Expertie
Scholarships Get counselling
NATI
governmentCollege

National Institute Of Pharmaceutical Education And Research (niper) - Ahmedabad

Gandhinagar, Gujarat Est. 2007 Official site Updated
NIRF Pharmacy
#21

The counselling grid NIPER Ahmedabad took into 2026-27 has only one column. All 150 masters places were listed with fellowship and not one self financing seat was put on offer, which is true of only one other campus in the system. Over the same stretch its position in the government's Pharmacy table has gone from 10th in 2021 to 21st in 2025 on a score that moved barely a point. Both facts describe the same campus at Palaj, and together they decide whether a preference here is worth converting early.

Overview

This is a seven department postgraduate institute and nothing below that level is taught. It was set up in 2007 under the Department of Pharmaceuticals in the Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers, and the instrument that created it sits on its own governing acts page: a notification of 27 September 2007 establishing the new NIPERs, filed there alongside the parent Act of 1998 and the amendment Act of 3 April 2007. Teaching began with three specialisations, Biotechnology, Natural Products and Pharmaceutics, with Pharmaceutical Analysis, Medicinal Chemistry and Pharmacology and Toxicology added in 2010 and Medical Devices in 2011, on the about page. The director's message is careful about the buildings: the institute has worked from a transient block on its own Gandhinagar site since 2016, with the move to the main campus still ahead of it.

FactDetail
StatusInstitute of National Importance, autonomous under the Department of Pharmaceuticals
MinistryMinistry of Chemicals and Fertilizers
Established2007
CampusOpposite Air Force Station, Palaj, Gandhinagar 382355, Gujarat
On its Gandhinagar site since2016, in a transient block pending the main campus
Levels taughtMasters and doctoral only. No undergraduate intake
DepartmentsSeven
Masters seats offered, 2026-27150, every one of them with fellowship
Institute funded doctoral seats, 2026 round17, plus 2 project funded
NIRF 2025, PharmacyRank 21, score 64.44
DirectorProf. Shailendra Saraf, in post since 12 January 2023

The address argues with the name, and a candidate should settle that before booking anything. The campus stands at Palaj in Gandhinagar district, and the government ranking framework files the institute under Gandhinagar rather than Ahmedabad in its 2025 Pharmacy table. The institute's own route table puts the gate 10.3 km from Gandhinagar railway station and 8.7 km from the Gandhinagar bus stand, against 24.0 km from Ahmedabad airport and 31.6 km from Kalupur railway station in Ahmedabad. You will live in Gandhinagar and travel to Ahmedabad, not the other way round.

Only 38 of the 350 students on the two year postgraduate roll gave a Gujarat address. The other 312 came from outside the state and none from outside the country, on a roll of 188 men and 162 women, with 122 full time doctoral scholars behind them, in the NIRF 2026 data submission the institute publishes on its own site. The same filing puts approved postgraduate intake at 150 for 2024-25 against 200 for 2023-24, so the campus is a quarter smaller than it was two years earlier.

Courses & Fees

Eight disciplines admitted here in the last round and every one of them pays a stipend. The split is five M.S. (Pharm.) subjects and three M.Tech. ones; the M.Pharm. label that Guwahati and Hajipur both use does not appear on the Palaj grid at all, in the NIPER JEE 2026 seat matrix for masters programmes. Read the seat column before the fee table, because the uniformity there is unusual: five disciplines take exactly 20 candidates each.

DegreeDisciplineSeatsFellowship
M.S. (Pharm.)Medicinal Chemistry20With fellowship
M.S. (Pharm.)Natural Products20With fellowship
M.S. (Pharm.)Pharmaceutical Analysis20With fellowship
M.S. (Pharm.)Pharmacology & Toxicology20With fellowship
M.S. (Pharm.)Pharmaceutics20With fellowship
M.Tech.Biotechnology10With fellowship
M.Tech.Medical Devices20With fellowship
M.Tech.Biopharmaceuticals20With fellowship
Total150

Two of those rows are the largest of their kind in the system. Natural Products takes 20 funded places here against 10 at each of Hyderabad, Kolkata and Mohali, the only other campuses that teach it, and Medical Devices takes 20 funded places against 15 at Hyderabad and fewer at every campus that funds it at all, in the same seat matrix. If either subject is what you want, the arithmetic of getting in is better at Palaj than anywhere else.

One degree this institute has run, and still lists, was missing from that grid, and an applicant should not assume it will return. The director's message counts Pharmaceutical Management among eight masters streams, the site keeps a current student roll for M.B.A. (Pharma) covering the 2023-25 and 2022-24 batches, and an alumni roll for the same department. The 2026-27 course availability tables mark this campus absent from M.B.A. (Pharm.) in both the funded and unfunded columns, in the NIPER JEE 2026 Masters information brochure, and only Hyderabad and Mohali carried the degree. Write to the registrar before applying for a management seat here.

The fee table below is one national schedule, printed head by head for all seven campuses, so the only Palaj specific question it raises is which of the starred heads you can avoid.

Fee head, M.S. (Pharm.) and M.Tech.General, OBC, EWSSC, STGovt. or industry sponsored
Admission fee, one time₹5,000₹5,000Not stated separately
Alumni fund, one time₹8,500₹8,500Not stated separately
Hostel admission, one time₹3,496₹3,496Not stated separately
Refundable security, one time₹27,500₹27,500Not stated separately
Placement fee, one time₹4,000₹4,000Not stated separately
One time charges, total₹48,496₹48,496₹75,698
Tuition fee, each semester₹26,022NilNot stated separately
Laboratory fee, each semester₹11,483₹11,483Not stated separately
Electricity, each semester₹5,500₹5,500Not stated separately
Hostel rent, each semester₹4,593₹4,593Not stated separately
Medical and insurance, each semester₹2,500₹2,500Not stated separately
Library fee, each semester₹1,531₹1,531Not stated separately
Registration fee, each semester₹1,392₹1,392Not stated separately
Examination and evaluation, each semester₹1,150₹1,150Not stated separately
Sports, each semester₹1,150₹1,150Not stated separately
Computer contingency, each semester₹1,150₹1,150Not stated separately
Benevolent fund, each semester₹696₹696Not stated separately
Each semester, total₹57,167₹31,145₹92,535
Payable before admission, first semester₹1,05,663₹79,641₹1,68,233

Three heads in that column carry an asterisk and can be removed. A student who does not take hostel accommodation is not required to pay hostel admission at ₹3,496, hostel rent at ₹4,593 or electricity at ₹5,500, per the same brochure. Gandhinagar and Ahmedabad between them are a large enough urban area that a candidate with family in either city can use that clause, and the rent and electricity heads then come off every semester bill for two years rather than once.

Two heads carry almost the whole difference between a doctoral bill and a masters one, and both are about time spent on the campus. Bench work is charged at ₹22,960 a semester where a masters student pays ₹11,483, hostel rent at ₹7,654 against ₹4,593 and hostel admission at ₹5,162 against ₹3,496, in the NIPER JEE 2026 Ph.D. information brochure read beside the Masters information brochure. Add them up and a doctoral admission costs ₹1,22,367 on day one, then ₹71,705 every semester; in the SC and ST column those become ₹96,345 and ₹45,683. A thesis evaluation charge falls due on its own account at submission, in the Ph.D. brochure. A foreign national is billed in dollars instead, 2500 on admission and 1300 each semester after, and cannot claim the hostel waiver even by living off campus, in section 4.1.3 of the Masters information brochure.

Admissions

A candidate applying here has no dealings with this campus until the seat is already theirs. Everything before that belongs to the NIPER JEE office at NIPER Mohali, which sets the question paper, publishes the merit list and runs every counselling round, and Palaj appears in the process only as one preference among the seven NIPERs a candidate orders, per the NIPER JEE 2026 Masters information brochure. Ahmedabad is the first of the 20 test cities listed in that brochure, which spares a Gujarat candidate the travel that a Palaj seat otherwise involves at every other stage.

Two things are checked before the entrance score is looked at, and a high mark rescues neither. The scorecard goes in with the application and the degree is checked against originals at counselling.

Eligibility gateRequirement
Qualifying degree60% in aggregate or CGPA 6.75 on a ten point scale
Relaxed for SC and ST55% or CGPA 6.25
Relaxed for benchmark disabilities50% or CGPA 5.75
National qualificationValid GPAT, GATE, NET or equivalent fellowship scorecard
Requirement waived forB.V.Sc., M.B.B.S., B.A.M.S. and B.D.S. holders, foreign nationals, sponsored candidates
Awaiting final resultEligible if examinations finish by 31 July 2026, on a bonafide certificate and an undertaking on ₹100 stamp paper

Which bachelor's degree you hold decides which of the eight doors opens. Pharmaceutics takes a B.Pharm. and nothing else; Medicinal Chemistry, Natural Products and Pharmaceutical Analysis add an M.Sc. in organic or analytical chemistry; Pharmacology and Toxicology adds B.V.Sc., M.B.B.S. and an M.Sc. in pharmacology; and the two M.Tech. biology streams take B.Tech. and M.Sc. graduates in biotechnology, microbiology and life sciences, all set out discipline by discipline in section 2.1 of the same brochure. Medical Devices is the widest gate on this campus, admitting engineering graduates in biomedical, electronics, instrumentation and mechanical branches as well as four year BS graduates in chemistry, physics, mathematics and computing or data science.

Every date below belongs to the 2026 cycle and to the Mohali office, which is where the next one will appear.

EventDate, NIPER JEE 2026
Online application opens16 April 2026
Last date to apply23 May 2026
Form correction window25 to 26 May 2026
Hall ticket download opens8 June 2026
Computer based test13 June 2026

The form costs ₹4,000, or ₹2,000 for an SC or ST candidate, in the Masters information brochure. What it buys is 150 minutes at a screen: 200 questions in two sections, the first 80 on general English, aptitude, reasoning and general knowledge, the remaining 120 drawn mainly from the B.Pharm. syllabus, each worth 0.5 with 0.125 taken off for a wrong answer. That split is why a B.Pharm. graduate has a structural advantage over an M.Sc. one on this paper, whichever discipline they are aiming at.

What happens after the allotment is decided here, and the institute publishes it plainly. The 2026 batch was told to report on 8 and 9 August 2026 with hostel allotment on the same days, to complete document verification and orientation in Seminar Hall 1 of the new building on 10 August, and to start classes on 11 August, in the reporting and orientation notice issued by the registrar. That notice names the M.S. (Pharm.), M.Tech. and Ph.D. programmes and no others.

A doctoral candidate is ranked on the same national paper, weighted at 85%, with an interview supplying the other 15% and no remote option for it, in the NIPER JEE 2026 Ph.D. information brochure. That interview sits at NIPER Mohali, so a Gujarat applicant travels to Punjab for the smaller part of the decision and never meets the Palaj department that would supervise the work. The institute's own announcements page carries no direct doctoral advertisement of the kind some sibling campuses run.

Cutoff

No closing rank exists for this institute to quote. Seats here are filled off a single national merit list, and the score at which each of Palaj's eight queues closed is never published, by this campus or by the counselling office. Any category wise cutoff table you find for it has been assembled by the site showing it to you.

The counselling office does publish something better before each round, and the Ahmedabad page of those sheets shows exactly which queues emptied and in what order.

Counselling stageAhmedabad seats still vacantCategory split of what was left
Going into phase II33, plus 6 held for candidates with disabilities19 SC, 7 ST, 6 unreserved, 1 OBC, no EWS
Going into phase III105 SC and 5 ST, nothing else
Going into phase IV3All three ST, in Medicinal Chemistry, Natural Products and Medical Devices

Read the first row across the categories rather than down the total, because the order is startling. Against 37 OBC seats in the original grid, exactly 1 was left after the first phase; not one of the 8 EWS seats survived it; and of 76 unreserved seats, 6 remained. Against that, all 7 ST seats and 19 of the 22 SC seats were still open, on the phase II sheet set beside the original seat matrix. At this campus the OBC queue behaved like the general queue and the reserved queues behaved like nothing else in the system.

The practical instruction differs by the column you are in. An unreserved, OBC or EWS candidate who wants Palaj has to convert the offer in the first phase, since almost nothing in those columns survived it. An SC or ST candidate had live chances into the third round, and an ST candidate still had a choice of three disciplines in the fourth, on the phase IV sheet. Six of the seven supernumerary seats held for candidates with benchmark disabilities were also still open going into phase II and had filled by phase III.

Placements

Two documents describe the same graduating batch and they do not say the same thing, which is the first thing to understand about the numbers here. The institute's own placement cell page reports 98.6% placement for the 2023-25 batch; its ranking filing records 154 of 195 students placed for the same year, in the NIRF 2026 data submission. The denominator explains most of the gap, because the rate is taken on the 157 students who opted for placement rather than on the 195 who graduated. It does not explain all of it: 154 out of 157 does not divide out to the 98.6% printed beside it on that same page, so trust the counts ahead of the percentage.

BatchTotal studentsOpted for higher studiesOpted for placementPlacedInstitute's stated rate
2019-2110722858498.8%
2020-221422511711598.3%
2021-231512712412399.2%
2022-241642813612390.4%
2023-251953815715498.6%
2024-2615031119106, ongoing89.07%, ongoing

The pay is the line that has not moved. Median salary for placed graduates was ₹4,96,000 for the 2021-22 cohort, ₹4,50,000 for 2022-23, ₹5,00,000 for 2023-24 and ₹4,50,000 again for 2024-25, in the NIRF 2025 and NIRF 2026 data submissions. Four cycles, no direction, and the most recent figure sits below the oldest. The institute's own about page calls Gujarat the hub of the pharma industry, and on this evidence that proximity has not yet shown up in what its leavers are paid.

One batch is reported two different ways and it is worth knowing which document to trust. For the 2022-24 cohort the placement page shows 123 placed and 28 going to higher studies, while the NIRF 2026 data submission records 132 placed and 12 in higher study out of 163 who finished on time. Every other batch that appears in both documents agrees to the student. The ranking filing is the one submitted to a government body under the institute's own signature, so it is the safer of the two to plan against.

No written recruiter list appears anywhere on the placement cell page. The panel there is a strip of logos, and the only firm quantity beside it is the institute's statement that 20 to 25 companies come for campus recruitment each year. Named destinations do exist, on the home page rather than the placement page, where a student placement corner pairs recent graduates with the employers who took them: Aculife, Aragen Life Sciences, Dishman Carbogen Amcis, Intas Pharma, Macleods Pharma, Sun Pharma, Alceon Medtech Consulting, Ami Life Sciences, Baxter Pharmaceuticals and Core RX. Ten names against a year in which 154 graduates were placed is an illustration rather than a placement report, and it is the only employer detail this institute puts in writing.

Seat Matrix

The grid is unusually flat, and the flatness is the point. Five of the eight disciplines take exactly 20 candidates with an identical category split, and there is no second block anywhere for seats without a fellowship.

DisciplineTotalURSCSTOBCEWS
M.S. (Pharm.) Medicinal Chemistry20103151
M.S. (Pharm.) Natural Products20103151
M.S. (Pharm.) Pharmaceutical Analysis20103151
M.S. (Pharm.) Pharmacology & Toxicology20103151
M.S. (Pharm.) Pharmaceutics20103151
M.Tech. Biotechnology1061021
M.Tech. Medical Devices20103151
M.Tech. Biopharmaceuticals20103151
Total15076227378

Seven seats with fellowship sit above that grid for candidates with benchmark disabilities, in the same matrix. Three supernumerary entitlements sit outside the 150 as well, and all three are set nationally: sponsorship by a government department, research organisation, public sector undertaking or reputed private pharmaceutical firm carries 5%, foreign nationals holding OCI or PIO cards carry a further 5%, and the benchmark disability category carries not less than 3%, per section 2.3 of the Masters information brochure.

Seventeen institute funded doctoral places went to Palaj in the 2026 round, and they are concentrated rather than spread: Medicinal Chemistry and Medical Devices hold 5 each, Biotechnology 3, Pharmacology and Toxicology 2, and Natural Products and Pharmaceutics one apiece, in the NIPER JEE 2026 Ph.D. seat matrix. Two more are project funded and run two years, one in Biotechnology and one in Medical Devices. Only Mohali was given a larger doctoral block, at 30.

Sanctioned strength and offered seats are different quantities and both circulate as this institute's size. The ranking filing records approved intake of 150 for 2024-25 where 2023-24 carried 200, in the NIRF 2026 data submission. That is a ceiling on what the campus may hold, not an offer to applicants; the grid above is what was actually put in front of them, and this year the two happen to land on the same number.

Rankings

Rank 21 on a score of 64.44 is where the government's 2025 Pharmacy table leaves this institute, in the 2025 ranking. Nothing else in Gujarat came close: the next name from the state sits eleven places below it.

NIRF Pharmacy yearRankOverall score
20211063.30
20221067.83
20231364.24
20241564.89
20252164.44

Those two columns tell opposite stories and the second one is the honest reading. The score in 2025 is marginally higher than the score in 2021, so on its own measurements the institute is roughly where it was; the rank has fallen eleven places over the same five tables, which means the field around it improved and it did not. Nothing collapsed in any single year either. The sequence reads 10th, 10th, 13th, 15th, 21st.

NIRF Pharmacy parameter20212025
Teaching, Learning and Resources73.1874.17
Research and Professional Practice51.4150.01
Graduation Outcomes73.8579.72
Outreach and Inclusivity65.4163.68
Perception46.2548.80
Overall63.3064.44

One parameter carried what gain there was and another has quietly given back a peak. Graduation Outcomes went from 73.85 in the 2021 table to 79.72 in the 2025 table, much the largest movement on the card and the one that fits a campus which finishes almost everyone it admits. Teaching, Learning and Resources reached 86.29 in the 2022 table and has fallen in every edition since, to 74.17 in 2025, which leaves it barely above where it started. The two lowest scores on the 2025 card are Perception at 48.80 and Research and Professional Practice at 50.01, and for an institute whose entire intake is a research degree the second of those is the one to raise at a departmental interview.

One claim on the institute's own site no longer matches the framework's tables. The director's message states that the institute has achieved a place in the top 10 pharmacy institutes of the country for the last three years in the NIRF ranking. The published tables put it 13th in 2023, 15th in 2024 and 21st in 2025. The page appears to date from the years when it was true.

NIRF Pharmacy 2025
Rank #21· Score 64.44NIRF· 2025-08-14
#21

Departments

Seven departments carry all the teaching, and seven of the eight disciplines that admitted candidates this year map straight onto one of them. Biotechnology, Natural Products, Pharmaceutics, Medicinal Chemistry, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Pharmaceutical Analysis and Medical Devices are the seven, on the departments page, and the about page dates them: three from 2007, three from 2010 and Medical Devices from 2011.

The eighth discipline is where the map breaks. M.Tech. Biopharmaceuticals took 20 funded seats in the last round, in the NIPER JEE 2026 seat matrix, yet no department of that name appears on the institute's own list, and the national brochure's description of this campus names the same seven departments, in the Masters information brochure. Ask which department will house you before you accept a Biopharmaceuticals allotment.

The doctoral seats do not spread evenly across those seven either, and one omission matters if you plan to stay on. Six departments were given institute funded doctoral places in the 2026 round and Pharmaceutical Analysis was given none, in the Ph.D. seat matrix, even though it is one of the five disciplines admitting 20 masters candidates a year, in the masters seat matrix. Medicinal Chemistry and Medical Devices, with 5 doctoral seats each, are where the research pipeline at this campus is being widened.

Facilities & Infrastructure

The instrument park here is run as a paid service, not just as a teaching resource, and the rate card tells you how seriously it is taken. The Central Instruments Facility publishes charges for outside users through an online booking system, on its instrument list and charges page, with two columns: one for industry and one for institutes. Most heads split cleanly down the middle, so an HRMS-MS run on the LC-MS-QTOF is ₹10,000 for a company and ₹5,000 for an institute, and FTIR, ATR, GC and quantitative HPLC all halve the same way. Two heads cut deeper than half. A proton NMR run on the 500 MHz Avance NEO is ₹2,000 against ₹800, and an FE-SEM sample is ₹7,000 against ₹1,500, all before GST. Charging outside users for beam time imposes a maintenance discipline that a purely teaching laboratory never has to meet.

Two dedicated biology facilities sit alongside it and both are described in detail rather than in a brochure line. The animal house covers 2,800 square feet with half the area given to animal care and behavioural studies, can hold around 1,500 animals, runs Wistar and Sprague Dawley rats and Balb C, Swiss albino, ICR and C57BL/6 mice in individually ventilated cages, and is built on a two way corridor system to cut cross contamination, on the institutional facilities page. The animal tissue culture facility is used by more than 50 doctoral and masters students across departments, and holds a cell line repository of mammalian cancer, murine primary and non cancerous lines alongside a hypoxia workstation, a flow cytometer with sorter, a mechanical bioreactor and a tissue dissociator, on its own page.

FacilityWhat is there
Library1,304 theses and dissertations, 199 bound journal volumes, 19 print journals, ONOS e-journals from 30 publishers, RFID issue and return, Turnitin, Reaxys and the Dictionary of Natural Products
Computer centre100 Mbps dedicated leased line, licensed Schrodinger for QSAR and molecular modelling, SPSS, an electronic laboratory notebook, Wi-Fi in classrooms, seminar rooms, faculty rooms, the library and the laboratories
Hostel connectivityRound the clock internet in every hostel room, listed separately from the campus Wi-Fi
Sports complexEstablished September 2017, with badminton, volleyball, basketball and lawn tennis courts under floodlights
Instrumentation500 MHz NMR, LC-MS/Q-TOF, GC-MS/MS, cryo FE-SEM, confocal microscope, RT-PCR, HPLC with UV, RI and ELSD detection, universal testing machine, hot melt extruder, rheometer, Malvern Zetasizer, FDM 3D printer, electrospinning rig, microtome, tablet punching machine

The accounts show where the money went, and one line jumps. Sponsored research income rose from ₹2,00,05,655 across 29 projects in 2023-24 to ₹26,33,37,410 across 22 projects in 2024-25, while spending on new laboratory equipment went from ₹1,00,73,481 to ₹1,60,62,755 and other capital assets excluding land and buildings from ₹66,33,164 to ₹9,52,42,853, in the NIRF 2026 data submission. Sponsored income rising by an order of magnitude on a shrinking project count means one or two very large awards landed, and the timing fits the medical devices centre notified the year before.

Consultancy moves the other way and says something about the client base. The institute ran 73 consultancy projects for 36 client organisations in 2024-25, against 51 projects for 47 clients in 2023-24, and the money fell from ₹51,45,679 to ₹43,30,039 over the same pair of years, in the same filing. More jobs, fewer customers, less revenue: repeat work for a smaller set of firms, which is what a testing facility looks like once it has regulars.

The accessibility answers have not moved between filings. Both the NIRF 2026 and the NIRF 2025 return put lifts or ramps above the 80% threshold, put specially designed toilets there too, and record wheelchairs and transport between blocks as available. That is a campus average on a site still adding buildings, so ask which block your department occupies.

Hostel

Two institute documents describe the accommodation differently and the difference is a daily commute. The national brochure says the Gandhinagar campus has an on campus boys' and girls' hostel, in the Masters information brochure; the institute's own facilities page says the separate boys' and girls' hostels are in the nearby locality and that transport is provided for students residing in them. Ask the registrar which of the two describes the block you would be allotted, because it changes how late you can stay in a laboratory.

Hostel chargeMastersPh.D.
Hostel admission, one time₹3,496₹5,162
Hostel rent, each semester₹4,593₹7,654
Electricity, each semester₹5,500₹5,500

A room is not attached to the seat. Accommodation is offered on the availability of rooms, including shared accommodation, in section 4.7 of the Masters information brochure, which is why hostel allotment was scheduled for the two reporting days in the Batch 2026 notice rather than confirmed in advance. What a room provides is a bed, chair, study table and cupboard, round the clock internet, 24 hour CCTV surveillance, day and night security, housekeeping and a mess, on the facilities page, which also records that a gymnasium is being installed at the hostel premises after the move to Gandhinagar ended an earlier arrangement with a sports academy in Ahmedabad.

Faculty

Four people joined this campus inside four weeks, and that burst is the most recent thing on the record. Dr Reena Rajput arrived on 8 December 2025, Dr Prabhat Upadhyay on 9 December 2025, Dr Neha Patel on 31 December 2025 and Dr Rajesh Vasita on 1 January 2026, in the NIRF 2026 data submission. Anyone joining the 2026 batch will be taught partly by people who arrived months before them.

Set that against the direction of travel and the picture is less cheerful. That same NIRF 2026 data submission numbers 28 faculty entries, all holding doctorates, of whom one had already left and one is visiting, while the NIRF 2025 submission a year earlier records 40 faculty members entered. The faculty page sorts the standing bench into seven professors, ten associate professors and eight assistant professors, adds one more entry carrying an industry title rather than an academic rank, and shows no visiting appointment at all, which the filing does.

The gender balance inverts between the two ends of the corridor. Women are 162 of the 350 postgraduates on the roll and 5 of the 28 faculty entries, in the NIRF 2026 data submission, and the faculty page puts all five in Medicinal Chemistry, Pharmaceutics and Biotechnology. If a woman supervisor matters to you, four of the seven departments currently have none to offer.

The institute is led by Prof. Shailendra Saraf, who has headed it since 12 January 2023 in the same filing, and who is also named as Director on the contact page of NIPER Hyderabad. A directorship held across two campuses in two states is worth knowing about before you write to that office expecting a quick answer. The national brochure states that NIPER-A faculty appear in the Elsevier list of the world's top 2% scientists in the pharmacology and pharmacy category, in the Masters information brochure, though it names none of them.

Notable Alumni

No graduate is singled out anywhere on this website, and no honours list survives on it either: the achievements page returns nothing at all. What stands in its place is a directory, and for anyone doing due diligence a directory is worth more than a hall of fame.

Full alumni rolls are online, filterable by year of passing and by department, and they run to twelve pages for the masters degree alone, on the M.S. (Pharma) alumni page, with separate rolls for the M.B.A. (Pharma) and doctoral programmes. Every entry carries a roll number encoding the batch and the department. The most recent ceremony on record is the twelfth convocation, in the photo gallery, and the doctoral school produced 10 graduates in 2024-25, 10 in 2023-24 and 11 in 2022-23, in the NIRF 2026 data submission. Search a professional network by the roll number prefix for the department you are considering and you will reach someone who did exactly the degree you are weighing up.

News & Articles

The noticeboard here is thin and administrative, which is itself a signal about how much of this institute's life is published. Three items stood on the announcements page in late August 2026: the reporting and orientation programme for the 2026 batch, posted on 14 July 2026; the bilingual holiday list for 2026, posted on 2 December 2025; and an invitation to start ups to enter Eureka! 2025, described there as Asia's largest business model competition, posted on 5 August 2025.

The rest of the year is told in pictures rather than press notes. The home page leads on the Visitor's Conference 2025, a visit by the Union Minister for Chemicals and Fertilizers and Health and Family Welfare, the 12th convocation ceremony, and the inauguration of a new building by the Union Home Minister and Minister of Cooperation. Student research is the one thread that runs consistently through it: the same page records a doctoral student selected for the 74th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting in 2025, and two others funded through the Biopharma Incubation Center under Gujarat state start up schemes.

College Compare

Inside Gujarat the comparison is short, because the ranked field is small and the rest of it sits a long way below.

NIRF 2025 Pharmacy, Gujarat entriesRankCityScore
National Institute of Pharmaceutical Education and Research Ahmedabad21Gandhinagar64.44
Nirma University32Ahmedabad57.08
Parul University41Vadodara54.89
L. M. College of Pharmacy45Ahmedabad53.66
Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda46Vadodara53.45
Gujarat Technological University58Ahmedabad49.72
Ramanbhai Patel College of Pharmacy98Anand41.56

Look at the city column rather than the rank column and the geography joke sharpens. Three of the seven ranked Gujarat entries are in Ahmedabad city itself and the one carrying Ahmedabad in its name is not among them. Nothing else in the state matches its position, and a student who wants postgraduate pharmaceutical research without leaving Gujarat has one obvious address and a long drop to the second.

Comparing Palaj with its six namesakes is a different exercise, because one brochure fixes the paper, the fee heads and the ₹12,400 stipend for all seven. What is left to compare is what each campus actually put on the grid, and two things separate this one. Start with funding: only Palaj and Guwahati sent a 2026-27 grid to counselling with nothing at all in the without fellowship column, in the seat availability tables of the Masters information brochure. Five of the other six print at least one unfunded row, so an offer from Mohali, Hajipur, Hyderabad, Kolkata or Raebareli can land with no stipend attached to it. An offer from here cannot. Then take discipline: Natural Products narrows the field to four campuses, while Traditional Medicine, Pharmacy Practice, Regulatory Affairs, Pharmacoinformatics and any M.Pharm. degree rule this one out entirely, in the same brochure.

Contact & Location

Two desks answer for this institute and neither of them touches your entrance exam. Academic questions go to the Dean and administrative ones to the Registrar; anything about the paper, the merit list or a counselling round belongs to the NIPER JEE office at Mohali until an allotment exists.

ContactDetail
AddressNIPER Ahmedabad, Opposite Air Force Station, Palaj, Gandhinagar 382355, Gujarat
Landline+91 079 65181200
Academic mattersDean, dean.nipera@niperahm.ac.in
Administrative mattersRegistrar, registrar@niperahm.ac.in
Student cellstudent.cell@niperahm.res.in
Placement cellplacementcell@niperahm.res.in
Instrument bookingsinstruments@niperahm.res.in
Visiting hours09:30 AM to 5:30 PM on working days

The neighbourhood is the argument the institute makes for the address, and the industry half of it holds up. The campus sits on the Palaj stretch past IIT Gandhinagar on every route the institute publishes from Ahmedabad, in its route table, and the Masters information brochure names Zydus Lifesciences, Sahjanand Medical Technologies, Intas Pharmaceuticals, Sun Pharma and Green Surgicals among its industry collaborators, most of them Gujarat firms. The academic list in the same brochure runs the other way, from IIT Gandhinagar, SVNIT Surat and the Gujarat Biotechnology Research Centre out to INSERM in France, De Montfort University in the United Kingdom and the University of Prince Edward Island in Canada, so do not expect a purely local research network. The placement committee is reachable directly, chaired by Dr. Siddheshwar Chauthe with Dr. Derajram Beniwal and Dr. Neha Patel, on the placement cell page.

Verified

Approvals & Accreditation

Statutory approvals and accreditation grades from official bodies.

Neither NAAC nor NBA has assessed this institute, and neither was ever going to. Its authority comes from statute, and the file is published rather than summarised: the governing acts page carries the NIPER Act of 1998 with its gazette registration DL-33004/98 of 26 June 1998, the amendment Act of 3 April 2007, the notification of 27 September 2007 that established the new NIPERs including this one, the amendment Act of 20 December 2021 and the notification bringing it into force on 1 June 2022, alongside the statutes, the ordinance and the Council rules made under them.

What this campus does hold are three approvals attached to facilities rather than to the institution, and each is worth more than a grade to a particular kind of applicant. The Department of Pharmaceuticals recognised NIPER Ahmedabad as a Centre of Excellence in Medical Devices through a notification in the Gazette of India on 16 August 2023, aligned to the Promotion of Research and Innovation in Pharma MedTech scheme, on the centre's page. The animal facility carries registration 1945/GO/Rebi/S/17/CPCSEA and is cleared for breeding as well as for educational research, which is why it keeps its own colonies rather than buying animals in, on the institutional facilities page. And the incubator is funded under the BioNEST scheme of the Biotechnology Industry Research Assistance Council in the Department of Biotechnology, on the Biopharma Incubation Center page. If your work needs live animals, a device testing route or a start up, ask about those three by name.

AISHE Code
S-17498

Aid

Scholarships

There is no scholarship form to fill in here, and no shortlist to make, because the payment is attached to the seat itself. ₹12,400 a month goes to every Indian national holding one of these seats, and it is tied to a grade line rather than to need: a CGPA at or above 6.00 keeps it, and a CGPA between 5.50 and 6.00 freezes it until the number climbs back, in section 4.2 of the NIPER JEE 2026 Masters information brochure. What is unusual at Palaj is coverage rather than rate: since the counselling grid carried no seat outside the fellowship column, that payment reaches the whole masters intake instead of a share of it, and the only variable left is the grade condition.

Tuition relief is a separate and much narrower net than the stipend, and the filing shows how narrow. Institute funds carried the whole tuition bill for 76 students, state and central government money for another 20, and private bodies for nobody, in the NIRF 2026 data submission. Set those against the 153 students the same filing marks as socially challenged and the 125 it marks as economically backward, and against the 182 who received no full reimbursement from any source. An SC or ST admit gets more out of the zero in the tuition row of the fee table than out of any of those schemes, and that zero is applied without an application.

Doctoral money runs on a longer clock and a higher bar. A scholar's institute fellowship comes from the Department of Pharmaceuticals, stops at four years whatever stage the thesis has reached, has to be renewed each year on progress and conduct, holds only above a CGPA of 6.50, and buys 8 hours of assistance to the institute every week, in section 4.2 of the NIPER JEE 2026 Ph.D. information brochure.

Voices

Student Reviews

The only first hand assessment this institute publishes comes from employers rather than students. A recruiter feedback panel on the placement cell page records that its graduates are technically sound with good analysis and problem solving skills, and that a few were ambitious enough to leave within a year of joining for further study or a better job. No student testimonial appears anywhere on the site, and the star ratings collected elsewhere rest on a few dozen volunteered entries against the roll of 350 postgraduates in its NIRF 2026 data submission, which is not a sample that supports a decimal point.

Three questions do the work a rating cannot, and each turns on something particular to Palaj. If your allotment is in Biopharmaceuticals, ask which department will physically house you, since none of that name is listed. Ask whether your discipline runs a doctorate here, because Pharmaceutical Analysis was given no doctoral seat in the last round despite taking 20 masters candidates. And ask where the hostel actually stands and how its transport runs, since the institute's own facilities page and the national brochure do not agree on whether it is on the campus.

Questions

Frequently asked questions

References

Sources

  1. Official website – niperahm.ac.in
  2. NIPER JEE 2026 masters seat matrix – niper.gov.in
  3. NIRF 2025 ranking – nirfindia.org
  4. contact page of NIPER Hyderabad – niperhyd.ac.in

At a glance

Quick facts

Established
2007
NIRF 2025 (Pharmacy)
Rank #21NIRF· 2025-08-14
Website
niperahm.ac.in

Get counselling

Tell us what you are looking for and get guidance for your shortlist.

Get counselling
Expertie

Expertie Editorial Team

This page is researched and maintained by the Expertie editorial team, and checked against official sources.

Found something that looks wrong? Email us at editorial@expertie.com.

Last updated