0 | 0 | 33,334 | 1,00,000 |
| Total fee payable | 54,640 | 54,640 | 87,974 | 1,54,640 |
| Adjusted against the JoSAA seat acceptance fee | 15,000 | 30,000 | 30,000 | 30,000 |
| Net fee payable | 44,640 | 29,640 | 62,974 | 1,29,640 |
Read the net row rather than doing the subtraction yourself, because the circular has already credited the JoSAA payment against the first bill. Two other things in that circular shape what a first-year family actually transfers: the opening semester carries one-time charges of ₹8,550 on the institute account and ₹2,000 on the student affairs account, plus refundable deposits of ₹5,000, and no later semester repeats any of them; and a foreign national pays a further ₹50,000 a year, which takes the first semester to ₹1,79,640.
Postgraduate tuition is an order of magnitude lower. A continuing M.Tech student on the regular programme pays ₹8,000 in tuition a semester, which puts the institute fee account at ₹17,100 and the student affairs account at ₹38,720; an SC, ST or PwD student pays no tuition and the institute account falls to ₹9,100.
Admissions
Nothing at undergraduate level is decided at Yerpedu. A seat here is bought with a JEE Advanced rank, which only a JEE Main qualifier is allowed to sit for, and JoSAA does the allotting; the institute's own part begins once an allotment has been accepted. Its fee sheet shows exactly where that hand-off happens: it credits the JoSAA seat acceptance fee, ₹15,000 for an SC, ST or PwD candidate and ₹30,000 for everyone else, against the first bill, because that money reaches the institute through the counselling rather than from the student.
Master's entry runs on separate national examinations. M.Tech admission turns on a valid GATE score, with the offer settled on COAP, the common offer acceptance portal IIT Tirupati joins along with the other participating IITs, coordinated for 2026 by IIT Roorkee. COAP carries offers rather than applications, so a candidate still applies to IIT Tirupati directly, and CCMT, which fills the NITs and IIITs, plays no part at an IIT. M.Sc seats are taken through IIT JAM, where IIT Tirupati appears on the list of admitting institutes. The Master of Public Policy runs through the institute's own process under the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, and M.S. by research and Ph.D applicants are shortlisted by the department they apply to.
One entry route is easy to miss. The admitted-student table footnotes a preparatory course intake in every year it lists, 10 students at the peak in 2020 and 1 in the 2024 intake. That is the one-year bridge the IITs run for SC, ST and PwD candidates who clear the relaxed JEE Advanced bar, and those students sit inside the annual admission total rather than beside it.
Cutoff
There is no cutoff mark to look up here, because the institute does not set one. What decides a seat is a JoSAA closing rank, produced separately for every branch, every category and every counselling round, and only after that round's allotment is done. The official opening and closing rank archive is where those ranks live, and it is the only place they are authoritative.
Two features of this campus shape where they land. The undergraduate branch list is six long rather than a dozen, so a choice list filled at IIT Tirupati is short and each branch's closing rank turns on a small block of seats, which makes it jump about between rounds more than a large branch would. And the institute has been closing its counselling a little under strength: 244 undergraduate seats were sanctioned for 2023-24 while 236 students joined that year and 230 the year after.
Pull the closing rank for your exact branch and category from the round you can realistically expect a call in, and hold it loosely, because it records what one strength of field did in one season rather than a line the institute intends to hold.
Placements
The ranking submission is the only published series that follows the same cohort definition year after year, and it records both what a batch was paid and where it went.
| B.Tech batch | Graduated in minimum time | Placed | Median salary (₹) | Went to higher studies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021-22 | 167 | 142 | 12,10,000 | 16 |
| 2022-23 | 189 | 120 | 16,00,000 | 51 |
| 2023-24 | 205 | 114 | 11,00,000 | 72 |
Read those two right-hand columns together, because separately each one misleads. The number placed fell from 142 to 114 across the three batches while the number going on to further study rose from 16 to 72, so by 2023-24 more than a third of a graduating class of 205 was choosing a master's or a doctorate over a job offer. Add the placed and higher-studies columns together and all three batches land in much the same place, which is not the shape a hiring collapse makes, though the softer median for the last of them is real and worth weighing.
Postgraduate outcomes move on a smaller base and swing harder.
| Postgraduate batch | Graduated in minimum time | Placed | Median salary (₹) | Went to higher studies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021-22 | 43 | 38 | 8,05,000 | 5 |
| 2022-23 | 61 | 41 | 14,50,000 | 11 |
| 2023-24 | 78 | 55 | 8,00,000 | 11 |
On the recruiting side the institute reports that the class of 2024 saw over 113 companies take part. Its Career Development Centre publishes no batch-level placement report that can be opened and checked, so any highest-package figure circulating for IIT Tirupati should be treated as unverified until the institute files one itself.
Seat Matrix
Sanctioned intake is set for the institute as a whole before each admission year. At undergraduate level it has moved once across the four cycles the ranking submission covers, while the postgraduate row is where the growth sits.
| Level | 2023-24 | 2022-23 | 2021-22 | 2020-21 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| UG, four-year | 244 | 237 | 237 | 237 |
| PG, two-year | 155 | 103 | Not reported | Not reported |
The blanks in that postgraduate row are a reporting gap and not an empty campus. The same filing records first-year postgraduate intakes of 81 in 2020-21 and 91 in 2021-22, with 69 and 81 students actually admitted, and those two admitted counts are exactly the M.Tech admissions the annual report lists for 2020 and 2021, so a postgraduate seat at this campus has in practice been an M.Tech seat.
Who actually took the undergraduate seats in the most recent year the institute has published is set out below.
| Category, 2024 admissions | Male | Female |
|---|---|---|
| General | 59 | 16 |
| EWS | 29 | 9 |
| OBC | 52 | 12 |
| SC | 29 | 7 |
| ST | 14 | 3 |
The branch-by-branch division, the female supernumerary seats and the round-by-round vacancies are published only inside each year's JoSAA matrix once counselling opens, so read that rather than dividing a campus total by six.
Rankings
Four editions is the whole of the institute's ranking history, and the useful way to read it is parameter by parameter rather than by rank alone.
| NIRF engineering parameter | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rank | 56 | 59 | 61 | 57 |
| Overall score | 48.16 | 49.80 | 50.58 | 52.73 |
| Teaching, learning and resources | 77.47 | 75.50 | 79.07 | 81.96 |
| Research and professional practice | 14.94 | 18.49 | 20.70 | 22.84 |
| Graduation outcomes | 60.23 | 62.71 | 64.08 | 66.17 |
| Outreach and inclusivity | 56.79 | 58.15 | 53.10 | 54.00 |
| Perception | 27.07 | 32.52 | 25.20 | 26.59 |
The research line is the one to watch. Research and professional practice has climbed in every edition, from 14.94 in 2022 to 22.84 in 2025, and it is still the weakest of the five parameters by a wide margin, which is what a research base assembled from nothing in a decade looks like on a scale built for institutes with fifty years of publications behind them. Teaching, learning and resources runs the other way: at 81.96 in 2025 it is the institute's strongest parameter, which a small student body and a fast-growing faculty largely explain.
Perception is the least flattering line and the least stable. It reached 32.52 in 2023, fell to 25.20 the following year and recovered only to 26.59 in 2025, so peer and employer regard has not moved in step with the teaching and graduation scores beside it. IIT Tirupati is in no other 2025 NIRF table, not the overall list, not the university list and not the research list, so the engineering ranking is the whole of its national ranking record.
Departments
Nine departments carry the teaching, and they divide three ways. Five sit on the engineering side: Chemical, Civil and Environmental, Computer Science, Electrical and Mechanical. Three are sciences: Chemistry, Mathematics and Statistics, and Physics. Humanities and Social Sciences is the ninth. A tenth is on the way: the 2024 faculty recruitment closed across all departments except the newly proposed Department of Materials Science and Engineering.
The science and humanities departments are not support acts here. Mathematics and Statistics has run an M.Sc since 2019-20 while Physics and Chemistry started theirs in 2020-21, and Humanities and Social Sciences owns the Master of Public Policy. The point matters to a B.Tech applicant more than it looks: one of the six branches on offer, Engineering Physics, is taught out of the Physics department rather than an engineering one, and the first-year physics and chemistry laboratories belong to departments that admit nobody through JoSAA at all.
Facilities & Infrastructure
The campus is large and deliberately unfinished. It spreads over 548.11 acres at Merlapaka village on the Yerpedu to Venkatagiri highway, within reach of Tirupati town, Renigunta railway station and Tirupati airport, and its master plan runs in phases over 25 to 30 years towards an eventual 12,000 students, with the built phases designed for 2,500 students, 250 faculty and 275 staff. A student joining now lives on the earliest slice of that plan, which is worth knowing before a campus visit.
Water is the piece of infrastructure the institute has built an identity around. Two man-made lakes covering 10 acres can harvest 80 million litres, and the work behind them has been recognised outside the campus: in 2023 the institute took a Special Mention in the best institution category at the 5th National Water Awards run by the Ministry of Jal Shakti. Power and waste are handled on site too, through a 500 kVA sub-station with automatic diesel backup and UPS support for critical loads, and the campus's own water and sewage treatment plants.
The library is small in print and wide in subscriptions. As of 31 March 2025 it held 11,219 print books, 592 e-books, over 13,000 e-journals and 22 databases, with the journal access coming through the national One Nation One Subscription scheme. Off-campus access has been open since 2020 through MyLOFT, and the catalogue runs on KOHA with RFID, so a doctoral scholar working from outside Yerpedu is not cut off from the collection.
Teaching space is split between two campuses. The South Campus holds a multipurpose building with a 120 seat studio-style classroom, a 60 seat recording studio and a 20 seat computer lab, plus a classroom building of 13 rooms seating 40 to 60 each; the North Campus academic zone runs a lecture hall complex with a 240 seat hall alongside physics, chemistry and engineering drawing laboratories. Faculty and staff live on the same site in 168 quarters with a Director's residence and a visitors' hostel, and a Kendriya Vidyalaya up to Class V, a pre-school and a creche opened on campus in 2024-25.
Hostel
A room here is billed on the same circular as tuition, in the same transfer, which is why the totals above look high next to an IIT tuition figure quoted on its own. The undergraduate circular carries ₹7,000 of hostel seat rent, a ₹250 hostel allotment fee, ₹19,840 as an advance against dining, ₹800 for electricity, water and drainage and a one-time refundable hostel deposit of ₹3,000, and a student holding a valid day scholar certificate from the Dean of Student Affairs is excused those heads.
A postgraduate should budget more for food rather than less. The M.Tech sheet for the same July to December 2026 semester carries a dining advance of ₹28,520 against the ₹19,840 an undergraduate pays, on the same ₹7,000 seat rent.
What the annual report does not publish is a hostel inventory. The number of blocks, the room types and the mess arrangements are absent from it, and the dining side is described only by capacity, a kitchen and dining complex serving 300 people to a batch. Ask the hostel office what block and room a first-year is given, because the circular fixes the price without describing the room.
Faculty
Two faculty counts are in circulation and both are honest, because they were taken at different moments. The institute reported 134 faculty members in its 2024-25 annual report, while 124 were entered in the ranking submission covering 2023-24. The gap is hiring rather than disagreement: 28 new faculty members were appointed in the 2024 recruitment round and 27 joined during the year, and 15 assistant professors were promoted to associate professor in the same cycle.
Against 1,667 students, 134 faculty is roughly one for every twelve, and that ratio is a large part of why teaching, learning and resources is the institute's strongest ranking parameter.
The output backs the doctoral programme. In one year the faculty produced 250 research articles, 17 book chapters and 248 research presentations, and held 46 sponsored research projects worth ₹17.54 crore alongside 51 industrial consultancy projects worth ₹8.21 crore. The doctoral community that work supports has reached 346 scholars, though the pipeline is still young: the ranking submission records five full-time doctorates awarded in 2023-24.
Notable Alumni
No name appears here, and the reason is arithmetic rather than modesty. The institute opened in 2015 and held its sixth convocation in July 2024, so its earliest graduates are a few years into their working lives and its doctoral alumni are younger still. A name belongs in this section only once a public record can be pointed at, and for a campus this recent that record is still being written.
News & Articles
The institute's annual report is the fullest recent account of itself, and the 2024-25 edition is where the academic changes are set out. The B.Tech in Engineering Physics and 12 minors arrived that year, along with a B.Tech plus M.S. by research dual degree conversion, and an M.Tech in Data Science and Artificial Intelligence, an M.Sc in Mathematics and an industry-sponsored M.Tech in Advanced Energy Storage Technology were being prepared for 2025-26. An applicant working from an older prospectus will not find any of them.
Student life produced its own milestones in the same year. The institute ran its first tech fest, Tachyon, from 15 to 17 November 2024 with over 500 participants, and finished 18th of 23 IITs at the Inter IIT Tech Meet 13.0 hosted by IIT Bombay that December, taking third place in IdeaForge and fifth in Rigbetel Labs. Dated notices on fees, registration and admissions go up on the institute's own site before any listing repeats them.
College Compare
The fair yardstick is the six third-generation IITs, the group brought into the Institutes of Technology Act by the same 2016 amendment, rather than Madras or Bombay. Within that group IIT Tirupati finishes second on the 2025 engineering table, and the two parameter columns beside the score explain the placing better than the rank does.
| Third-generation IIT | NIRF 2025 engineering rank | Score | Teaching, learning and resources | Research and professional practice |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| IIT Jammu | 56 | 53.08 | 80.73 | 31.90 |
| IIT Tirupati | 57 | 52.73 | 81.96 | 22.84 |
| IIT Palakkad | 64 | 51.20 | 74.28 | 26.02 |
| IIT Bhilai | 72 | 50.37 | 76.99 | 24.97 |
| IIT Dharwad | 77 | 48.61 | 74.99 | 17.71 |
Teaching is the column IIT Tirupati leads and research is the one it does not, which makes it close to the mirror image of IIT Jammu a place above: Jammu teaches to a slightly lower score and publishes to a much higher one, and takes the higher rank for it. Reading down the last column, only IIT Dharwad files a weaker research line.
Most applicants, though, are choosing between this campus and something from outside that group entirely. Manipal University Jaipur, a private university, ranks one place behind on 52.69, a gap the scoring can barely register, so that decision comes down to the branch on offer, the fee band a family falls in and the recruiters each campus actually sees.
Contact & Location
The address the institute prints on its own fee circulars is Yerpedu to Venkatagiri Road, Yerpedu Post, Tirupati District, Andhra Pradesh 517619, with its academic section reachable on +91 877 2503530 and at academics@iittp.ac.in, and a second address, scholarships@iittp.ac.in, printed beside it on the undergraduate fee sheet.
The permanent campus is at Merlapaka village rather than in Tirupati town, so a visit is a drive out of the temple city, not a walk across it. Renigunta railway station and Tirupati airport are both within reach of the site, which is the practical route for a family travelling in for counselling or a joining formality.
Verified
Approvals & Accreditation
Statutory approvals and accreditation grades from official bodies.
IIT Tirupati holds no NAAC grade, no NBA programme accreditation and no AICTE approval, and none of those three is missing through oversight. The institute was created by statute, under the Institutes of Technology Act read with the 2016 amendment that brought the newer campuses inside it, which is what makes it an autonomous statutory institution of national importance granting its own degrees. Its academic affairs are governed by the Senate, which sets the standards of instruction and examination an external accreditor would otherwise be assessing. For students who are asked to produce proof of this, the institute keeps a standing letter, Accreditation of Programmes, on its downloads page.
The practical consequence is that a comparison against a private engineering college cannot be run on grades. Set the ranking parameters above against the same lines for the other campus, and treat a NAAC grade quoted at you as a different measurement rather than a higher one.
Aid
Scholarships
The fee ladder is itself the largest award the institute makes, and it is automatic rather than applied for. An SC, ST or PwD student pays no tuition at all, a family earning below ₹1 lakh a year pays none either, a family between ₹1 lakh and ₹5 lakh pays ₹33,334 a semester against a full rate of ₹1,00,000, and only families above ₹5 lakh pay the full amount. Two thirds of the tuition disappears for the middle band before any separate scheme is considered.
How far that reaches is recorded in the ranking submission, and the split between funders is the part worth knowing. Of the 906 undergraduates on the rolls, 108 are counted as economically backward and 473 as socially challenged; of that group 205 receive a full tuition fee reimbursement from state or central government, 322 receive one from the institute's own funds, 8 from private bodies and 46 receive none.
Postgraduate aid is thinner and comes from almost one source. Among the 180 postgraduate students, 29 economically backward and 107 socially challenged, not one is recorded as receiving a full tuition reimbursement from government, 36 receive one from institute funds and 100 receive none. A master's applicant planning around a government fee waiver should confirm what actually applies before accepting a seat, because the institute's own filing records none of it reaching this level.
Decide
Compare with similar colleges
Voices
Student Reviews
Campus
Gallery
Questions
Frequently asked questions
References
Sources
- one of the 23 IITs in the country, an autonomous statutory institution of national importance – files.iittp.ac.in
- the common offer acceptance portal IIT Tirupati joins along with the other participating IITs, coordinated for 2026 by IIT Roorkee – coap2026.iitr.ac.in
- IIT Tirupati appears on the list of admitting institutes – jam2026.iitb.ac.in
- official opening and closing rank archive – josaa.admissions.nic.in
- NIRF 2025 ranking – nirfindia.org
At a glance
Quick facts
- Established
- 2015
- NIRF 2025 (Engineering)
- Rank #57NIRF· 2025-08-14
- Website
- iittp.ac.in

Expertie Editorial Team
This page is researched and maintained by the Expertie editorial team, and checked against official sources.
Found something that looks wrong? Email us at editorial@expertie.com.
Last updated
