Alagappa University, Alagappa Nagar, Karaikudi
Alagappa University is two institutions carrying one name. Its regular campus sits in Karaikudi, a small Chettinad town in the Sivaganga district of Tamil Nadu, and teaches a few thousand students on site, while its distance and online arm reaches learners far beyond the campus, which is why the University Grants Commission classes it as a dual-mode university. It is placed 44th among universities in NIRF 2025 and rises to 14th among state public universities in the same year, the table that lines it up against its real peers. The fees, seat numbers, placement records and rankings below are drawn from the university's own prospectus and admission pages, the data it filed for the national ranking, and the NIRF tables, so each one can be traced back to its source.
Overview
Alagappa University was brought into existence by a Special Act of the Government of Tamil Nadu in May 1985, and it took its name and its starting assets from the cluster of institutions the Padma Bhushan awardee Dr. RM. Alagappa Chettiar founded in Karaikudi from the 1950s. It began as a unitary, single-campus university and became an affiliating one in 2002, taking 45 colleges across the Sivaganga and Ramanathapuram districts under its wing. Its motto is Excellence in Action.
Two markers define where it stands today. It holds a NAAC A++ grade at a 3.59 CGPA, the highest accreditation band, and it was awarded Category-I status by the UGC in 2018, the tier of autonomy the commission reserves for its strongest performers. What sets its everyday character apart from most state universities, though, is the weight of its distance and online teaching: the Centre for Distance and Online Education runs the bulk of the enrolment, so the on-campus departments are only one part of the institution a prospective student is looking at.
Courses & Fees
The teaching splits along the dual-mode line. On campus, the university runs undergraduate, postgraduate, integrated and doctoral programmes through 44 departments grouped into four faculties, Arts, Science, Education and Management. Through distance and online mode it offers a far wider spread of the same arts, science, commerce, management and computer-application courses to students who cannot attend in person.
For a campus seat the only fixed charge the university publishes up front is the application cost, which is set by programme type. Tuition itself is printed per programme in the 2025-26 prospectus, so the binding campus fee is always the one on the prospectus line for the exact course.
| Campus application, by programme type | Cost |
|---|---|
| Entrance-based programmes | Rs 600 |
| Non-entrance and PG diploma programmes | Rs 400 |
| UG and five-year integrated programmes | Rs 250 |
| Diploma and certificate programmes | Rs 150 |
The distance-mode fees are where the real numbers are easiest to pin down, because the university publishes a single per-year course-fee schedule for them. A humanities or commerce bachelor's degree is priced low, while the computing and laboratory-science courses cost several times more.
| Distance-mode programme | Course fee, per year |
|---|---|
| B.A. (English), B.Com. or B.B.A. | Rs 2,500 |
| Bachelor of Computer Applications (BCA) | Rs 8,300 |
| M.A. (English) | Rs 5,000 |
| M.S.W. | Rs 11,000 |
| M.Sc. (Computer Science) | Rs 14,300 |
| Master of Computer Applications (MCA) | Rs 15,400 |
| M.B.A. (General) | Rs 13,200 |
| M.Sc. (Physics) or (Chemistry) | Rs 20,000 |
| B.Ed. | Rs 20,000 |
Two concessions cut into these amounts and are worth checking before you pay. SC and ST candidates get an application-fee concession, and physically challenged candidates are exempted from the tuition fee and the special fee altogether.
Admissions
There is no single Alagappa University entrance exam, and the route you take depends entirely on the course. Most programmes are filled on the marks of your qualifying degree, and a smaller set run through the university's own tests. Everything is applied for online through the university admission portal only.
The entrance-tested courses each weigh the test differently. B.Ed. is decided on an entrance test; the MBA programmes add a group discussion and an interview to the test; M.Sc. Biotechnology and the MCA pair the test with an interview; and the M.Sc. courses in Physics, Chemistry, Microbiology and Mathematics split the decision half on the entrance test and half on the qualifying-degree marks. The physical-education programmes are the exception to the paper-and-marks pattern: they are selected through a medical test, a physical efficiency test and a games test. Every course not on that list is admitted straight on qualifying-examination merit.
One access rule runs across the whole intake. The university reserves five per cent of the seats in every programme for differently-abled students, on top of the state reservation categories a Tamil Nadu university applies.
Cutoff
Because most Alagappa University courses admit on qualifying-degree marks rather than a ranked entrance, there is no published closing rank for them, and the merit line is simply wherever a department's seats run out for a given category that cycle. The entrance-tested courses, the MBA, MCA, B.Ed. and the science master's programmes, are decided on the university's own test scores combined with an interview or the qualifying marks, and the university does not release those closing scores as a public cutoff table. Any single cutoff figure quoted for the university before a department finalises its list is therefore a guess, and the dependable move is to read the eligibility and the merit rule for your exact course in the admission notification.
Placements
Placement data here is campus-only, and at Alagappa that caveat carries more weight than at most universities: the distance and online students, who make up the bulk of the enrolment, never enter it. What the university filed with the National Institutional Ranking Framework 2025 breaks the on-campus intake out by programme length, and the figures below are its 2023-24 cohort, the latest year returned.
| Programme band | Graduated (2023-24) | Placed | Median salary | Higher studies |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| UG, three-year | 249 | 48 | Rs 1,80,000 | 24 |
| UG, four-year | 23 | 0 | Not reported | 0 |
| PG, two-year | 1,245 | 254 | Rs 1,77,000 | 69 |
| PG, three-year | 66 | 0 | Not reported | 0 |
| PG-Integrated, five-year | 34 | 9 | Rs 1,20,000 | 0 |
The honest picture is a teaching university, not a placement-driven one. The two-year postgraduate degrees are the mass cohort, and of the 1,245 who graduated, 254 were placed and 69 went on to further study, a modest campus placement share at a median near two lakh rupees a year. The four-year undergraduate and three-year postgraduate bands each reported no campus placements at all in the latest year, which fits an institution whose graduates more often move into teaching, the state workforce or self-study than through a single campus recruitment drive.
Seat Matrix
No single campus-wide seat table exists at Alagappa; each department is sanctioned its own intake. The one place those numbers are totted up is the approved intake the university filed with NIRF for 2023-24, and it shows how heavily the campus tilts toward postgraduate teaching.
| Programme band | Sanctioned intake (2023-24) |
|---|---|
| UG, three-year | 280 |
| UG, four-year | 36 |
| PG, two-year | 1,575 |
| PG, three-year | 20 |
| PG-Integrated | 20 |
The two-year postgraduate band alone carries 1,575 of the sanctioned campus places, more than five times the three-year undergraduate intake, so a campus applicant is statistically far more likely to be joining a master's course than a bachelor's one. For any specific course, the seat count that binds is the one on its own admission notification, never a campus-wide total.
Rankings
Alagappa University reads very differently depending on which NIRF table you open, and the gap between them is the useful signal. It is stronger measured against its own kind, the state-funded universities, than against the pooled field that includes the central and private heavyweights.
| NIRF 2025 category | Rank | Score |
|---|---|---|
| State Public University | 14 | 62.82 |
| University | 44 | 54.45 |
| Overall | 73 | 52.27 |
Those five parameters run from 73.27 at the top down to 33.07 at the bottom, so the University-category total of 54.45 flattens a campus that is very uneven underneath. Graduation Outcomes is the tall pillar; the research score is the one dragging the average down, the profile of a big teaching university rather than a research-led one.
| University parameter | Score |
|---|---|
| Graduation Outcomes | 73.27 |
| Teaching, Learning and Resources | 64.62 |
| Outreach and Inclusivity | 55.96 |
| Perception | 49.04 |
| Research and Professional Practice | 33.07 |
Departments
The campus academic structure is compact and clearly grouped. The university runs 44 departments, three academic centres and two constituent colleges, organised under four faculties covering Arts, Science, Education and Management. That spread is why the same institution can offer a humanities master's, a computer-science degree and a management or education programme from one campus, with the departments feeding both the on-campus intake and the distance-mode course catalogue.
Because the teaching depth is a property of the individual department rather than the university as a whole, the sensible move before ranking a course is to read the specific department's own page and its faculty list, particularly for the laboratory sciences and the professional programmes.
Facilities & Infrastructure
The main campus sits on a large site in Karaikudi, with a second campus by the coast. The university reports its land as 435.98 acres in total, 428.15 acres at the main campus and 7.83 acres at the Thondi campus. For students with disabilities, the same return reports lifts or ramps and purpose-built toilets in over 80 per cent of its buildings, with wheelchairs and transport between blocks provided on top of that.
Its rainwater harvesting is spread across rooftop collection, percolation pits, recharge wells and storage tanks; renewable power comes from solar panels; and food waste is composted while plastic is sorted at campus recycling points. It also reports that it has implemented the National Education Policy's multiple entry and exit option and introduced courses on the Indian Knowledge System, which is the wider curricular change reshaping course design across its departments.
Hostel
We could not find a single official document that consolidates Alagappa University's current hostel capacity, room rents and mess charges into one place. The dependable source for a specific hall's availability and fee is the university's own hostel and admission pages for the year you are joining, so treat any consolidated hostel-fee figure on an aggregator as unconfirmed until you have checked it there.
Faculty
The NIRF 2025 return records 382 teaching faculty on the campus rolls. Underneath that sits a sizeable doctoral base: the same filing records 731 full-time and 725 part-time PhD scholars pursuing their programmes up to 2023-24, and it reports 41 sponsored research projects running that year, funded by 12 agencies. For a research or postgraduate applicant, that doctoral and sponsored-project layer is a better read on a department's strength than any headline student-teacher figure, and it is concentrated unevenly across the departments.
Notable Alumni
Alagappa University does not maintain a public roll of notable graduates, and no third-party list of its alumni traces to a source solid enough to reproduce. Names that cannot be pinned to a dependable record are left out rather than repeated from rumour, so the section stays blank until the university publishes one of its own.
News & Articles
College Compare
Contact & Location
Alagappa University's campus is in Karaikudi, in the Sivaganga district of Tamil Nadu, with its coastal second campus at Thondi. The official details are below.
| Detail | Information |
|---|---|
| Location | Karaikudi 630 003, Sivaganga district, Tamil Nadu |
| Faculties | Arts, Science, Education, Management |
| Website | alagappauniversity.ac.in |
Verified
Approvals & Accreditation
Statutory approvals and accreditation grades from official bodies.
Aid
Scholarships
Decide
Compare with similar colleges
Voices
Student Reviews
Campus
Gallery
Questions
Frequently asked questions
References
Sources
- NIRF 2025 ranking – nirfindia.org
- Official website – alagappauniversity.ac.in
At a glance
Quick facts
- Established
- 1985
- NIRF 2025 (Overall)
- Rank #73NIRF· 2025-08-14
- NAAC
- A++, CGPA 3.59
- Website
- alagappauniversity.ac.in

Expertie Editorial Team
This page is researched and maintained by the Expertie editorial team, and checked against official sources.
Found something that looks wrong? Email us at editorial@expertie.com.
Last updated
