Birla Institute Of Technology & Sciences, Pilani
A B.Pharm. seat at the Pilani campus closed at 168 marks in the 2025 admission session. Computer science on the same campus, at exactly the same fee, closed at 304. The programme with the lower entry bar is the one the Ministry of Education places second in India, while the engineering side everyone competes for sits eleventh. Both figures are published by BITS Pilani itself and by the ministry's own ranking tables, not compiled by anyone in between.
Overview
Birla Institute of Technology and Science, Pilani is a privately funded Institution Deemed to be University in Pilani, a town in Rajasthan's Jhunjhunu district, and it was set up in technical collaboration with MIT in the United States under a Ford Foundation grant before being deemed a university in 1964 (BITS Pilani, Pilani campus). Its degrees are its own, which is why it runs its own entrance test and, on its own statement, offers no quota of any kind (BITS Pilani placements).
The name covers four campuses. Pilani is the original; K K Birla Goa and Hyderabad take the same first-degree programmes on the same fee sheet, and Dubai runs a separate list. One caution governs every number below. What BITS files with the Ministry of Education is a single institutional return, counting 10,777 students on four-year undergraduate programmes alone (NIRF 2025 university data return), where the Pilani campus is fully residential and houses around 4,500 students (BITS Pilani, Pilani campus). That return therefore reaches well past Pilani, so read a median salary or a faculty headcount here as the institution, not as one campus. Cutoffs are the exception, because BITS publishes those campus by campus, and the campus in the facilities and hostel sections further down is Pilani.
Rajasthan supplies very little of that roll. Just 1,978 of those four-year undergraduates gave a home-state address against 8,398 from other states and 401 from abroad, roughly four out-of-state students for every one from Rajasthan (NIRF 2025 university data return). Another 1,140 sit on five-year programmes and 1,634 on two-year postgraduate ones, with 1,651 full-time and 475 part-time research scholars above them.
Five separate national tables carry this institute in 2025, and it is placed differently on each: 2nd in pharmacy, 7th among universities, 11th in engineering, 16th overall and 18th in research (NIRF 2025 pharmacy ranking, university ranking, engineering ranking, overall ranking, research ranking). Reading only the engineering line, which is what most applicants do, misses the list on which this institute does best.
Courses & Fees
Three campuses in India teach the same integrated first degrees, and the fee is identical at all three. For the 2026-27 intake, tuition is Rs 2,91,500 a semester at Pilani, K K Birla Goa and Hyderabad alike, with a one-time admission fee of Rs 64,100 on top (schedule of fees, 2026-27). Where you get in changes what you pay only by way of travel.
| First-degree fee head, 2026-27, all three Indian campuses | Amount |
|---|---|
| Admission fee, one time | Rs 64,100 |
| Semester tuition fee, first semester | Rs 2,91,500 |
| Semester tuition fee, second semester | Rs 2,91,500 |
| Summer term fee, if registered | Rs 1,02,000 |
| Hostel fee, per semester, on-campus students | Rs 36,000 |
| Hostel fee, summer term | Rs 18,000 |
| Mess and electricity advance, per semester, adjustable | Rs 10,000 |
| Other advances, per semester, adjustable | Rs 12,000 |
| Student's Union fee, a year | Rs 450 |
| Student's Aid Fund, a year | Rs 225 |
| Institute caution deposit, refundable | Rs 3,000 |
What is unusual is that the rise is published years ahead rather than announced each June. A student joining in 2026-27 is shown the tuition for every year of the degree in advance, and every year of it is higher than the one before.
| Academic year of the semester | Semester tuition fee | Summer term fee |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-27 | Rs 2,91,500 | Rs 1,02,000 |
| 2027-28 | Rs 3,06,000 | Rs 1,07,100 |
| 2028-29 | Rs 3,21,500 | Rs 1,12,500 |
| 2029-30 | Rs 3,37,500 | Rs 1,18,100 |
| 2030-31 | Rs 3,54,500 | Rs 1,24,100 |
Two lines on that sheet catch families out. The summer term is charged at 35 per cent of the semester tuition of the same year, and it is not part of every student's calendar, so it appears on some bills and not others. Separately, a single-degree student who registers for Practice School II inside a semester pays that semester's fee plus the previous year's summer term fee, because the placement runs longer than a semester and spills into the summer (schedule of fees). Adding a minor to an ongoing degree costs another Rs 34,000 in 2026-27, paid as Rs 17,000 on admission to the minor and Rs 17,000 on completion.
Doctoral study is priced in a different bracket altogether. A full-time PhD scholar pays an admission fee of Rs 10,000 and Rs 29,150 a semester, one tenth of the first-degree tuition, with a thesis examination fee of Rs 15,000; a part-time scholar pays Rs 58,300 for the first semester and Rs 55,000 for the second (admission modality, first degree, 2026-27). Master's programmes get no such relief: an M.E. or M.Pharm. student pays the same Rs 2,91,500 a semester as an undergraduate.
Beyond the B.E., B.Pharm. and M.Sc. list, the Pilani campus runs M.E. programmes across computer science, microelectronics, embedded systems, design engineering, manufacturing systems, software systems, communication engineering and several civil and chemical specialisations, three M.Pharm. streams in pharmaceutics, pharmaceutical chemistry and pharmacology, an MBA in Business Analytics, a Master in Public Health and doctoral programmes (BITS Pilani, Pilani campus).
Admissions
For an Indian passport holder there is one way in, and it is not JEE. BITSAT, the institute's own computer-based test, is the only mode of admission to any integrated first-degree programme for domestic students, the single exception being the Board Topper's Scheme (admission modality, first degree, 2026-27). No JoSAA round, no CSAB round and no state counselling authority touches a BITS seat.
Four routes exist in all. BITSAT is the main one. The Board Topper's Scheme admits the first-rank holder of each central and state board to the programme of their choice whatever their BITSAT score. The International Students Admission scheme is open only to holders of a non-Indian passport with a SAT score of at least 1160 out of 1600, taken no earlier than 1 February 2024, under institution code 7759 (admission modality, first degree, 2026-27). The 2+2 collaborative programmes with RMIT in Australia, Iowa State, the University at Buffalo, CentraleSupélec Paris and Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute are also filled on BITSAT merit, with the last two years of the four spent abroad.
Eligibility is a hard floor rather than a weighting. A candidate needs an aggregate of 75 per cent across physics, chemistry and mathematics in Class 12 with at least 60 per cent in each of the three, and only the latest board attempt is considered, so an earlier and better result counts for nothing (admission modality, first degree, 2026-27). Candidates who take biology in place of mathematics in BITSAT can apply only to B.Pharm., B.E. Environmental and Sustainability Engineering and M.Sc. Biological Sciences, which is worth knowing before the subject is chosen at the test stage.
Applications with Class 12 marks and programme preferences ran from 27 April to 1 June 2026 for the 2026-27 cycle. Allotment then runs as computer-processed iterations against a single merit list, with two options a candidate can exercise after an offer: freezing the programme and campus for a nominal Rs 10, or freezing only the campus, for Rs 11, which keeps higher preferences at that campus alive and permanently kills the ones at the other two. Both decisions are final. Once a candidate reports at a campus, that campus cannot be changed for the rest of the degree, though one inter-campus transfer of a single semester is permitted later, including to Dubai.
Ties are broken on the BITSAT mathematics score, or on the biology score for a candidate who sat that paper instead, then physics, then chemistry, then the total positive aggregate, and after that by preferring the female candidate, with the older application ranked higher if the tie somehow survives.
Postgraduate entry splits its seats in two. For M.E. and M.Pharm. programmes, which need a minimum of 60 per cent in the qualifying degree, the institute prepares two merit lists and fills a maximum of 50 per cent of seats from GATE or GPAT scores and the other 50 per cent from its own BITS HD Test, moving unfilled places from one list to the other (admission modality, first degree, 2026-27). M.E. Software Systems is the exception and is filled only through the HD Test. The MBA in Business Analytics asks instead for a bachelor's degree of at least three years in any discipline with 60 per cent aggregate, plus at least one subject in mathematics or statistics at Class 12 or above (admission modality, first degree, 2026-27).
Cutoff
BITS publishes closing scores, not closing ranks, and it publishes them itself for every programme and campus. The table below is the final set for the 2025-2026 admission session, in which BITSAT was marked out of a maximum of 390 (past BITSAT cut-off scores).
| Programme, 2025-2026 closing BITSAT score | Pilani | K K Birla Goa | Hyderabad |
|---|---|---|---|
| B.E. Computer Science | 304 | 274 | 270 |
| B.E. Mathematics and Computing | 295 | 268 | 266 |
| B.E. Electronics and Communication | 285 | 255 | 256 |
| B.E. Electronics and Computer | Not offered | 262 | Not offered |
| B.E. Electrical and Electronics | 260 | 243 | 239 |
| B.E. Electronics and Instrumentation | 250 | 234 | 232 |
| M.Sc. Economics | 251 | 237 | 231 |
| M.Sc. Semiconductor and Nanoscience | 239 | 225 | 225 |
| B.E. Mechanical | 235 | 223 | 214 |
| M.Sc. Mathematics | 229 | 216 | 212 |
| M.Sc. Physics | 223 | 212 | 209 |
| M.Sc. Chemistry | 212 | 205 | 203 |
| B.E. Manufacturing | 211 | Not offered | Not offered |
| B.E. Chemical | 210 | 206 | 205 |
| M.Sc. Biological Sciences | 208 | 203 | 203 |
| B.E. Civil | 206 | Not offered | 203 |
| B.E. Environmental and Sustainability | 203 | 189 | 181 |
| B.Pharm. | 168 | Not offered | 151 |
The range inside a single campus is what that table is really showing. Pilani computer science and Pilani pharmacy carry the same fee sheet, the same hostel and the same degree-awarding body, and the scores that open them are nowhere near each other.
The two ends of that table have not travelled the same way. Pilani computer science went 320, then 331, then 327, then 304, finishing below where it started; B.Pharm. at Pilani went 125, 153, 165, 168 over the same sessions, rising in every one of them (past BITSAT cut-off scores).
| Pilani campus, closing BITSAT score | 2022-2023 | 2023-2024 | 2024-2025 | 2025-2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| B.E. Computer Science | 320 | 331 | 327 | 304 |
| B.E. Electronics and Communication | 279 | 296 | 314 | 285 |
| B.E. Mechanical | 223 | 244 | 266 | 235 |
| B.E. Chemical | 191 | 224 | 247 | 210 |
| B.Pharm. | 125 | 153 | 165 | 168 |
Two cautions belong with any of these figures. BITSAT was marked out of 450 until 2021 and out of 390 from the 2022-2023 session onward (past BITSAT cut-off scores), so an older score cannot be read against a recent one. And a published cutoff is the last score admitted, not a promise: where more candidates sit on one score than there are seats, the institute applies a bracketing rule and separates them on their physics, chemistry and mathematics marks.
Placements
BITS has filed three years of hiring data with the Ministry of Education, and the picture is a high median with a stubborn unplaced fraction rather than a clean sweep. Of 2,883 students finishing the four-year programmes in 2023-24, 2,554 were placed and 310 went on to higher study, at a median salary of Rs 17,70,000 (NIRF 2025 university data return).
| Four-year undergraduate cohort | 2021-22 | 2022-23 | 2023-24 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Students graduating in minimum stipulated time | 2,908 | 2,931 | 2,883 |
| Students placed | 2,555 | 2,508 | 2,554 |
| Median salary of placed graduates | Rs 18,00,000 | Rs 18,96,000 | Rs 17,70,000 |
| Students selected for higher studies | 110 | 299 | 310 |
| Three years of placement rows as BITS filed them in IR-O-U-0391, its NIRF 2025 university return to the Ministry of Education. |
Filtered to engineering alone the median is a little higher, at Rs 18,00,000 on 2,458 of 2,759 graduates placed in 2023-24, and the two-year engineering postgraduates finished on Rs 15,73,280 with 596 of 622 placed (NIRF 2025 engineering data return). Across every two-year postgraduate programme the institute recorded 840 of 870 placed at a median of Rs 17,00,000 (NIRF 2025 university data return), so postgraduate pay here sits close to undergraduate pay rather than above it.
The pharmacy school is where the same institute pays two very different rates. Its four-year undergraduates finished 2023-24 on a median of Rs 13,70,000, having climbed from Rs 10,00,000 two years earlier, with 49 of 64 placed; its M.Pharm. cohort placed every one of its 70 graduates and finished on a median of Rs 5,57,100 (NIRF 2025 pharmacy data return). Full placement and the lowest median on any BITS return arrived in the same cohort, in the same year.
| Pharmacy programme, 2023-24 | Graduating | Placed | Median salary |
|---|---|---|---|
| B.Pharm., four years | 64 | 49 | Rs 13,70,000 |
| M.Pharm., two years | 70 | 70 | Rs 5,57,100 |
One structural fact shapes how recruiting works here and it comes straight out of the curriculum. Because half of each final-year batch is away on Practice School in any given semester, the campuses run two placement seasons a year and only part of the graduating cohort is on site for either (BITS Pilani placements). A recruiter who wants the whole batch has to come twice.
Seat Matrix
There is no BITS seat matrix, and that is a deliberate design rather than a gap in the record. The institute states that its facilities are expressed as a ratio of seats between programmes rather than as a fixed number, that the total number of admissions varies from year to year to accommodate dual degrees and transfers, and that it may make offers to more candidates than the seats earmarked (admission modality, first degree, 2026-27). The waiting list follows from that: it is a list for admission to the Institute, not to a programme, so no candidate is given a waiting number against a branch.
The only sanctioned intake on public record is what BITS reports to the ranking framework, and it moves by hundreds between years, which is the same fact seen from the other side.
| Sanctioned intake reported to NIRF | 2020-21 | 2021-22 | 2022-23 | 2023-24 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Four-year undergraduate programmes | 2,938 | 2,791 | 3,084 | 2,112 |
| Five-year undergraduate programmes | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1,099 |
| Two-year postgraduate programmes | Not reported | Not reported | 869 | 703 |
| Sanctioned intake as entered in IR-O-U-0391; the two blanks are years BITS left unfilled on the form. |
Inside those totals the pharmacy intake is tiny and growing fast: 68 undergraduate places in 2020-21, 49 in 2021-22, 72 in 2022-23 and 109 in 2023-24, against a postgraduate intake that fell from 68 to 29 (NIRF 2025 pharmacy data return). Engineering, by comparison, was sanctioned 2,003 undergraduate and 486 postgraduate places in 2023-24 (NIRF 2025 engineering data return).
Rankings
Five 2025 tables, five different answers, and the discipline tables are the ones with something to say.
| NIRF 2025 category | Rank | Score |
|---|---|---|
| Pharmacy | 2 | 82.28 |
| University | 7 | 67.24 |
| Engineering | 11 | 67.02 |
| Overall | 16 | 65.06 |
| Research | 18 | 56.71 |
| Each category above links to the India Rankings 2025 table it was taken from. |
The parameter breakdown shows the pharmacy result is not a quirk of a shallow field. On teaching, learning and resources the pharmacy submission scores 91.15 against 82.07 for engineering and 72.16 for the university entry; on graduation outcomes it scores 90.46 against 81.04 and 77.74; on research and professional practice, 80.66 against 56.41 and 63.27 (NIRF 2025 pharmacy ranking, engineering ranking, university ranking). Every measured pillar is stronger in the pharmacy division than in the institute that contains it.
| NIRF 2025 parameter | Pharmacy | Engineering | University |
|---|---|---|---|
| Teaching, Learning and Resources | 91.15 | 82.07 | 72.16 |
| Research and Professional Practice | 80.66 | 56.41 | 63.27 |
| Graduation Outcomes | 90.46 | 81.04 | 77.74 |
| Outreach and Inclusivity | 70.73 | 60.41 | 61.42 |
| Perception | 55.79 | 32.29 | 49.19 |
| Pillar scores taken from the three NIRF 2025 tables this institute appears on as a discipline entry, pharmacy and engineering, against its university entry. |
Perception is the pillar that costs this institute places. On the overall table it scores 27.41 for perception against 72.16 for teaching and 77.74 for graduation outcomes (NIRF 2025 overall ranking), so what it is thought of trails what it is measured on by a wide margin. The engineering position is the one to keep in proportion the other way: every institute ranked above it on that table is an IIT or an NIT, all of them government funded.
Departments
Thirteen academic departments run the Pilani campus, and the mix is wider than an engineering label suggests: biological sciences, chemical engineering, chemistry, civil engineering, computer science and information systems, economics and finance, electrical and electronics engineering, humanities and social sciences, management, mathematics, mechanical engineering, pharmacy and physics (BITS Pilani, Pilani campus). Pharmacy sits among them as a department in its own right rather than as a school bolted on, which is what a top-two national rank is being produced from.
The research centres attached to the campus are worth reading for what they say about where it is. Alongside a teaching learning centre, a centre for women's studies, a centre for entrepreneurial leadership, a centre for robotics and intelligent systems, a technology business incubator and a central instrumentation facility sits a Centre for Desert Development Technologies (BITS Pilani, Pilani campus). Few institutes need one. This one is built in the Shekhawati desert.
Facilities & Infrastructure
The Pilani campus covers 328 acres and is self-contained, which matters more here than on a city campus because the nearest large town is a drive away. Its library complex runs to 65,000 square feet and holds about 2,30,000 volumes of books and manuscripts (BITS Pilani, Pilani campus).
Laboratory spending is the line that separates this institute from most private universities. In 2023-24 it put Rs 143,90,74,549 into new equipment for laboratories, Rs 20,63,78,749 into the library, Rs 1,32,69,700 into engineering workshops and Rs 44,75,014 into studios (NIRF 2025 university data return). Equipment took several times what the library did in that one year, and both lines exclude spending on buildings.
Utilities have been rebuilt around the desert setting. The campus has 949.12 KWp of on-grid rooftop solar installed, all 495 of its street lights are LED and switch on light intensity rather than a timer, 26 more street lights run standalone on solar, six groundwater recharge points direct monsoon runoff back into the ground, and treated water from the campus sewage plant is reused for flushing, irrigation and cooling towers (BITS Pilani, Pilani campus). Buildings are reported to have lifts or ramps in more than 80 per cent of cases, with specially designed toilets in the same share (NIRF 2025 university data return).
Hostel
Living on campus is not optional at Pilani. The programmes are fully residential, with 11 hostels for boys and one hostel complex for girls, and around 4,500 students live there alongside 350 faculty members and their families (BITS Pilani, Pilani campus). Budget for the room as part of the degree rather than as a possibility.
The published charge is Rs 36,000 a semester for on-campus students and Rs 18,000 for a summer term, with a mess and electricity advance of Rs 10,000 a semester and other advances of Rs 12,000, both taken at the start of the term and adjusted at the end of it (schedule of fees, 2026-27). Only the caution deposit and the mess advance are refundable, and only at graduation or withdrawal.
Catering here is not outsourced to a contractor; it is incorporated. The Society for Student Mess Services is registered under the Rajasthan Societies Act of 1958, employs nearly 200 mess workers, feeds over 3,500 students across seven messes and one all-night canteen, and is governed by a council of representatives elected from each mess, with Sodexo retained only as a consultant to review the system (BITS Pilani, Pilani campus). Every registered student is a member of it by default.
Faculty
Three returns count the teaching staff three ways. BITS entered 1,071 faculty institution-wide for 2025, of whom 810 fall inside the engineering submission and only 45 inside the pharmacy one (NIRF 2025 university data return, engineering data return, pharmacy data return). More than 85 per cent of them hold a doctorate (BITS Pilani placements).
The whole of the second-ranked pharmacy school in the country runs on those 45 teachers, against 292 undergraduates, 110 postgraduates and a further 134 full-time and 31 part-time research scholars (NIRF 2025 pharmacy data return). It is a small department by headcount and a closely supervised one, and 180 of those 292 undergraduates are women.
The PhD roll is much of what those 1,071 are actually supervising. Against the 1,651 full-time and 475 part-time scholars on the rolls, 209 full-time and 38 part-time doctorates were awarded in 2023-24 alone, where two years earlier the same lines read 113 and 55 (NIRF 2025 university data return). Research income supports it: 425 sponsored projects from 118 funding agencies brought in Rs 47,60,06,612 in 2023-24, with 72 consultancy projects for 68 client organisations adding Rs 5,86,13,731.
Notable Alumni
We are not naming alumni on this page. BITS Pilani publishes no list of individuals in the official material behind these figures, and a name we cannot trace to the institute's own record or to a primary source is a name we will not print. If that changes on its alumni pages, this section will carry what they publish and nothing else.
News & Articles
The change worth knowing about is a fee policy that has not existed here before. From the 2026-27 academic year, the top 500 BITSAT rankers with an annual family income up to Rs 20 lakh receive a full tuition scholarship for all four years, conditional only on keeping a CGPA of 7.5, and the institute states that this is built into the admission offer rather than applied for after joining (admission modality, first degree, 2026-27). For a household weighing the fee sheet above, that single paragraph changes the arithmetic for a strong scorer entirely.
The other thing to carry into an admission season is where to read. BITS runs its admissions from one portal and has posted a standing warning against calls, emails and social media messages offering direct admission, naming admissions.bits-pilani.ac.in as its only official admission website. Iteration results, reporting deadlines and withdrawal windows all appear there and nowhere else.
College Compare
Among universities in 2025 this is a four-way photo finish rather than a settled order. Delhi University takes rank 5 with 67.38, Banaras Hindu University rank 6 with 67.28, BITS Pilani rank 7 with 67.24 and Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham rank 8 with 67.05 (NIRF 2025 university ranking). BITS and BHU are separated by four hundredths of a point, so the ordering of those two should decide nothing at all.
| Institution | NIRF 2025 university rank | Score |
|---|---|---|
| Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru | 1 | 85.05 |
| Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi | 2 | 71.00 |
| Manipal Academy of Higher Education | 3 | 69.25 |
| Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi | 4 | 69.10 |
| University of Delhi | 5 | 67.38 |
| Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi | 6 | 67.28 |
| BITS Pilani | 7 | 67.24 |
| Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Coimbatore | 8 | 67.05 |
The pharmacy table is the opposite shape. Jamia Hamdard leads on 86.59 and BITS Pilani follows on 82.28, with Panjab University third on 76.39 (NIRF 2025 pharmacy ranking). The drop from BITS to third place there is far wider than anything separating the crowded middle of the university table, so a student choosing a pharmacy school is looking at a real top two rather than a pack.
Contact & Location
Pilani is a town rather than a metro, and the four campuses are far apart, so confirm the address of the one you have been allotted before travelling.
| Campus | Address |
|---|---|
| Pilani | Birla Institute of Technology and Science, Pilani, Vidya Vihar, Pilani, Rajasthan 333031 |
| K K Birla Goa | NH 17B, Bypass Road, Zuarinagar, Sancoale, Goa 403726 |
| Hyderabad | BITS Pilani Hyderabad Campus, Secunderabad, Telangana 500078 |
| Dubai | BITS Pilani, Dubai Campus, Academic City, Dubai, United Arab Emirates |
Admission queries belong on the admission portal rather than at the campus gate, since offers, iterations and withdrawals are all processed centrally at admissions.bits-pilani.ac.in for all three Indian campuses.
Verified
Approvals & Accreditation
Statutory approvals and accreditation grades from official bodies.
Its status is statutory rather than affiliated. BITS Pilani has been an Institution Deemed to be University under Section 3 of the UGC Act since 1964 (BITS Pilani, Pilani campus), and it is designated an Institution of Eminence (admission modality, first degree, 2026-27). No affiliating university sits behind its degrees, which is precisely why it sets its own entrance test, its own fee and its own curriculum.
The NAAC grade attached to it was re-cut recently and runs long. BITS reported a valid accreditation at a CGPA of 3.68, dated 29 November 2024 and running to 28 November 2029 (NIRF 2025 university data return), which covers every year of a first degree begun in 2026. Programme-level accreditation is a separate thing, granted for fixed terms and lapsed unless renewed, so confirm the specific programme you are applying to in the year you apply rather than reading an institute-wide grade across it.
Aid
Scholarships
About a quarter of every first-degree intake pays less than the sticker price. The institute states that roughly 25 per cent of students admitted to first-degree programmes receive semester tuition waivers of between 10 and 100 per cent, awarded on merit or on merit combined with need, and that the admission fee is never waived (admission modality, first degree, 2026-27).
| Award | Band | Tuition waiver |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition-blind admission, 2026-27 onward | Top 500 BITSAT rankers, family income up to Rs 20 lakh | 100 per cent for four years, CGPA 7.5 to continue |
| Institute merit award | Top 2 per cent of students | 100 per cent |
| Institute merit award | Next top 1 per cent | 50 per cent |
| Merit-cum-need award | Top 5 per cent | 100 per cent |
| Merit-cum-need award | Next 2 per cent | 50 per cent |
| Merit-cum-need award | Next 5 per cent | 25 per cent |
| Merit-cum-need award | Next 10 per cent | 10 per cent |
Postgraduate money works differently and is tied to how you got in. A candidate admitted to M.E. or M.Pharm. through GATE or GPAT gets a tuition fee waiver of Rs 13,400 a month during the semester on top of the GATE or GPAT scholarship itself, while a candidate admitted through the BITS HD Test gets a stipend of Rs 13,400 a month; both carry an obligation of 8 to 10 hours a week of graduate teaching assistantship, and the GPAT-linked scholarship applies only at the Pilani campus (admission modality, first degree, 2026-27). Scholarships continue only while the academic condition attached to them holds, and a waiver already granted is counted back into the total if a student withdraws.
Decide
Compare with similar colleges
Voices
Student Reviews
There is no star rating on this page, and the placement tables above are exactly why one would mislead. One 2023-24 cohort here contains an M.Pharm. group that placed all 70 of its graduates on a median of Rs 5,57,100 and an undergraduate engineering group that placed 2,458 of 2,759 on a median of Rs 18,00,000 (NIRF 2025 pharmacy data return, engineering data return). A single score averaged from anonymous entries would sit somewhere in between and describe neither. The questions with real answers are narrower, and current students in your own department can answer them: how the Practice School allotment treated their batch, and what the summer term did to their fee.
Campus
Gallery
No campus photographs are published here yet. A picture appears only after bits-pilani.ac.in has published it, we have copied it onto servers we run, and the credit rides with it; that pass has not been done for Pilani. Until it is, the campus keeps its own picture gallery (BITS Pilani, Pilani campus).
Questions
Frequently asked questions
References
Sources
- Official website – bits-pilani.ac.in
- NIRF 2025 ranking – nirfindia.org
- schedule of fees, 2026-27 – admissions.bits-pilani.ac.in
At a glance
Quick facts
- Established
- 1964
- NIRF 2025 (Engineering)
- Rank #11NIRF· 2025-08-14
- NAAC
- A++, CGPA 3.68
- Website
- bits-pilani.ac.in

Expertie Editorial Team
This page is researched and maintained by the Expertie editorial team, and checked against official sources.
Found something that looks wrong? Email us at editorial@expertie.com.
Last updated
