Expertie
Scholarships Get counselling
INDI
publicInstitute of National Importance

Indian Institute Of Technology Bhilai

Durg, Chhattisgarh Est. 2016 Official site Updated
NIRF Engineering
#72

IIT Bhilai's published fee sheet for 2026-27 carries three semesters, not two. A continuing B.Tech student is billed ₹1,53,270 in the monsoon semester, ₹1,52,270 in the winter and ₹52,650 in the summer, and the summer term is optional, so any single annual figure quoted for this campus is an assumption about a choice the student has not made yet. The institute also publishes something the pages ranking above it leave out: the exact GATE score that took the last seat in each of its 13 M.Tech disciplines, category by category. Both documents are set out below, next to the placement medians the institute filed with the national ranking framework.

Overview

IIT Bhilai is a decade old and still assembling its record, which is the single most important thing to hold while reading every number on this page. The Ministry of Education established it in Chhattisgarh in 2016, and it now runs from its permanent campus at Kutelabhata, Bhilai; the director's office dates the founding to 7 August 2016.

The move out of temporary premises is recorded in an unlikely document, the ranking tables themselves. NIRF's engineering table listed the institute's city as Raipur in 2023 and again in 2024, then as Durg in 2025. Between those two editions the campus was handed over: the dedication ceremony took place on 20 February 2024 in the Nalanda Lecture Hall, and the director described a net zero campus of around 400 acres with a built-up area of approximately 1.5 lakh square metres, 16 main buildings, 25 auxiliary buildings, a central instrument facility, an engineering workshop, a data centre and a library and lecture hall complex.

Who actually studies here is the second thing worth settling early. Of the 747 students on its four-year undergraduate programmes at the 2025 ranking submission, 153 are women, 25 are from within Chhattisgarh and 722 come from other states, alongside 88 students on the two-year postgraduate programmes. The host state supplies a thin slice of the roll. If you are shortlisting Bhilai because it is near home, be clear that almost nobody else in the hostel corridor will have chosen it for that reason.

Courses & Fees

Each level of degree here is filled by a different national examination, and the branch lists differ more than the labels suggest.

LevelProgrammes offeredEntrance route
B.Tech, four yearsComputer Science and Engineering, Data Science and Artificial Intelligence, Electrical Engineering, Electronics and Communication Engineering, Materials Science and Metallurgical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Mechatronics EngineeringJEE Advanced, seat through JoSAA
M.Tech, two yearsBioengineering, Biomedical Devices, Computer Science and Engineering, Data Science and Artificial Intelligence, Electronics and Communication Engineering, Microelectronics and VLSI, Control and Instrumentation, Electric Vehicle Technology, Power Systems and Power Electronics, Materials Science and Metallurgical Engineering, Design and Manufacturing, Thermal and Fluids Engineering, Mechatronics EngineeringGATE, offer settled on COAP
M.Sc, two yearsPhysics, Chemistry, Mathematics and ComputingIIT JAM
Ph.DAcross the departments, from Computer Science and Engineering to Liberal ArtsInstitute selection

The institute lists 13 M.Tech programmes against seven undergraduate ones, and that ratio is the clearest signal of where it has been putting its growth.

Now the fee sheet, which is where the three-semester calendar shows up as money. The institute prices a monsoon, a winter and a summer term separately, and publishes the whole schedule head by head.

B.Tech fee head, 2026-27Monsoon semesterWinter semesterSummer semester
Academic registration fee₹500₹500₹500
Tuition fee₹1,00,000₹1,00,000₹25,000
CoSA fee₹2,500₹2,500Not charged
Medical fee₹1,250₹1,250₹850
Other fee₹8,000₹8,000₹5,350
Student welfare fund₹500₹500Not charged
Hostel admission fee₹500₹500Not charged
Hostel seat rent₹2,475₹2,475₹1,650
Establishment fee₹15,000₹15,000₹10,000
Dining fee₹21,545₹21,545₹9,300

Add those blocks up as the institute does and a continuing B.Tech student owes ₹1,53,270 in the monsoon semester, ₹1,52,270 in the winter and ₹52,650 in the summer, while a new entrant's first monsoon bill is ₹1,72,270 because ₹12,000 of one-time fees and a refundable ₹7,000 caution deposit are added to it. A ₹1,000 annual insurance premium is payable in the first semester of every year on top of the medical fee, and the sheet warns that the dining fee and the premium are both subject to revision.

Whether the summer bill lands at all is a decision, not a certainty. Undergraduates are generally not required to stay on campus during the summer semester; departments may offer regular courses in it, and a student who wants one registers and then has to be resident. That is why the honest answer to what a year here costs is a range rather than a number, and why the summer column is the part a family should ask about before it arrives.

Postgraduate money works on an entirely different scale, because the tuition line collapses. An M.Tech student pays ₹5,000 in tuition per semester against the B.Tech figure, and the totals come to ₹66,420 in the monsoon semester and ₹67,435 in the winter for a continuing student, or ₹85,420 and ₹87,435 for a new one. That annexure carries no summer semester at all, only a ₹13,040 hostel charge covering the stretch between the winter term and the next monsoon one, so the three-term calendar bills a master's student on a different pattern from an undergraduate. M.Sc tuition matches the M.Tech line at ₹5,000 in each regular semester and ₹2,500 in the summer, with continuing totals of ₹58,270, ₹57,270 and ₹30,150 across the three terms and ₹77,270 for a new entrant's first. Once tuition falls away, what is left is nearly all hostel and dining.

Two online degrees sit outside all of this and carry a warning worth reading twice. The Executive M.Tech, offered in Applied Mechatronics and Robotics and in Advanced Electrical Vehicle System, is explicitly not equivalent to the institute's regular M.Tech; equivalence means opting for a 26-credit offline thesis at IIT Bhilai after the third semester, entered only by clearing a mandatory offline written examination and an interaction, and it stretches the degree to 5 semesters, 3 online and 2 offline. The e-Masters degrees are a different arrangement again: a minimum of 36 credits over two calendar years, delivered with TeamLease Edtech, an Executive PG Diploma on the way out for anyone who leaves between the first and second year, and the finished degree accepted as eligible for PhD admission here.

Admissions

Nothing you send IIT Bhilai gets you a B.Tech seat. Admission to the B.Tech programmes runs through JEE Advanced, and the seat allotment is then done by the Joint Seat Allocation Authority, so the campus enters the process only after a rank and a choice list have already decided the outcome.

A branch you did not want can be changed once, and the rule here is looser at the top than at some peer campuses. The request goes through the Dean of Academic Affairs at the end of the second semester, is open only to students admitted through the joint entrance route, and turns purely on the CGPA at the end of that semester; no discipline may fall more than 20 per cent below its enrolled capacity or rise above 110 per cent of its allotted capacity, ties are broken on grade distribution, and once a new discipline is allotted there is no further change and no way back. Read the last clause as the binding one. One move, taken on one semester's grades, with no reversal.

A master's applicant reaches Bhilai through two doors rather than one. The institute will take a valid GATE score, or a GPAT score for the two bioscience programmes, or a CPI of 8.0 in a B.Tech done at an IIT, sitting on top of a first class bachelor's degree in engineering or technology at 60 per cent, relaxed to 55 per cent for SC and ST candidates. In the main round, offer letters go out only through COAP, the portal the IITs run jointly, and a COAP registration number has to exist before the institute's own application form can be filled. No outside counselling body places a master's student here, CCMT included; the only other door is one the institute opens itself, and it is described further down.

Which GATE paper you sit matters as much as the score on it, because the accepted papers differ sharply by programme.

M.Tech programmeGATE papers accepted
Bioengineering, Biomedical DevicesBM, BT, CH, CY, EC, EE, XE, XL, ME, PH, IN or GPAT
Computer Science and EngineeringCS, DA, EC, EE, MA, PH
Data Science and Artificial IntelligenceAny engineering discipline, MA or ST
Power Systems and Power Electronics, Control and InstrumentationEE, EC, IN, CS, PH
Electric Vehicle TechnologyME, EE, EC, IN, AE, CY, CH, XE, XE-F, XE-C, PI
Communication and Signal ProcessingEC, EE, IN, PH, DA (CS)
Microelectronics and VLSIEC, EE, IN, PH
Materials Science and Metallurgical EngineeringAny engineering discipline, CY, PH, GG or XE
Design and Manufacturing, Thermal and Fluids EngineeringAE, CE, ME, PI, PH, XE
Mechatronics EngineeringME, EE, EC, PI, IN, AE, CS

One row in that table needs matching by hand. The admission notice files Communication and Signal Processing under the Electronics and Communication Engineering department, while the About page and the cut-off sheet both call the same programme Electronics and Communication Engineering. One programme, two names, and the cut-off you want is filed under the second.

If COAP passes you by, the campus is not always finished with you. Four departments have run their own non-COAP spot admissions against seats left vacant, Electrical Engineering, Electronics and Communication Engineering, Materials Science and Metallurgical Engineering and Mechanical Engineering, each with its own form and its own published list of eligible candidates. Those notices go up late and come down the moment a round closes, which is why the admissions page shows none of them today. A candidate holding a usable GATE score and no offer watches the institute's announcements, not the portal.

Once inside, two provisions reward students who plan early. Up to 6 credits of graded MOOC or NPTEL work can be transferred into the undergraduate curriculum against open or programme electives, with the department approving the course before it starts and a 14-week or 42-hour course treated as equivalent to a 3-credit institute course. B.Tech Honours can be registered at the end of the fifth semester, and a student may be allowed to convert to a dual degree, with the B.Tech and M.Tech route running a nominal 5 years and the B.Tech to PhD route 7 to 8 years.

Cutoff

Most institutes leave a master's applicant reading tea leaves. IIT Bhilai publishes the category-wise GATE cut-off for every M.Tech discipline it admitted to in 2025, which is the single most decision-useful document on its website.

M.Tech discipline, 2025 admissionsEWSOBC (NCL)SCSTUR
Computer Science and Engineering580577404380614
Data Science and Artificial Intelligence557548393315610
Microelectronics and VLSI424436334Not recorded444
Bioengineering429389298Not recordedNot recorded
Electronics and Communication Engineering352393303231436
Mechatronics Engineering334351228Not recorded406
Control and Instrumentation366354351Not recorded441
Power Systems and Power ElectronicsNot recorded374291263393
Design and Manufacturing340345255272389
Electric Vehicle Technology316351340244397
Materials Science and Metallurgical Engineering337317245249362
Thermal and Fluids Engineering352331213222355
Biomedical Devices304387282249311

The spread across that table is the finding, not any single cell. Computer science and engineering closed at 614 in the unreserved category while thermal and fluids engineering closed at 355, and biomedical devices took an OBC-NCL candidate at 387 against an EWS candidate at 304. A reserved-category line sitting above the general line in the same row is not an error; it is what a handful of seats filling on one strong applicant looks like when there is no queue behind them.

Two disciplines do not rank on the GATE score alone, and applying to them without knowing that wastes an attempt. Data science and artificial intelligence builds a composite from 70 per cent of the GATE score plus a weight for which paper you wrote, 30 per cent for CS and DA, 25 per cent for ECE and 15 per cent for others; mechatronics engineering takes 70 per cent of the GATE score and adds 5 per cent for Class 10 marks, 10 per cent for Class 12 marks and 15 per cent for the B.Tech or M.Sc result; and for bioengineering the GATE and GPAT scores are normalised against the highest score in each examination separately.

The undergraduate side has no equivalent, and it is worth being blunt about why rather than printing a table from somewhere else. A B.Tech closing rank is generated by a counselling round, belongs to that round, and is published by the counselling authority: pull the figure for your branch, category and round from JoSAA's own opening and closing ranks. Expect it to move about. Sanctioned undergraduate intake reached 230 for 2023-24, and once that is divided across seven branches and then again by category, several blocks come down to a few seats each, which is exactly the size at which a closing rank swings between rounds and between years.

Placements

The institute files a median rather than a headline with the national ranking framework, and its three most recent undergraduate years do not tell a rising story.

B.Tech batchGraduated in minimum timePlacedMedian salaryHigher studies
2021-22117101₹14,00,0001
2022-23126101₹15,00,0004
2023-24162116₹12,00,00014

Read the 2023-24 row against the one above it before you read anything else about this campus. Between those two years the median dropped from ₹15,00,000 to ₹12,00,000 while 116 students were placed rather than 101, out of a cohort that finished 162 strong instead of 126, and the count leaving for higher study went from 4 to 14. Wider hiring, thinner offers, and a bigger slice of the batch choosing to keep studying. That is what an intake growing faster than its recruiting relationships looks like inside one row of a government form, and the submission passes no comment on it.

Master's outcomes moved the other way, from a much smaller base.

PG batchGraduated in minimum timePlacedMedian salaryHigher studies
2021-221110₹9,50,0001
2022-232421₹10,00,0003
2023-241814₹10,20,0001

The postgraduate median has risen in each of the three years, from ₹9,50,000 to ₹10,00,000 to ₹10,20,000, on cohorts small enough that two or three offers move it. Treat the direction as real and the precision as thin.

The Centre for Career Planning and Services counts the season rather than the cohort, and its own account is the fuller one for anyone weighing who actually turns up. Six placement sessions have been held with more than 650 offers extended, with Google, Amazon, HPCL, Warner Bros Discovery, MECON, DE Shaw, Intuit, Applied Materials, Sprinklr, Commvault, Paytm, Schneider Electric, Atonarp, AirAsia Technology Centre and Larsen and Toubro among the recruiters. Offers extended is not students placed, so that figure cannot be set beside the table above; it describes the demand side of the same campus.

Internships are the part of this record that is growing fastest, and they are structured unusually generously. More than 85 internship offers came in the summer of 2025 from recruiters including Google, NVIDIA, Warner Bros Discovery, ICICI Bank, TCS Research, Publicis Sapient, Assurant and Bhilai Steel Plant, third-year students are available for roughly 10 weeks in summer and 4 weeks in December, and final-year students can take a 6-month internship in either the seventh or the eighth semester. A half-year industry placement inside the degree is a real lever at an institute whose brand is still young.

Seat Matrix

Sanctioned intake has climbed steeply, and the campus a 2026 entrant joins is materially larger than the one that produced the placement rows above.

Sanctioned intake2020-212021-222022-232023-24
UG, four-year programmes170170190230
PG, two-year programmesNot reportedNot reported69130

The postgraduate approval nearly doubled in a single year, from 69 to 130, while undergraduate intake went from 190 to 230. The master's programmes are where this institute is expanding hardest, which is consistent with the breadth of M.Tech disciplines it now lists and with the departmental spot rounds it has had to run to fill them.

Filling those seats has not always been straightforward at postgraduate level. Against a first-year postgraduate intake of 39 in 2020-21, 16 students were admitted; against 49 in 2021-22, 24; against 69 in 2022-23, 24. The undergraduate side shows no such gap: first-year undergraduate intake and admissions ran at 120 and 121 in 2018-19, 133 and 131 in 2019-20, and 170 and 170 in 2020-21, with no lateral entry in any of those years. A JEE Advanced seat here fills; a GATE seat here sometimes does not, which is the whole reason the departmental spot rounds exist.

What the institute never publishes is the split. Seven B.Tech disciplines share that sanctioned total, and the allocation inside it, branch by branch, category by category, and the female supernumerary seats on top, is fixed by JoSAA for each admission cycle and lives only in that year's seat matrix.

Rankings

IIT Bhilai has climbed in every edition since it entered the national engineering table, and one parameter has done most of the lifting.

NIRF engineering parameter202320242025
Rank817372
Overall score45.8648.8050.37
Teaching, learning and resources73.0976.7176.99
Research and professional practice13.5419.9324.97
Graduation outcomes65.5465.7165.13
Outreach and inclusivity59.2959.2059.02
Perception8.267.488.47

Research and professional practice read 13.54 in 2023, 19.93 in 2024 and 24.97 in 2025, while graduation outcomes and outreach each stayed within half a point of where they started and teaching moved far less than research did. Most of the improvement therefore sits in that one line, and the line still comes to about a third of the teaching score beside it, which is the honest shape of a laboratory base that only began accumulating after 2016.

One column has refused to move. Perception read 8.26 in 2023, dipped to 7.48 in 2024 and recovered only to 8.47 in 2025. NIRF builds that column out of what employers and academic peers say when it asks them, so it measures how far the name has travelled rather than anything happening in a classroom, and a campus that finished its own buildings in 2024 has simply not been in front of enough people yet.

The rank itself is decided by margins too fine to carry meaning. In the 2025 table IIT Bhilai scored 50.37 at rank 72, one place behind Banasthali Vidyapith on 50.38 and one place ahead of National Institute of Technology Srinagar on 50.23. A hundredth of a point separates 71st from 72nd. Read the parameter columns, not the ordinal.

Two gaps are worth stating outright. Engineering is the only 2025 NIRF table IIT Bhilai turns up in, and it is missing from the 2022 engineering table altogether, the edition immediately before its first appearance. Neither gap is for want of filing, because the institute's own site publishes an Overall report next to the engineering one for 2025 and again for 2026. What is short here is the record a 2016 institute has had time to build, not the effort put into filing it.

NIRF Engineering 2025
Rank #72· Score 50.37NIRF· 2025-08-14
#72

Departments

The teaching is carried by named departments, one standalone discipline and one centre, and that list is worth reading for what it includes rather than for its length. The departments are Bioscience and Biomedical Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science and Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Electronics and Communication Engineering, Liberal Arts, Materials Science and Metallurgical Engineering, Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Physics and Mechatronics; data science and artificial intelligence is run as a discipline in its own right, and the Centre for Culture, Language and Traditions sits alongside them.

Liberal Arts being a full department, not a service unit, is the unusual entry. It takes doctoral candidates of its own, which puts humanities research on the same footing as the engineering departments at an institute that is otherwise entirely technical. The Centre for Culture, Language and Traditions extends the same commitment outward into the region the campus sits in.

Facilities & Infrastructure

The campus is being built in three zones rather than all at once, and knowing which zone holds what explains most of daily life here. The academic zone carries two engineering department blocks, two science department blocks, a lecture hall complex, the Central Instrumentation Facility, a Central Prototyping Facility and a library and data centre; the student hostel zone carries two boys' hostel blocks, a girls' hostel, a mess block and married student housing; and the staff residential zone carries the Beta, Gamma and Delta residential towers, the director's residence, a health centre, a shopping centre and the institute club.

Teaching laboratories are named and described individually rather than lumped into a facilities paragraph. They include an automation systems lab with industrial robots, a digital fabrication lab for rapid prototyping and 3D printing, a DIY training lab with laser cutters and table-top CNC machines that every undergraduate passes through, an FPGA lab tied to the first-year Applied Digital Logic Design course, an electrical engineering lab with remote monitoring at every worktable, a chemistry lab with fume extractors and computational chemistry workstations, and the Central Instrumentation Facility. The central library runs on Koha, the open source library system, and stays open on weekends.

The spending behind that is recent and heavy. Capital expenditure on new laboratory equipment and software reached ₹51,39,50,483 in 2023-24, up from ₹13,57,43,724 in 2021-22, with a further ₹7,18,25,405 on engineering workshops and ₹2,54,11,092 on library books, journals and e-resources in the same year. A student arriving now meets equipment bought in the last three years, which is a genuine advantage of joining an institute at this stage rather than a consolation for it.

One thing on this campus is not an academic unit at all. The IIT Bhilai Innovation and Technology Foundation, a Section 8 company, hosts the Technology Innovation Hub for financial technologies funded by the Department of Science and Technology under its National Mission on Interdisciplinary Cyber-Physical Systems, one of 25 such hubs nationally. Fintech is an odd specialism for a steel-belt campus, and it is where the institute's entrepreneurship and skilling activity is concentrated.

On accessibility the submission answers yes or no, and both answers are worth reading literally. Lifts or ramps reach more than 80 per cent of the buildings, purpose-built toilets the same share, and the institute confirms it holds walking aids and wheelchairs and will move a student between buildings where that is needed. More than 80 per cent is not all of them, which is what a campus still being built out zone by zone looks like from the inside.

Hostel

Residence is not a choice at IIT Bhilai. The campus is fully residential and every student is required to live inside it unless the competent authority approves otherwise, and the hostels are named Gopad, Indravati, Kanhar and Shivnath, each with its own warden, associate warden and student representatives. The four names are Chhattisgarh's rivers, which is a small thing that tells you the institute intends to belong to the state rather than merely stand in it.

The residential cost is not a separate bill; it is folded into the semester fee already quoted. Hostel seat rent is ₹2,475 a semester, the establishment fee ₹15,000 and the dining fee ₹21,545, with a ₹500 hostel admission fee, coming to ₹39,520 per monsoon or winter semester and ₹20,950 in the summer term. That block is larger than most families expect and no tuition waiver touches it. Only the SC and ST scholarship above reaches it.

Mess rules are enforced rather than posted. Entry is permitted only during notified meal hours, students eat only in their allotted mess, attendance runs on biometric, QR-based or manual systems, using another student's mess card attracts a fine or disciplinary action, and food may not be taken out of the mess block. The hostel manual is issued bilingually in Hindi and English and carries the wardens' and mess committee's contact details in full, which is a practical detail for a family that will be raising issues from outside Chhattisgarh.

Faculty

Teaching capacity is the number to hold against everything above. IIT Bhilai entered 77 faculty members in its 2025 ranking submission, plus 74 doctoral researchers on full time and 12 on part time. That body teaches 747 undergraduates and 88 taught postgraduates, and is being asked to absorb a sanctioned undergraduate intake that has reached 230, so anyone weighing this campus is partly weighing how fast it hires next.

Doctoral completions are still counted in single figures. The full-time count ran 6 in 2021-22, 1 in 2022-23 and 6 in 2023-24, with part-time completions of 0, 1 and 3 across the same three years. One thesis submission moves a figure that size, so the three-year total says something and the year-to-year swing does not.

Externally funded research is where the growth is unambiguous, and it is the reason the ranking's research parameter has nearly doubled. Sponsored projects brought in ₹41,92,02,539 across 62 projects from 14 funding agencies in 2023-24, against ₹35,37,03,993 from 73 projects in 2022-23 and ₹8,73,12,153 from 49 projects in 2021-22, while consultancy work added ₹6,63,87,508 from 9 projects in 2023-24. Sponsored income grew nearly fivefold in two years. For an undergraduate hunting for laboratory work, that means funded groups to approach rather than a noticeboard to read.

Notable Alumni

IIT Bhilai was established on 7 August 2016, which puts its earliest B.Tech graduates only a few years into their careers. No traceable, verifiable list of well-known former students exists yet, and none will be manufactured here. The placement medians and the recruiter list above say considerably more about where these cohorts have gone than a name list could at this stage.

News & Articles

This institute replaces its documents rather than amending them, which is a trap if you are working from a saved link. Each academic year's fee schedule is issued as a fresh annexure and the previous one is withdrawn, so the fee structure page carries the current B.Tech, M.Sc, M.Tech, PhD and international student sheets together and nothing else. Admission windows behave the same way. The M.Tech portal for the 2026-27 monsoon session opened on 20 March 2026, took applications until 17:00 on 20 April 2026 with shortlisting scheduled for May, and the page now carries a single line saying it is closed. A fee, a deadline or a cut-off taken from anywhere other than those pages should be treated as provisional.

College Compare

The fair comparison set is written into statute. The Institutes of Technology (Amendment) Bill 2016 added six campuses to the IIT Act in one stroke, at Tirupati, Palakkad, Goa, Dharwar, Bhilai and Jammu. Five of the six are in the 2025 engineering table, and one column separates IIT Bhilai from the other four by a distance nothing else here matches.

IIT added by the 2016 amendment, NIRF 2025 engineeringRankScorePerception
IIT Jammu5653.0815.00
IIT Tirupati5752.7326.59
IIT Palakkad6451.2020.87
IIT Bhilai7250.378.47
IIT Dharwad7748.6122.58

A narrow band of overall score covers that whole group, and on teaching, graduation outcomes and outreach IIT Bhilai sits in the middle of it. On perception it does not: its 8.47 sits below IIT Jammu's 15.00, the next lowest, and comes to roughly a third of IIT Tirupati's 26.59. That is the gap an applicant meets outside the campus rather than on it. The sixth name on the statutory list, IIT Goa, is absent from the 2025 engineering table, so this comparison runs over five campuses and not six.

The comparison a Chhattisgarh candidate is actually making runs the other way. National Institute of Technology, Raipur, the state's other centrally funded engineering institution, ranked 86th on 47.59 in the same table, with a teaching score of 54.86 against IIT Bhilai's 76.99 and a research score of 39.87 against IIT Bhilai's 24.97. The two campuses are strong in opposite places. Bhilai teaches with more resource per student and NIT Raipur publishes more, and a candidate should weigh which of those they will actually use over four years alongside the branch each offer is for.

Contact & Location

The postal address is Indian Institute of Technology Bhilai, Bhilai, Chhattisgarh 491002; academic and admission queries go to academics@iitbhilai.ac.in on 0788-2991609, and administration to administration@iitbhilai.ac.in on 0788-2991603. Placement and internship correspondence goes to the Centre for Career Planning and Services at headccps@iitbhilai.ac.in.

Getting there is easier than a rural campus suggests, and the rail connection is the good one. Durg railway station is 5.4 km away, about 15 minutes, and Swami Vivekananda Airport at Mana in Raipur is 54 km, about an hour and a half. Durg junction sits on the Howrah to Nagpur to Mumbai line, and the permanent campus is 5 km from the Great Eastern Highway. A student from eastern or central India can usually reach this campus in one train.

Verified

Approvals & Accreditation

Statutory approvals and accreditation grades from official bodies.

Asking which body accredited IIT Bhilai is asking the wrong question, because the authority is statutory and the institute says so itself when it exercises it. Its M.Tech admission notice opens by describing the institute as one of national importance declared as such under the Institutes of Technology (Amendment) Act 2016, to provide for education and research in engineering, technology, science and arts. Degrees are conferred under that Act. No university affiliates this campus and no state approval sits behind its programmes.

No NAAC grade, no NBA programme accreditation and no AICTE approval are on record for IIT Bhilai, and none of the three is a condition of the degree it grants. That matters practically for a family comparing this offer against a private engineering college with a NAAC A grade on its brochure: the blank here is not a lower score, it is the absence of an instrument that does not apply. The common yardstick between those two campuses is the NIRF parameter table above, not the badge count.

The one independent rating the institute does hold is about the buildings rather than the teaching, and it should be read that way. The master plan of the main campus received a 5-star GRIHA rating, the national green-building benchmark, on the strength of a sustainable development model with tree-lined avenues, pedestrian-first circulation and green spaces planned to reduce the heat island effect. That is a real, checkable third-party assessment of the campus you would live on, and it says nothing about the classroom.

AISHE Code
U-0946

Aid

Scholarships

Four institute schemes sit on top of the tuition waivers already written into the fee sheet, three of them undergraduate and one for master's students, and the interaction between a waiver and an award is where the real number lives.

SchemeWho qualifiesWhat it gives
Merit-cum-Means, capped at 25 per cent of the B.Tech batchGeneral or OBC, parental income up to ₹5 lakh, ₹6 lakh for OBC; CGPA 6.0 and no F grade after the first semesterFull tuition waiver plus ₹1,000 a month for 10 months
Institute SC/ST ScholarshipSC or ST, parental income up to ₹4.5 lakh, same CGPA conditionBasic mess and boarding charges reimbursed plus ₹250 a month
Institute Free Studentship, capped at 10 per cent of the B.Tech batchGeneral up to ₹5 lakh or OBC up to ₹6 lakh, nothing below ₹1 lakh, same CGPA conditionTuition remission of 33.33 per cent, or 100 per cent for OBC candidates in the ₹5 lakh to ₹6 lakh band
Institute Fellowship, postgraduateNon-sponsored M.Tech students holding a valid GATE scoreFellowship for up to 21 months, with 8 hours a week of assigned academic or administrative work

Work one of these through the fee sheet and its true size appears. Start with what the annexure gives away before anybody applies for anything: three notes at its foot strike out tuition entirely for SC, ST and PH students, strike it out again wherever annual family income falls below ₹1 lakh, and cut it by two thirds in the ₹1 lakh to ₹5 lakh band. A merit-cum-means award to a student already under the ₹1 lakh line therefore adds the ₹1,000 monthly stipend and nothing more; to a student in the band above it, the award closes the remaining third. Only the SC and ST scholarship reaches the residential half of the bill. Hostel seat rent, establishment fee and dining fee survive every scheme on the list.

The bill for all that remission lands almost entirely on IIT Bhilai's own budget. 322 of the 747 undergraduates on the roll had tuition met in full out of institute money, against 7 covered by state or central schemes and none by a private body, while 146 had no full waiver from any source. Government support is a rounding error in that column.

Eight named donor awards run alongside, and the institute describes them as gifts from people who backed it in its early days, which several of the dates bear out: the P.K. Jain and GeetAmal Ghosh-Roy awards both start with the 2018-19 session and the R P Singh award with the 2019-20 winter semester.

Donor awardWho it goes toWhat it is worth
P.K. Jain Memorial AwardB.Tech student past the fourth semester who has contributed to the institute₹50,000 and a gold plated silver medal
GeetAmal Ghosh-Roy AwardB.Tech first-year student, parental income ₹4.5 lakh or less₹50,000 in two instalments
K P Jain Higher Education AwardB.Tech student past seven regular semesters with no F grade, intending higher study₹51,000 and a certificate
Gayatri Devi Leadership AwardB.Tech student past six regular semesters, CGPA at least 7, sustained leadership₹11,000 and a gold-plated silver medal
Professor Janardan Choubey Memorial AwardOne B.Tech student past seven semesters and one M.Sc student past three, no F grade₹12,500 each
GSTN-CSR ScholarshipM.Sc students, on means and on JAM rank or CGPA₹12,000 a year in two instalments
Alumni Association's Young Researchers AwardFive undergraduates with exemplary research contribution₹10,000 each
R P Singh Memorial AwardB.Tech student past the second semester with CGPA at least 6.0, for leadership and social work₹10,000 in four instalments, awarded every semester

Voices

Student Reviews

There is no rating on this page, and there will not be one until named IIT Bhilai students stand behind it. An aggregate built from anonymous submissions is unverifiable by anyone, us included, and a made-up score is worse than a blank.

The questions worth putting to a current student here are specific, which is the part that can actually be checked. Whether the summer semester is optional in practice or whether course sequencing pushes you into it. What the mess is like now that entry runs on biometric and QR attendance. Whether a spot round changed the shape of a given M.Tech cohort. How far the campus feels from Durg town on a weekend without a vehicle. Ask a third-year in the discipline you have been allotted; one phone call settles all four.

Questions

Frequently asked questions

At a glance

Quick facts

Established
2016
NIRF 2025 (Engineering)
Rank #72NIRF· 2025-08-14
Website
iitbhilai.ac.in

Get counselling

Tell us what you are looking for and get guidance for your shortlist.

Get counselling
Expertie

Expertie Editorial Team

This page is researched and maintained by the Expertie editorial team, and checked against official sources.

Found something that looks wrong? Email us at editorial@expertie.com.

Last updated