Manipal College Of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Manipal
Most students who finish a B.Pharm at Manipal College of Pharmaceutical Sciences do not go straight to work. In the batch that ran from 2021 to 2025, 57 of 91 finishers left for further study and 18 took a job, on the college's own count. Weigh that split against a four-year bill of Rs 16,38,000 before anything else, because it says the bachelor's degree here mostly buys entry to a master's rather than a first salary.
Overview
MCOPS is a constituent college of Manipal Academy of Higher Education (MAHE), which means the deemed-to-be university signs the degree and runs the application, the entrance test and the fee notification, while the college teaches. Its own record puts the start at a Diploma in Pharmacy in 1963, a B.Pharm degree from 1965, the first M.Pharm in Karnataka in 1970 and, in 2008, the first Doctor of Pharmacy programme in India, on the college's about page. All of it has happened on one campus in Udupi district, under a name a family shopping for a Manipal seat will meet on several other gates.
Which gate matters is worth settling before anything else. The engineering institute, the two Kasturba medical colleges and the two dental colleges are separate constituent units of the same university, each with its own intake, its own line on the fee sheet and its own ranking entry, while Manipal University Jaipur is a different private university in Rajasthan and not a MAHE constituent at all. A pharmacy applicant is dealing with MCOPS alone.
The student body is modest by MAHE standards and unusually deep at the top. The college counts 434 B.Pharm students, 262 in M.Pharm, 176 in Pharm.D, 54 in D.Pharm, 14 in Pharm.D (Post Baccalaureate) and 140 doctoral scholars, on the same page. A master's cohort of 262 and 140 research students sitting behind a first-year undergraduate intake of 100, as filed with the ranking framework, is what the laboratories here are actually built around.
Courses & Fees
Fifteen pharmacy qualifications are priced here, and MAHE publishes the whole course bill rather than an annual sticker. These are the General-category figures for the 2026-27 intake.
| Programme | Duration (years) | Instalments | First instalment (INR) | Course total (INR) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Diploma in Pharmacy (D.Pharm) | 2 | 2 | 78,000 | 1,51,000 |
| Bachelor of Pharmacy (B.Pharm) | 4 | 4 | 4,17,000 | 16,38,000 |
| B.Pharm (Lateral entry) | 3 | 3 | 3,95,000 | 11,65,000 |
| Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D) | 6 | 5 | 6,00,000 | 29,60,000 |
| Pharm.D (Post Baccalaureate) | 3 | 2 | 5,59,000 | 11,08,000 |
| M.Pharm in industrial pharmacy, analysis, quality assurance, regulatory affairs, pharmaceutics or pharmacology | 2 | 2 | 5,17,000 | 10,24,000 |
| M.Pharm in pharmaceutical biotechnology, pharmaceutical chemistry, pharmacognosy or pharmacy practice | 2 | 2 | 4,60,000 | 9,10,000 |
Read the last column, not the first. Pharm.D is the heaviest commitment on the pharmacy list at Rs 29,60,000 over six years, close to twice the B.Pharm total, so it is a decision about a clinical career rather than a longer version of the same degree. The master's then splits across the last two rows of that table, six branches priced at Rs 10,24,000 and four at Rs 9,10,000, with no reason given anywhere for the gap, on the same schedule. Do not read the cheaper row as the thinner one, and do not read it as instrument load: synthesis-heavy pharmaceutical chemistry sits in the lower band while regulatory affairs, which is taught largely off the bench, sits in the upper.
One arithmetic trap is worth flagging. The refundable caution deposit sits inside these figures rather than on top of them, at Rs 10,000 on every degree and Rs 5,000 on the diploma, and it is charged once with the first instalment, which is why the opening B.Pharm payment of Rs 4,17,000 is Rs 10,000 more than its tuition and other fees added together, on the same schedule.
Count the master's branches on the college's own page and you get ten; the sentence above the list says eleven, per the M.Pharm programme page. The fee sheet settles it. MAHE's eleventh postgraduate line at MCOPS is Pharm.D (Post Baccalaureate) at Rs 11,08,000, the three-year conversion route for someone who already holds a B.Pharm, on the fee schedule.
Admissions
Only two of the pharmacy programmes here run on the Manipal Entrance Test, and applicants routinely prepare for a test they never had to sit. B.Pharm and Pharm.D are the MET programmes, and for both the merit list gives equal weight to the test and to school marks: 50% to the MET score and 50% to the Class 12 aggregate in physics, chemistry, biology or mathematics, and English, per MAHE's 2026 undergraduate eligibility document. A weak board result is not rescued by a strong test score here. The two differ on what gets you to the test: B.Pharm wants 10+2 with physics, chemistry, English and either biology or mathematics, while Pharm.D will also take a PCI-recognised D.Pharm in place of the school qualification, in the same document.
MET itself is written twice over for pharmacy, and choosing the wrong paper is an avoidable error. The biology version carries 15 multiple-choice questions in biology plus 10 each in physics, chemistry and English, then five numerical-answer questions each in biology, physics and chemistry, in the PCB syllabus; the mathematics version swaps biology for mathematics in both blocks, in the PCM syllabus. Either way it is 120 minutes, 60 questions and 240 marks, with 4 marks for a correct multiple-choice answer and 1 deducted for a wrong one, no penalty on the numerical questions, a test fee of Rs 1,200 collected with the application, and two permitted attempts.
Every other route into the college is decided on marks already earned, with no test to sit.
| Route | What it needs | How the merit list is built |
|---|---|---|
| Diploma in Pharmacy | 10+2 in science with physics, chemistry and biology or mathematics, or a PCI-approved equivalent | Qualifying-examination marks in PCB or PCM |
| B.Pharm lateral entry to the second year | A Diploma in Pharmacy from an institution recognised by the Pharmacy Council of India | Qualifying-examination marks |
| M.Pharm and Pharm.D (Post Baccalaureate) | B.Pharm with at least 55% aggregate from a PCI-recognised university, plus State Pharmacy Council registration within one month of admission and a migration certificate | Qualifying-examination marks |
| Sources: MAHE's diploma, undergraduate and postgraduate eligibility and admission process documents for 2026. |
That last row contradicts a lot of what circulates about this college. Neither GPAT nor any other written test appears anywhere in MAHE's 2026 postgraduate admission process for the ten M.Pharm branches: the merit list is drawn from B.Pharm marks, and the two conditions that trip people up are the pharmacy council registration and the migration certificate rather than an entrance rank. GPAT does matter at MCOPS, but later and for money rather than for a seat. The undergraduate side carries one more hard rule worth diarising: a candidate must turn 17 on or before 31 December of the admission year, per the same undergraduate document.
Cutoff
No MET closing rank is published for B.Pharm, and none is promised. MAHE writes the test, ranks the candidates and allots the seats through its own counselling, so no state or central authority ever produces the allotment file a third party would need to build a cutoff from. Three MET rank lines do exist in writing, and all three sit in the MAHE scholarships handbook for 2026: a Freeship at ranks 1 to 50, a Scholar award at ranks 1 to 100, and a 75% fee waiver that reaches all the way to rank 1,500.
That third line is the informative one, and it carries a condition. The 75% band belongs to two narrow schemes, one for candidates who did their pre-university course at an Academy of General Education or Dr TMA Pai Foundation institution and one for top scorers in the Karnataka pre-university board, so most applicants can never claim it, in the same handbook. What it still shows is where MAHE draws its own pharmacy line, because the identical table sets the B.Tech band at MET rank 1 to 10,000. A pharmacy rank the university treats as strong is a far smaller number than an engineering one, which is what a hundred-seat programme should produce, and none of the three bands is the rank at which the last seat goes.
The more useful signal is which courses actually fill, and the college files that with the ranking framework every year. B.Pharm has admitted its full sanctioned 100 in each of the three intakes on record, while the master's admitted 106 against 123 sanctioned places and Pharm.D (Post Baccalaureate) took 3 against 10, in the college's NIRF 2025 data submission. Competition is concentrated almost entirely in the bachelor's; at postgraduate level the college was still advertising open M.Pharm places in pharmaceutical chemistry and pharmacognosy on its own front page.
Placements
Read the undergraduate and postgraduate outcomes as two different products, because they behave nothing alike. The government filing records what each cohort did in the year it left.
| Cohort, 2023-24 | Graduated | Placed | Median salary (INR) | Went to higher studies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| B.Pharm (4 years) | 107 | 79 | 4,00,000 | 25 |
| M.Pharm (2 years) | 105 | 97 | 6,50,000 | 7 |
| Pharm.D (6 years) | 29 | 18 | 6,00,000 | 11 |
| Pharm.D Post Baccalaureate (3 years) | 3 | 2 | 14,00,000 | 1 |
The bachelor's row is the one that changed. In 2021-22 the college placed 23 of 100 graduates at a median of Rs 3,00,000 and sent 77 to higher study; in 2022-23 it placed 20 of 106 at Rs 4,00,000 with 86 going on to study; then 2023-24 inverted, with 79 placed and 25 studying further, on the same submission. One year is not a trend, and the median did not move while the placed count nearly quadrupled, which is what a widening of who counts as placed usually looks like rather than a step change in what graduates earn.
The college's own tally of the class of 2025 points back the other way, and it is the more granular of the two records. Of 91 B.Pharm finishers, 57 went into higher education, 18 into a job and 12 were preparing for competitive examinations such as GPAT, GMAT, CAT, XAT and SNAP, with 4 not applicable or undisclosed, in its placement data for 2025. The postgraduate picture in the same document is close to saturated: across M.Pharm and Pharm.D together, 134 students produced 98 employed, 20 in higher studies, 15 self-employed, foreign or opted out and 1 unemployed.
That document also splits the master's branch by branch, which no ranking table does.
| M.Pharm branch, 2025 | Students | Employed | Other outcomes reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pharmaceutics | 15 | 14 | 1 self-employed or opted out |
| Pharmacology | 15 | 11 | 4 higher studies |
| Pharmaceutical Regulatory Affairs and Management | 15 | 14 | 1 unemployed |
| Pharmaceutical Quality Assurance | 13 | 12 | 1 self-employed |
| Industrial Pharmacy | 12 | 10 | 1 self-employed, 1 higher studies |
| Pharmaceutical Chemistry | 10 | 3 | 7 higher studies |
| Pharmaceutical Analysis | 7 | 7 | none recorded |
| Pharmaceutical Biotechnology | 7 | 6 | 1 self-employed |
| Pharmacy Practice | 4 | 1 | 2 higher studies, 1 self-employed |
Pharmaceutical chemistry is the outlier and the branch to think hardest about: 7 of its 10 students went on to study further rather than into a job, while analysis, quality assurance and regulatory affairs emptied almost entirely into employment. Branch choice at the master's level is therefore a choice between an industry exit and an academic one, and the college's own numbers make that legible in a way a campus-wide placement percentage never could.
Who hires is published separately and without counts. The college names Abbott, Alkem, Biocon, Cipla, Danone, Dr Reddy's, GSK, Hetero, Himalaya, Indegene, Mylan, Nestle, Novo Nordisk, Parexel, Sun Pharma, Syngene and ZS Associates among the companies that visit for placements, on its placement record page. Treat that as a list of visitors rather than a list of offers, because no offer count sits beside any name.
Seat Matrix
Sanctioned strength has been flat on the bachelor's side and cut on the master's side.
| Programme | 2023-24 | 2022-23 | 2021-22 | 2020-21 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| B.Pharm (UG, 4 years) | 100 | 100 | 100 | 100 |
| M.Pharm (PG, 2 years) | 123 | 123 | not reported | not reported |
| Pharm.D Post Baccalaureate (PG, 3 years) | 10 | 10 | 10 | not reported |
| Pharm.D (PG, 6 years) | 30 | 30 | 30 | 30 |
The master's number moved, and two tables inside the same filing tell it differently. The sanctioned-intake table leaves the two-year programmes blank for 2020-21 and 2021-22, while the placement table records a first-year M.Pharm intake of 165 in each of those years against 132 and 130 students actually admitted, before the figure falls to 123 for 2022-23 with 106 admitted, on the same filing. Trimming a sanction toward what fills is the more honest number, and even at 123 it leaves about one M.Pharm place in seven empty.
Lateral entry sits alongside the main door and is not advertised loudly. It took 10, 10 and 7 students into the second year of B.Pharm across the three years the same submission covers, so a D.Pharm holder is chasing a handful of places rather than one of the first-year seats. The compensation is price: the three-year lateral route is billed at Rs 11,65,000 against Rs 16,38,000 for the full degree, on MAHE's fee schedule.
Enrolment across all years shows what those intakes accumulate into. The college counts 425 undergraduates, 205 master's students, 179 in the six-year Pharm.D and 19 in the post-baccalaureate route, of whom 164 undergraduates are from Karnataka, 249 from other states and 12 from outside India, on the same filing. Most of the undergraduate body has travelled to get here, which is what you would expect of a college with no state counselling quota feeding it.
Rankings
MCOPS is placed 8th in the NIRF 2025 pharmacy ranking with a score of 73.25, the same position it held a year earlier on a score of 72.27. A flat rank on a rising score is the least interesting way to read the entry, because the parameters underneath it moved hard in both directions.
| NIRF pharmacy parameter | 2024 | 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Teaching, learning and resources | 76.79 | 78.25 |
| Research and professional practice | 63.33 | 66.22 |
| Graduation outcomes | 79.57 | 83.29 |
| Outreach and inclusivity | 69.10 | 68.78 |
| Perception | 74.15 | 63.60 |
| Sources: NIRF's 2025 and 2024 pharmacy tables. |
Four of the five parameters describe things the college can act on, and three of those rose. Graduation outcomes gained close to four points, research almost three and teaching resources one and a half, while outreach slipped fractionally. Perception, which is collected from employers and academics rather than from anything the college files, fell by more than ten points in a single cycle and is now the lowest of the five. That is the row to watch, because it is also the one an institution cannot move by spending money on laboratories.
Two other rankings get quoted for this college and both need a caveat. Its rankings page reports 76th place in the QS World University Rankings 2026 under Pharmacy and Pharmacology, and the link it offers for the detail resolves to Manipal Academy of Higher Education's own QS profile rather than to a college entry. Scroll past that headline and the same page turns into an archive: the next two claims on it are a ranking-framework first place dated April 2019 and a Career360 first place dated May 2015. The about page is the one that misleads, still describing the college as 3rd in NIRF, which the government table does not support for either of the last two cycles.
Departments
Eight departments carry the teaching, and several are older than most Indian pharmacy colleges. Pharmaceutics dates from 1970 and holds both the pharmaceutics and industrial pharmacy master's branches; pharmacognosy was established in 1971; pharmacology began in 1965 inside Kasturba Medical College and still handles physiology for first-year B.Pharm and Pharm.D students; and pharmaceutical regulatory affairs and management, set up in 2001 as the department of pharmacy management, teaches across B.Pharm, M.Pharm, Pharm.D and PhD, on the departments and faculty list.
The remaining four are pharmaceutical biotechnology, pharmaceutical chemistry, pharmaceutical quality assurance and pharmacy practice. The map matters at the master's stage more than at the bachelor's, because a branch decides the department, the supervisor and, on the college's own placement counts, the likely exit. The chemistry department also runs training links with CDRI Lucknow and IICT Hyderabad for its postgraduate students, and regulatory affairs works with the University of Brighton, Hibernia College and the School of Pharmacy at the University of Mississippi, per the same directory.
Undergraduates meet the departments on a fixed sequence rather than all at once. B.Pharm students take pharmacology in the third and final years of the four-year programme and Pharm.D students in their second and third, while the same department delivers physiology to first-years on both degrees, on the department listing. That department only became independent in November 2001, when the faculty teaching pharmacy were transferred across from Kasturba Medical College.
Facilities & Infrastructure
The equipment list reads like a research inventory rather than a teaching one. LCMS-MS, a flow cytometer, an auto analyzer and a zeta sizer are named on the infrastructure page alongside dedicated laboratories for cell culture, molecular biology, formulation development, chemical synthesis and herbal drug development. The same page puts full-time faculty at 68 and the faculty-to-student ratio at 1:15, and says more than 95% of teachers hold doctorates.
Two of those facilities do more work than the adjectives around them. The central animal research facility is described as an in-house, two-corridor animal house that breeds and maintains in-bred animals for experiments on site, and the infrastructure page adds that some are bred specifically for cancer and drug development programmes. Whether a pharmacology or toxicology dissertation here can run its own in vivo work turns on that. The pharmacy practice department sits inside Kasturba Hospital, where the same page says the department offers drug information, patient counselling and adverse drug reaction monitoring services. For a Pharm.D, that hospital attachment is most of what the degree is.
The library is shared rather than departmental. The Health Sciences Library covers 1.5 lakh square feet across five levels, seats 1,300 readers and serves all the health-sciences colleges at Manipal, having begun as the Central Library in 1953 before moving into an independent building in 1983, on the college's library page. The money behind it is filed annually: MCOPS put Rs 86,54,784 into the library and Rs 81,54,175 into new laboratory equipment in 2023-24, against Rs 43,17,055 on the library and Rs 1,23,04,585 on equipment the year before, in its NIRF 2025 submission. Go back one more year and the weighting flips again, to Rs 59,10,735 on the library and Rs 32,85,593 on equipment in 2021-22. This is a capital budget that swings between books and instruments year to year, so a single year's figure says very little about either.
Hostel
Pharmacy undergraduates are housed with the medical and dental first-years on the health-sciences side of the campus, not with the engineering students, and the rate card is separate.
| Who | Block | Room | Annual hostel fee (INR) | First-year total (INR) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MCOPS undergraduate men | Nehru A Block | Double, attached bath, AC | 1,08,000 | 1,95,000 |
| MCOPS undergraduate men | Nehru A Block | Double, attached bath, non-AC | 79,000 | 1,48,500 |
| MCOPS undergraduate women | Indira Hostel | Double, attached bath, non-AC | 79,000 | 1,48,500 |
| Health sciences postgraduates and PhD, men | NIH C Block | Double, attached bath, AC | 1,10,000 | 1,97,000 |
| Health sciences postgraduates and PhD, men | C V Raman | Double, common bath, non-AC | 59,000 | 1,28,500 |
| Health sciences postgraduates and PhD, women | Sharada or Nehru Ladies | Single, common bath, non-AC | 62,000 | 1,31,500 |
The room is barely half the bill. Of the Rs 1,48,500 a first-year MCOPS undergraduate hands over for a non-AC double, only Rs 79,000 is the hostel fee; the balance is a Rs 62,000 mess advance and a Rs 7,500 room deposit, on the same schedule. Asking for air conditioning changes three lines rather than one: the deposit doubles to Rs 15,000, an electricity advance of Rs 10,000 appears, and the annual fee rises to Rs 1,08,000. Only the men's block offers MCOPS undergraduates that choice at all.
Booking the room runs on a clock, and it is the same clock for undergraduates and research students on this campus. You enter up to three room types on MAHE's hostel portal, allotment follows preference and availability, and the fee must be paid within 48 hours of the confirmation email or the booking lapses and the preferences have to be entered again, per the same document. Opting out is not a first-year choice. The college states that hostel residence is mandatory in the first year and that anyone wanting to live outside needs a parental consent letter recommended by the head of institution and forwarded to the Director of Student Affairs, on its hostel page, and it adds that first-years on the health sciences campus must eat in a campus mess, which is what that advance is buying.
Faculty
Two faculty counts are in circulation and they do not agree. The college's ranking submission entered 77 members, in its NIRF 2025 filing, while its infrastructure page puts full-time faculty at 68. The gap is small and probably a matter of what counts as full time. The 1:15 ratio is printed on the same page as the 68, so that is the pairing to quote and the more conservative of the two.
Behind that roster sits a large doctoral cohort. There were 136 full-time and 13 part-time PhD scholars on the rolls to 2023-24, and full-time doctorates awarded ran 6, then 19, then 24 across the three years to that point, on the same submission. All of that growth is on the full-time side; the part-time count over the same three years went 6, then 1, then 1.
Sponsored research and paid consultancy sit at wildly different scales here. Grants brought in Rs 4,06,07,623 across 66 projects from 9 funding agencies in 2023-24, while 61 consultancy projects for 44 client organisations returned Rs 9,48,022 between them, in the same filing. Sixty-one paid jobs shared between forty-four outside clients for that combined sum is the profile of one-off analytical work, not of long industry contracts, so the grant column is what actually funds the equipment. The college names CSIR, DST, ICMR, UGC, AICTE, DBT and DAE among its funders, on its about page.
Notable Alumni
MCOPS publishes its own alumni list, which is worth reading with the byline in mind. The about page names Murali Divi, managing director of Divi Labs in Hyderabad, Kiran Shankar, vice president at BPRL in Bengaluru, and Satheesh Mallya at the US FDA, and singles out two research careers: Sreejayan, an associate professor at Wyoming working on new drug discovery, and Jyoti Paliwal, credited there with a major contribution to the development of a weekly contraceptive pill.
None of it is audited, and the college's own pages do not always agree. The pharmacology department's history records the same Kiran Shankar as the first student to take an M.Pharm in pharmacology here and gives his employer as Wintac in Bangalore. Names that circulate on aggregator sites with nothing behind them are not repeated here.
News & Articles
Nothing on the college's own feed rises to an institution-level development. The newest entries in the news column of its front page are a faculty arrival and a pre-placement training programme, both dated January 2026; the events column reaches a little further, to the DeepSAR and Qalam meetings in March 2026. Sitting above all of it, on every page of the site, is the standing banner offering M.Pharm seats in pharmaceutical chemistry and pharmacognosy, which tells you more about the postgraduate intake than any of the notices below it.
Admission notices, MET schedules and fee revisions come from MAHE rather than from MCOPS, so a deadline is never going to be on the college feed. MAHE stamps a revision date on each of those documents. The 2026 postgraduate eligibility rules were last updated on July 23, 2026 and the undergraduate set on 21 May 2026, so a pharmacy figure reproduced on a third-party page with no date attached is a figure of unknown age.
College Compare
The nearest comparison is not another Manipal college but the other private pharmacy school ranked immediately above it. JSS College of Pharmacy at Mysuru sits 7th on 73.38 against MCOPS at 8th on 73.25, close enough that the two are separated by hundredths of a point, and its sibling at Ootacamund is 4th on 76.14. Where the two Karnataka colleges genuinely differ is research, where MCOPS scores 66.22 against Mysuru's 52.17, and perception, where it now trails at 63.60 against 77.15.
The two national institutes in the same bracket sit either side of MCOPS on total score and nowhere near it underneath. NIPER Mohali is 9th on 70.96 and NIPER Hyderabad 5th on 75.64, one place below and three above. Look inside those totals, though, and Mohali scores 84.23 on perception where MCOPS manages 63.60, while MCOPS returns 66.22 on research against Mohali's 54.43. Mohali and Mysuru are unalike in almost every other way and still fail against MCOPS in the same place and beat it in the same place, which makes perception the recurring gap rather than an accident of one comparison.
The top of the table is a longer way off than the neighbours are. Jamia Hamdard leads on 86.59 and BITS Pilani follows on 82.28, so the honest reading of a rank of 8 is a strong second cluster rather than a near miss on the podium.
Contact & Location
The college keeps its own office at Madhava Nagar, inside the Manipal township in Udupi district, and admissions are handled by the university rather than by the college.
| Purpose | Detail |
|---|---|
| Postal address | Manipal College of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Madhava Nagar, Manipal 576104, Udupi district, Karnataka |
| College office | office.mcops@manipal.edu |
| Admissions enquiry | admissions@manipal.edu, +91 92437 77733 |
| International admissions | intladm@manipal.edu, +91 820 2922400 |
| Hostels, health sciences campus | chiefwarden.mahe@manipal.edu, +91 820 2922413 |
| Sources: the college's PCI standard inspection format and the MAHE contact directory. |
Note which desk answers what. Only the first two rows belong to MCOPS; admissions, international admissions and hostels are all MAHE functions, so a query about a deadline or a fee sent to the college office is going to the wrong place. One more line is worth reading before signing anything: MAHE's eligibility documents state that jurisdiction for any dispute lies with the Udupi court alone, in the 2026 diploma eligibility document.
Verified
Approvals & Accreditation
Statutory approvals and accreditation grades from official bodies.
Only one accreditation here was earned by the pharmacy college in its own name, and it covers one programme. The National Board of Accreditation has accredited the undergraduate programme for six years, from 2022 to 2028, as the college's accreditation page states and its NBA page repeats, alongside a superseded 2019 to 2022 award. Neither page extends the mark to Pharm.D or to any M.Pharm branch, so a postgraduate applicant is relying on statutory approval and the university's institutional standing instead.
Two ISO marks sit beside that one. The accreditation page records ISO 9001-2015 and ISO 14001-2004 certification, which cover quality-management and environmental-management systems rather than the curriculum, so neither says anything about how well the subject is taught.
Regulatory approval is handled separately again: under its PCI heading the college publishes the Pharmacy Council of India's standard inspection formats course by course, SIF-C covering D.Pharm and B.Pharm, SIF-D covering Pharm.D and SIF-E covering M.Pharm, on its PCI page. Those filings are what keeps a seat here legally admissible, and they are renewed rather than granted once, so their age matters. The SIF-C on offer is the college's 2015 submission, filed under tracking number SIF/2015/100655.
One line to read carefully is the college's own admissions FAQ, which says MCOPS is accredited by the NBA, AICTE, NAAC and UGC and is ISO certified. Read as a description of the university that examines you it is fair enough; read as a list of marks the pharmacy college holds programme by programme, it overstates what is published anywhere on the college's own accreditation pages.
Aid
Scholarships
The B.Pharm scholarship scheme is unusually specific about ranks, and unusually strict about keeping the money. Entry needs 80% in chemistry, physics and biology or mathematics at Class 12; the Freeship covers 100% of the programme fee for MET ranks 1 to 50, the Scholar award waives 20% for ranks 1 to 100, and four places are shared between the two, with a further four Achiever awards, per the MAHE scholarships handbook 2026.
Three conditions inside that handbook decide whether an award survives past the first year. A Freeship holder still pays a minimum of Rs 10,000 towards the programme fee every year plus the refundable caution deposit; continuation requires a CGPA of 8 on the 10-point scale in the previous year's university examinations, with any fail, incomplete or detention grade ending it; and a scholar who leaves the course before completing it must repay the full programme fee for every year of scholarship used. The Achiever award works differently again, starting only from the second year and resting on the previous year's results, with nothing awarded on final-year performance.
Every other pharmacy programme gets a much thinner allocation, at one Scholar place and one Achiever place each for Pharm.D, Pharm.D (Post Baccalaureate) and each of the ten M.Pharm branches, with two of each for D.Pharm and one for lateral entry, in the handbook's annexure. This is where GPAT finally enters: AICTE provides financial assistance to GPAT-qualified students enrolled in the M.Pharm programme at MCOPS, which is a stipend for people already admitted rather than a way in.
Who actually got the money is in the ranking filing, and the answer divides sharply by degree. Among undergraduates nobody who qualified was left out: 39 drew a state or central government reimbursement and 49 an institutional one, and the column counting students who received neither reads zero, in the NIRF 2025 submission. At master's level that same column reads 26, against 1 government and 6 institutional reimbursements. The six-year Pharm.D lands between them, at 5 and 19 reimbursed with 6 left out.
Decide
Compare with similar colleges
Voices
Student Reviews
There is no audited student survey for MCOPS that anyone could put a score on. The stars beside its name on admission portals are self-selected postings with no sampling behind them, so no rating appears here.
What can be checked are two figures nobody volunteered for. Employers and academics scored the college 63.60 on perception in the 2025 pharmacy ranking, down more than ten points on the previous cycle, which is the closest thing to an outside verdict on its reputation. And applicants themselves fill all 100 B.Pharm seats every year while leaving master's places open, per the college's NIRF 2025 submission, so the bachelor's is the degree students are actually competing for.
The college does publish signed testimonials on its front page, each attributed by name and B.Pharm batch, which is more than most institutions manage. Read what the signatories say they did next, though, rather than what they say about the teaching. Of the five, three left India for a master's, two of them to Copenhagen and one to Brisbane; one directs a laboratory company in Mumbai and one is a pharmacy superintendent in Abuja. Even in the voices MCOPS picked for itself, the bachelor's is mostly a step to somewhere else.
Campus
Gallery
No images yet. The campus, laboratory and animal-facility photographs on the college's own site have not been downloaded and rehosted with a credit, and this section stays blank until they are, rather than being filled with a generic laboratory picture belonging to some other institution.
Questions
Frequently asked questions
References
Sources
- on the college's about page – manipal.edu
- NIRF 2025 ranking – nirfindia.org
At a glance
Quick facts
- Established
- 1963
- Affiliation
- Manipal Academy of Higher Education, Manipal
- NIRF 2025 (Pharmacy)
- Rank #8NIRF· 2025-08-14
- Website
- manipal.edu/mcops-manipal.html

Expertie Editorial Team
This page is researched and maintained by the Expertie editorial team, and checked against official sources.
Found something that looks wrong? Email us at editorial@expertie.com.
Last updated
