Expertie
Scholarships Get counselling
INDI
publicInstitute of National Importance

Indian Institute Of Technology, Palakkad

Palakkad, Kerala Est. 2015 Official site Updated
NIRF Engineering
#64

IIT Palakkad's own placement sheet for 2023-24 puts the middle computer science graduate on ₹15.50 lakh and the middle civil engineering graduate on ₹6.78 lakh, a spread inside one campus and one graduating year that no single "average package" can describe. Kerala's only IIT is also one of the country's youngest: it opened with 120 students in July 2015 and finished moving into its permanent campus in 2023, so its ranking record, its placement history and its alumni base are all short, and they should be read as short rather than stretched.

Overview

IIT Palakkad sits at Kanjikode, on the Palakkad side of the Palakkad Gap, the break in the Western Ghats that has long been Kerala's road and rail door to Tamil Nadu. The institute began teaching in 2015 with 120 students, and now runs at about a thousand students across two adjacent campuses, Nila and Sahyadri, having completed the move to that permanent site in 2023. The institute takes "Nurturing minds for a better world" as its motto, and the setting behind that line, the granary district of Kerala with the Silent Valley forests to the north, is a genuine part of what a candidate is choosing.

Two facts shape almost everything else about the place. The first is age: an institute whose first four-year batch left in 2019 has no long series of anything, so a single year's dip or jump in its numbers carries less signal than it would at an older IIT. The second is reach. Only 81 of its 666 undergraduates come from within Kerala against 585 from outside the state, and 150 of those 666 are women, which tells you this is a national campus that happens to stand in Kerala, not a regional one. Its director is Dr. A. Seshadri Sekhar, a mechanical engineering professor who came from IIT Madras.

Courses & Fees

IIT Palakkad teaches six B.Tech branches, three M.Sc subjects and ten M.Tech specialisations, plus research degrees, and each level is filled by a different national test.

LevelProgrammes offeredEntrance route
B.Tech, four yearsCivil, Computer Science and Engineering, Data Science and Engineering, Electrical, Mechanical, Materials EngineeringJEE Advanced, seat through JoSAA
M.Sc, two yearsChemistry, Physics, MathematicsIIT JAM
M.Tech, two yearsGeotechnical, Structural, Water Resources, Manufacturing and Materials, Thermofluids, Design and Automation, Power Electronics and Power Systems, System-on-Chip Design, Computing and Mathematics, Data ScienceGATE, offer through COAP
M.S. and Ph.DAcross the departments and centresInstitute selection

Materials Engineering is the newest of the six B.Tech branches, carrying a curriculum dated from 2026 where the other five run on the 2022 regulations. A candidate ranking branches should know that: it is a first-cohort programme, not a settled one.

There is no annual fee figure to quote at IIT Palakkad. The institute issues a one-page sheet per semester and replaces it each session, and the numbers below are the August to December 2026 sheet for a regular B.Tech student.

Fee blockAmountWhen it is paid
Institute fees, including ₹1,00,000 tuition₹1,09,000Every semester
Students' sector fees and advance dining charges₹35,200Every semester
One-time fees, including refundable deposits₹7,800On admission
One-time hostel caution deposit, refundable₹3,500On admission

Read the second block carefully, because it is the one families miss. The ₹35,200 is not a service charge: ₹22,000 of it is an advance against your mess bills, settled later, and the rest covers medical insurance at ₹3,000 a year, the gymkhana, wellness, hostel admission and establishment heads. One footnote on the same sheet changes the total for some candidates: tuition is waived for SC, ST and PwD students who are Indian nationals, which is the ₹1,00,000 line. Take that line out and the recurring institute block falls to ₹9,000 a semester, which is what the institute's parallel sheet for preparatory entrants shows.

Admissions

You cannot apply to IIT Palakkad for a B.Tech seat, because the institute accepts no application of its own at that level. A candidate qualifies in JEE Advanced, then ranks this campus branch by branch inside JoSAA, and what comes back is decided by where that year's field placed Palakkad against everywhere else on the list. M.Tech offers arrive through COAP on a GATE score, so an applicant here plans no CCMT round at all. M.Sc seats follow the IIT JAM rank, which is also what the institute's own merit-cum-means award for M.Sc students is keyed to, and M.S. and Ph.D. candidates apply to the institute directly and are taken on its own shortlist.

One programme moves its own entry rule from year to year, and it is worth catching before you sit the exam rather than after. The Mehta Family School of Data Science and Artificial Intelligence, which runs data science teaching here, accepted GATE DA, CS, EC and EE papers for its 2025 M.Tech intake and narrowed that to GATE DA and CS for 2026. Read the school's current notice, not last year's, before choosing which paper to write.

The institute publishes a dated joining timetable rather than leaving new entrants to guess. For the 2026-27 session the fee payment window for regular B.Tech entrants ran from 20 to 23 July 2026, reporting and registration fell on 24 July 2026, orientation ran across 25, 27 and 28 July 2026, and classes for every batch began on 29 July 2026. Preparatory entrants follow a parallel schedule a few days behind. Fee payment is keyed to your JEE Advanced roll number, and the institute answers B.Tech questions at btech@iitpkd.ac.in.

A branch you did not want is not necessarily permanent, though the rule that lets you move is also the rule that limits it. Change of branch here turns on first-year CGPA and category of admission, capped so that no branch grows by more than ten percent over its sanctioned strength or falls more than ten percent below it, with at least one student in each category considered from and to every discipline. Both halves of that cap bind: a small branch cannot shed more than a tenth of its strength, so leaving one is constrained as tightly as entering another.

Cutoff

IIT Palakkad sets no cutoff and holds no archive of them. The number that admits you is a JoSAA closing rank, produced after a round's allotment for one branch in one category, and JoSAA serves those ranks from a query form rather than a fixed address, which is why no closing-rank table for this campus is reproduced here.

What is worth knowing before you open that archive is how little of this institute's rank history exists. Four branches ran under the 2017 to 2021 regulations, Civil, Computer Science and Engineering, Electrical and Mechanical; Data Science and Engineering appears first in the 2022 set, and Materials Engineering only in the 2026 one. So two of the six carry a closing-rank series that is either a few cycles long or does not exist yet, and whoever ranks Materials Engineering first will be setting its line rather than reading one. Where the pay gap in the placement tables below is widest, the ranks are tightest, and computer science sits at both ends of that.

Placements

Most institutes let one number stand for a batch. IIT Palakkad's Career Development Center publishes four, one for each branch old enough to have graduated a cohort, and the four do not agree with one another.

B.Tech branch, 2023-24RegisteredPlacedMedian CTCAverage CTCHighest CTCPlacement rate
Computer Science and Engineering4340₹15.50 lakh₹19.09 lakh₹41.61 lakh93.02%
Electrical Engineering3625₹15.00 lakh₹16.7 lakh₹36.7 lakh69.44%
Mechanical Engineering3024₹9.20 lakh₹11.5 lakh₹20.00 lakh80.00%
Civil Engineering1916₹6.78 lakh₹9.01 lakh₹20.00 lakh84.21%

Two things follow from that table, and both are more useful than an institute-wide average. The branch on your JoSAA choice list matters more here than the letters on the degree: the middle computer science graduate cleared ₹15.50 lakh while the middle civil graduate cleared ₹6.78 lakh, and the lowest offer accepted in each of the four branches was ₹6 lakh. And a high placement percentage is not the same thing as high pay: civil placed 84.21% of its registered students against electrical's 69.44%, while electrical's median was more than double civil's. A civil candidate was more likely to be placed than an electrical one that year, and paid a good deal less for it.

The same sheet carries the batch before, and it was a stronger one. In 2022-2023 computer science placed all 50 of its registered students on a median of ₹17.7 lakh, electrical placed 30 of 33, mechanical 29 of 30 and civil 21 of 24. Set against the computer science line in the table above, the Career Development Center's own series shows the softening a year before the ranking framework's rows do.

For the batch as a whole the institute files a median with the national ranking framework, and that filing covers three years and both levels.

B.Tech batchGraduated in minimum timePlacedMedian salaryHigher studies
2021-22142107₹12,00,00012
2022-23154130₹14,10,00013
2023-24156105₹12,00,00016

The 2023-24 line is the honest problem in that table and it should not be smoothed over. The batch grew slightly, from 154 finishers to 156, while the number placed fell from 130 to 105 and the median went back to ₹12,00,000 from ₹14,10,000. Higher study absorbed 16 of them, so graduates choosing a master's instead does not account for the shortfall, and the submission offers no explanation of its own.

Postgraduate outcomes sit lower and have been softening.

PG batchGraduated in minimum timePlacedMedian salaryHigher studies
2021-227152₹9,50,0002
2022-237051₹9,50,0007
2023-248748₹9,00,00012

The next season's own report reads busier, though it is not the same measurement. The Career Development Center's 2024-25 report, dated through May 2025, records 203 companies on campus, more than 276 profiles opened and 153 offers made, an average CTC of ₹13.24 lakh for the class of 2025, a highest on-campus package of ₹52 lakh, and 21 pre-placement offers, which it calls the most in the institute's history. Those are offers counted and an average taken mid-season, not students placed and not a median, so the line cannot be set beside the framework's placed-student rows above. What it does say is that the recruiting side of the campus did not go quiet after that dip.

Seat Matrix

Sanctioned intake at IIT Palakkad has not climbed in a straight line, and the year most summaries leave out is the one that shows it.

Programme level2020-212021-222022-232023-24
UG, four year188169180200
PG, two yearNot reportedNot reported120137

Undergraduate intake stood at 188 for 2020-21, dropped to 169 the next year, and only then rose through 180 to 200 for 2023-24. So the campus a 2026 entrant joins is bigger than the one the placement tables above describe, but the growth restarted from a step backwards rather than running clean through the decade.

Dividing that 200 by six gets you nowhere near a real seat count, because the six branches did not open together: Materials Engineering arrived last and Data Science and Engineering only with the 2022 regulations, so they do not carry equal blocks. The branch split, the seats set aside as female supernumerary and the category blocks are published only inside the JoSAA matrix for the year you are applying in. Counting every year-group together, 666 students were on the four-year undergraduate roll and 200 on the two-year postgraduate roll at the 2025 submission, which is the size of campus you would actually be living on.

Rankings

IIT Palakkad has been improving on the national engineering table while barely moving up it, which is the most useful thing its ranking history says.

NIRF engineeringRankScore
20226844.92
20236947.86
20246450.24
20256451.20

The score climbed in each of those four editions, yet the rank slipped a place in 2023 before recovering, so the net movement across the whole series is four places. That is a crowded table, not a stalled institute: the institutes immediately above and below it in 2025 were Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology Delhi on 51.33 and National Institute of Technology Delhi on 50.79, close enough that a fraction of a point decides the ordering.

The sub-scores say where the movement came from.

Sub-score20242025
Teaching, learning and resources74.8874.28
Research and professional practice21.3726.02
Graduation outcomes62.9162.17
Outreach and inclusivity65.4465.91
Perception22.3620.87

Almost all of the movement sits in one line. Research and professional practice reached 26.02 in 2025 from 21.37 the year before, while teaching resources, graduation outcomes and outreach each stayed within a point of where they were. That same line is what holds the total down: at 26.02 it is roughly a third of the teaching score sitting beside it on the same card, and closing that distance is a matter of publications and funded projects accumulating, which happens on a slower clock than anything else here.

Perception went the other way, down to 20.87 in 2025 from 22.36. It is the parameter an applicant should weigh least, because it measures how recruiters and academic peers rate a name, and a name attached to a campus that only finished building itself in 2023 has had little time to travel. Teaching, learning and resources, at 74.28 in the same edition, is the parameter describing what a student actually meets on arrival, and it is the institute's strongest.

One absence belongs in this section rather than being left to inference. IIT Palakkad appears in the 2025 engineering table and in none of that year's overall, research or innovation tables. Institutes enter those categories by submitting to them and clearing a qualifying bar, so what the gap records is a short research history, not a judgement.

NIRF Engineering 2025
Rank #64· Score 51.2NIRF· 2025-08-14
#64

Departments

Twelve teaching and research units carry the institute, and they divide on a line an applicant can actually use. Six departments map onto the six B.Tech branches: Civil Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Data Science, Electrical Engineering, Materials and Metallurgical Engineering and Mechanical Engineering. The other six take no B.Tech intake of their own: Biological Sciences and Engineering, Chemistry, Humanities and Social Sciences, Mathematics and Physics, alongside the Environmental Sciences and Sustainable Engineering Centre.

That second group is not peripheral to an undergraduate year. Every first-semester student, whatever the branch, sits Physics, Mathematics, Chemistry, Life Science, Ecology and Environment, Engineering Drawing and Concepts in Engineering Design, with a physics or chemistry laboratory and a mechanical workshop alongside. Those departments also run the M.Sc programmes and take doctoral scholars of their own.

The Data Science department is worth naming properly, because it is not an ordinary department. It operates as the Mehta Family School of Data Science and Artificial Intelligence, supported by the Mehta Family Foundation, and runs the B.Tech in Data Science and Engineering, a minor, an M.Tech, a dual-degree B.Tech with M.Tech, and research programmes. An endowed school inside an institute barely ten years old tells you where its expansion money went first.

Facilities & Infrastructure

The estate is two campuses rather than one, and the gap between them is a daily fact of student life. Nila runs to roughly 40 acres and sits on the other side of a village road from Sahyadri, with a complimentary shuttle between the two timed to the class and lab schedule. Nila holds the academic space named Samgatha and the laboratory complex named Manogatha, along with the Institute Clinic, the Amenity Center, the Csquare Innovation lab and an air quality weather station, while Sahyadri sprawls over 504 acres opposite it.

Sahyadri is where the heavy infrastructure sits. Its academic block, Saraswati, carries a classroom complex with capacity for around 2000 students, a Central Fabrication Facility, a Heavy Machinery Lab, a Research Complex and a large Infrastructure Testing lab, plus studio classrooms built for multi-camera and lightboard recording, chroma-keying and live streaming. The central library holds about 7000 printed volumes alongside its digital collections, and the campus also carries the APJ Abdul Kalam Block, the C06 classroom and laboratory complex, the four precast buildings of the Sangraha block, a Smart AgriTech centre, a Global Sanitation Centre of Excellence lab, an environmental engineering lab and the Central Instrumentation Facility.

A printed collection that size is small, and it should be read for what it is: a library assembled from nothing in a decade, leaning on digital subscriptions rather than inherited stacks. The laboratories point the other way. The fabrication facility, the heavy machinery lab and the infrastructure testing lab are the newer and better-funded half of the estate, and the sponsored-project money behind them shows up in the ranking submission.

For a campus this rural, the support services are unusually concrete. The institute runs its own clinic and has signed agreements for cashless treatment with Athani Hospital, Malabar Hospital, Ahalia Diabetes Hospital and Thangam Hospital, with outpatient access at hospitals affiliated to the Ahalia Foundation, and two resident counsellors are available to students alongside an online counselling service. Canara Bank and SBI both hold branches with ATMs inside the campus, and the Kanjikode service road, 2.5 km away, carries the rest of the major banks.

Hostel

Residence is not optional here. The campus is fully residential, with six hostels, four at Nila and two at Sahyadri; Nila rooms are double, triple or quadruple sharing while Sahyadri rooms are single, triple or quadruple. Most B.Tech rooms are triple occupancy, first-year students are housed at Nila, and of the three girls' hostels the entire first-year women's cohort stays in Tilang A at Nila before moving to the Saveri and Malhar girls' wings at Sahyadri from the second year.

Every hostel carries water heaters, RO drinking water, heavy-duty washing machines, WiFi and LAN, a dining hall, an indoor games area, a fitness centre and a common room with a television, newspapers and magazines chosen by the student body, and both campuses run their own mess alongside the Kedaram, Kaapi and Amul outlets. Mess food comes to roughly ₹150 a day, and a council of student representatives and wardens reviews quality and menu.

The cost sits inside the semester fee rather than beside it. Hostel seat rent is ₹6,500 a semester and the electricity, water and SWD charge ₹1,500, both inside the ₹1,09,000 institute block; the students' sector block carries a ₹200 hostel admission fee and the ₹22,000 dining advance every semester, and the refundable ₹3,500 hostel caution deposit is paid once on admission. An SC or ST student under the income line has the hostel and dining charges lifted on top of the tuition waiver, which is the only aid at this institute that touches the residential half of the bill.

Faculty

The 2025 ranking submission records 130 faculty members at IIT Palakkad, with 184 full-time and 21 part-time doctoral scholars on the rolls. Against 666 undergraduates and 200 taught postgraduates that is a small teaching body, and it supervises more doctoral scholars than it has members, a load that grows with every rise in undergraduate intake.

The doctoral output is where the institute's youth shows most clearly. It awarded 1 PhD in 2021-22, 13 in 2022-23 and 11 in 2023-24, the jump you would expect once the first serious cohort of scholars finished rather than any sudden change in capacity. Externally funded work is now substantial for a campus this size: 33 sponsored research projects from 20 funding agencies brought in ₹16,23,42,218 in 2023-24, and 28 consultancy projects for 25 client organisations brought ₹4,81,47,614. That money is a large part of what lifted the research parameter in the 2025 ranking, and it means an undergraduate hunting for laboratory work has funded groups to approach rather than a notice board.

Notable Alumni

IIT Palakkad's first cohort enrolled in July 2015, which puts its oldest four-year graduates about seven years into a career. Nobody has yet published a traceable list of its well-known former students, and this page will not manufacture one, so there is nothing to print in this section. The placement tables above say far more about where those cohorts went than a name list could at this stage, and the institute's own alumni cell is where the first real roster will surface.

News & Articles

IIT Palakkad replaces its notices instead of amending them. Each session's B.Tech fee sheet is issued as a fresh one-page PDF and the previous one is withdrawn, and the academic calendar and joining timetable work the same way. The B.Tech admissions page carries the current version of all of them, together with the fee payment links keyed to a JEE Advanced roll number, the orientation schedule and the recording of the institute's open house. A fee, a date or a counselling window taken from anywhere else should be treated as provisional until it has been checked there.

College Compare

The comparison people actually search for is with IIT Mandi, and the ranking framework answers it clearly. In NIRF 2025 engineering, IIT Mandi ranked 26th on a score of 62.08 and IIT Palakkad 64th on 51.20. Mandi is ahead on the national measure by a wide margin. What that does not settle is a branch-level choice: if the comparison is computer science at Palakkad against a core branch at Mandi, the placement medians for the specific branches matter more than the institute-level gap.

Its own founding cohort is the fairer yardstick. Among the six IITs the 2016 amendment brought under the Institutes of Technology Act, NIRF 2025 engineering put IIT Jammu 56th on 53.08 and IIT Tirupati 57th on 52.73 above Palakkad's 64th, with IIT Bhilai 72nd on 50.37 and IIT Dharwad 77th on 48.61 below it. The sixth of that group, IIT Goa, does not appear in the table at all. Palakkad therefore sits in the middle of the siblings that are ranked, and nearer the top of them than the bottom.

The local comparison is the sharpest one. National Institute of Technology Calicut, in the same state, ranked 21st on 63.05, and the Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology at Thiruvananthapuram ranked 61st on 52.44. A Kerala candidate weighing NIT Calicut against IIT Palakkad is not choosing between a strong and a weak option: NIT Calicut is the higher-ranked institution today, while the IIT admits through JEE Advanced and carries the IIT degree. Weigh the branch, the closing rank you can realistically reach and the placement record for that branch, rather than the label.

Contact & Location

The campus address is Indian Institute of Technology Palakkad, Kanjikode, Palakkad, Kerala 678623, the office numbers are +91 491 209 2013 and +91 491 209 2001, and the academic section is on +91 491 209 2035. General enquiries go to info@iitpkd.ac.in, and B.Tech admission questions have their own address, btech@iitpkd.ac.in, given on the institute's undergraduate admissions page.

Getting there is easier than the rural setting suggests. Palakkad Railway Junction is about 14 kilometres away and Coimbatore International Airport roughly 60 kilometres, which puts the campus within a comfortable road transfer of both. Once you are on it, the institute's own bus timetable is the document that matters: the Nila to Sahyadri shuttle runs from before eight in the morning until midnight on working days, and scheduled services link the campus with Palakkad town, Kalleppulley and Wise Park Junction morning and evening.

Verified

Approvals & Accreditation

Statutory approvals and accreditation grades from official bodies.

Looking for the body that accredited IIT Palakkad is looking for the wrong document. Parliament wrote the institute into existence by name: the Institutes of Technology (Amendment) Act, 2016 substituted the list in section 2 of the Institutes of Technology Act, 1961 so that it names the Indian Institute of Technology, Palakkad alongside the new institutes at Tirupati, Goa, Dharwad, Bhilai and Jammu, and section 2 of that Act is the declaration of certain institutions as institutions of national importance. Degrees are conferred under the statute, which is why no university affiliates this institute and no state approval sits behind its programmes.

No NAAC grade and no NBA programme accreditation are on record for IIT Palakkad, and nothing follows from their absence, because neither is a condition of the degree-granting power the statute already confers. The one recognition document that does exist and does carry checkable detail is the institute's annual submission to the national ranking framework, and most of the enrolment, faculty, research and placement figures on this page are drawn from it.

AISHE Code
U-0878

Aid

Scholarships

This is where IIT Palakkad publishes more than most institutions of its size, and it changes the fee arithmetic considerably. Eight named schemes run for B.Tech students.

SchemeWho qualifiesWhat it is worth
Full fee remissionAnnual family income below ₹1 lakhTuition waived, ₹1,00,000 a semester
Two-third fee remissionAnnual family income from ₹1 lakh to below ₹5 lakh₹66,667 a semester
Merit cum MeansFamily income below ₹4.5 lakh, for 25% of sanctioned strength on JEE rankTuition waived plus ₹1,000 a month for four months a semester
SC and ST scholarshipFamily income below ₹4.50 lakh, SC or STHostel and dining charges waived, about ₹27,000 a semester, plus ₹250 a month for four months
PwD fee waiverDisability certificateTuition waived
ShramanAnnual family income below ₹5 lakhUp to ₹35,000 a semester, ₹70,000 a year, capped at ₹2,80,000
VidyalakshmiFamily income ₹1 lakh to ₹5 lakh, EWS and OBC-NCL included, CGPA above 6.5, girl students given priorityOne third of the tuition
Foundation for ExcellenceFirst-year entrant, 70% in Class X and Class XII, family income up to ₹3,00,000Up to ₹50,000 a year

Work one of them through the fee sheet and its real size becomes clear. A student on full remission still pays the ₹35,200 students' sector and dining charge and the non-tuition part of the institute block, so the waiver removes the ₹1,00,000 tuition line and nothing else. The SC and ST scholarship works on a different line entirely, because tuition for those students is already gone under the fee sheet's footnote: its roughly ₹27,000 a semester of hostel and dining charges is added on top of the waiver, not instead of it, which makes it the only aid here that reaches the non-tuition half of the bill.

Who pays for all that is on the record too, and the answer is not only the government.

Full tuition reimbursement, undergraduatesStudents
From state and central government funds171
From institute funds169
From private bodies0
Receiving no full reimbursement103

IIT Palakkad is carrying almost as many full waivers out of its own budget as the two governments carry between them, which is why its scholarship page is longer than the fee page and why a family should read both before deciding the sticker price is the price.

M.Sc students have their own, smaller ladder. Their merit cum means award waives a tuition fee of ₹3,000 a semester and adds ₹1,000 a month for four months, and the physics programme carries two named awards in memory of Prof. Valsakumar, ₹35,000 a year on merit and means and ₹5,000 a year on the highest CGPA. The institute also points students at the PM-Vidyalaxmi portal for collateral-free and guarantor-free education loans.

Voices

Student Reviews

No traceable student review record for IIT Palakkad is published here, because none exists that can be tied back to identified students. What can be checked is the institute's own account of itself to applicants: an open house was held on 9 June 2026 covering the undergraduate curriculum, dual degrees, hostel infrastructure and health facilities, and both the recording and the questions put to it are published.

The questions worth asking a current student are the ones the official answers cover only formally. How the Nila to Sahyadri shuttle behaves in a full teaching week rather than on the timetable, whether a triple room at Nila works for a first year who studies late, what the mess council has actually managed to change, and how far Kanjikode feels from Palakkad town on a Sunday. A third-year in the branch you want will settle those faster than any aggregate score.

Questions

Frequently asked questions

At a glance

Quick facts

Established
2015
NIRF 2025 (Engineering)
Rank #64NIRF· 2025-08-14
Website
iitpkd.ac.in

Get counselling

Tell us what you are looking for and get guidance for your shortlist.

Get counselling
Expertie

Expertie Editorial Team

This page is researched and maintained by the Expertie editorial team, and checked against official sources.

Found something that looks wrong? Email us at editorial@expertie.com.

Last updated