Expertie
Scholarships Get counselling
RAJA
governmentCollege

Rajah Serfoji Government College, Thanjavur - 613 005.

Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu Est. 1955 Official site Updated
NIRF College
#79

Rajah Serfoji Government College sat in the unnumbered 101-150 band of the Ministry of Education's 2024 college table, with no parameter scores published beside its name. A year later it came in at 79. What separates this Thanjavur campus from the other five Tamil Nadu government colleges on that table is research, where its 51.35 is beaten only by Presidency College, Chennai on 59.46. Its own admission chart records something a rank cannot: of the 1,059 undergraduates it took in 2020-2021, not one is entered under the Open Competition community.

Overview

The college began inside a palace. Its accreditation report states that it was started temporarily on 23.06.1955 in Sangeetha Mahal of the Palace Complex of Thanjavur with one hundred and twenty students in intermediate class, and that the former Governor of Tamilnadu, Honorable Sri. Prakasa officially inaugurated the college on 04.07.1955. The name is the Maratha ruler's: the same report says the college was named after Rajah Serfoji who was known for his scholarship and interest in Science and Arts subjects.

The land it stands on was divided once, and the division explains the campus you see today. The Rotary Club of Thanjavur donated 156 acres, and when Thanjavur Medical College was started, 97 acres were transferred to it in 1960; the foundation stone for the new premises went up on the remaining 69 acres, laid by the then Finance Minister Honorable Sri. C. Subramaniam on 24.02.1956, with Chief Minister Honorable Sri. Kamaraj inaugurating the new premises on 04.11.1956. Subtract the second of those figures from the first, though, and the balance the report goes on to name is larger than the land it has left, and it dates the foundation stone on that balance years before the transfer it says created it. The accreditation profile now records the main campus as 44 acres, urban.

Two later dates settle who runs the place and who sets its papers. The Government of Tamil Nadu took over the administration of the college on 01.04.1965, and autonomy was conferred on 11/09/2004, a status the University Grants Commission's current list of approved autonomous colleges still carries against its name under Bharathidasan University. From 2004 it has set its own curriculum, its own continuous internal assessment and its own semester papers, and its Controller of Examinations declares the results. Bharathidasan University confers the degree at the end of it, and enters the college on its affiliated register as autonomous, government and co-education. One historical wrinkle is worth knowing before you read older documents: the accreditation report says that this college, being the biggest affiliated government college, as per the Tamil Nadu Government's policy, became the constituent College of Bharathidasan University.

Thanjavur district carries eight government arts and science colleges on the state's current admission list, and two of them stand inside Thanjavur city. This is the co-educational campus near the new bus stand at pin code 613005; the other, Kunthavai Naacchiyaar Government Arts College for Women (Autonomous) at 613007, admits women only and is the larger of the pair on sanctioned seats.

Courses & Fees

Almost everything here is taught twice, either in two shifts or in two media, and the state's course register shows exactly how. The Directorate of Collegiate Education lists 26 undergraduate course-and-shift rows against this college, and five subjects appear as a Tamil-medium and an English-medium pair rather than as one section.

Undergraduate programmeMediumShift I seatsShift II seats
B.Lit. Tamil LiteratureTamil6060
B.A. English LiteratureEnglish6060
B.A. EconomicsTamil and English60 eachNot offered
B.Com. CommerceEnglish6060
B.B.A. Business AdministrationEnglish6060
B.Sc. MathematicsTamil and English40 eachNot offered
B.Sc. PhysicsTamil and English40 eachNot offered
B.Sc. ChemistryTamil and English40 eachNot offered
B.Sc. ZoologyTamil and English40 each40 (Tamil)
B.Sc. Computer ScienceEnglish4040
B.Sc. StatisticsEnglish40Not offered
B.Sc. Bio TechnologyEnglish4040
B.Sc. BiochemistryEnglish4040

Master's teaching is single-shift and narrower. The same register lists 11 postgraduate programmes, with M.Sc. Computer Science the largest at 60 seats, M.Sc. Mathematics, Chemistry and Zoology at 50 each, M.A. Economics, M.Com., M.A. English and M.A. Tamil at 35, and M.Sc. Physics, Statistics and Biochemistry at 25. Doctoral study is the wider door: the register carries Ph.D. entries in ten subjects, from Tamil and English through Commerce and Business Administration to Zoology, Chemistry and Computer Science, while the seven M.Phil. subjects it still lists all carry a sanctioned strength of 0, so treat any M.Phil. advertised for this campus as historical. The college's own about page counts differently again, claiming 22 UG programmes, 14 PG programmes, 9 M. Phil. programmes and 20 Ph. D. programmes, and nothing on the site reconciles that with the register.

What none of that tells you is the price, and the honest answer is that no rupee figure for a course fee is published by the college at all. The two fee items in its menu, one for admission and one for examinations, open State Bank collect pages rather than a schedule, no prospectus is posted, and the only rupee amount its accreditation report ever attaches to a student is a PTA registration fee of 60 a student, which it says is spent on student welfare. In the data it filed for the 2026 ranking it enters 3,559 undergraduates and 746 postgraduates receiving full tuition fee reimbursement from the State and Central Government, with the institution funds and private bodies columns at zero and not one student recorded as unreimbursed. The year before, that column was not quite at zero. Five students in the whole institution, 4 at bachelor's level and 1 at master's, were entered as not receiving full reimbursement in the 2025 filing, and its economically backward column for that year carries the same 4 and the same 1. Its accreditation report describes the charge in words rather than in rupees: Every year around 1500 student are admitted to several UG and PG courses with extremely low fees. No fee figure quoted for this college anywhere else traces back to a document the college has published, so ask the office for the current special fee slip and treat nothing else as binding.

One state payment runs the other way, from the government to the student, and the college names it. Its women undergraduates are put up for the Moovalur Ramamirtham Ammaiyar Higher Education Assurance Scheme, under which financial assistance of Rs.1000/month will be provided to the girls till their completion of UG degree.

Admissions

Neither degree here is won on a test the college sets. A bachelor's place is ranked on the Class 12 marks, and the postgraduate lists it publishes rank applicants on an average of the Part III marks from their degree. What differs is where the form starts: for a bachelor's degree it does not start at this campus. Tamil Nadu registers applicants to its government arts and science colleges centrally, and the state's own instruction sheet for the 2026 cycle names www.tngasa.in as the only official website, with an Admission Facilitation Centre at Government Arts Colleges of each district for candidates who cannot register on their own. Colleges are ranked in order of preference on that portal, and its instruction booklet is worth reading before you fix that order, because it warns that a request for change from one college to another or change of branch will not be entertained. This college sits in that booklet under code 1051004, with 18 Shift I and 8 Shift II undergraduate courses and a total of 1240.

The state's part of it ends with the ranked list; the allotment itself is made and published in Thanjavur, one subject and one shift at a time. The college works through its intake in dated counselling rounds, subject by subject and shift by shift, and publishes the list for each round on its homepage as a separate PDF. Its 2026 documents include a general list for B.A. English Shift I dated 12.06.2026 and the parallel B.A. Lit. Tamil Shift I list, and its 2024 archive runs a separate file for each subject on each counselling date, from Physics on 12.06.2024 to B.Com. Shift I on 25.06.2024. Special-category applicants are ranked apart, with the 2025 postgraduate cycle carrying its own lists for sports, NCC, ex-servicemen, security forces and differently abled candidates.

Where you look for those files matters more here than at most colleges, because two parts of the same website are five years apart. The page titled Admission Details carries nothing newer than the 2020-2021 cycle, and the two links it offers for that year's rank list and selection list both lead nowhere. The live documents sit on the homepage instead, under a modal called UG Admission Counselling Rank List for 12th June 2026, with the admission status statement beside it; nothing on the Admission Details page points to either. The separate examination portal keeps a current record of its own, with the July 2026 instant examination timetables and the April 2026 revaluation results posted on it and nothing newer than a 6 July circular. Read the homepage and the examination portal; the admission page is a dead end.

Cutoff

This college publishes closing marks community by community, and its 2023-24 physics list is the cleanest example of how they are set out. That document is headed a Provisional Selection List 1 & 2 for B.Sc-Physics (English Medium), Date of Counseling: 01-06-2023, and it prints each selected candidate's aggregate mark against the quota list they were taken on.

Quota list, B.Sc. Physics (E/M), 2023-24Merit-ranked namesTop markLowest mark
Open Competition24397362
Backward Class20358341
Backward Class Muslim2344301
Most Backward Class16361343
Scheduled Caste10361339
Scheduled Caste ArunthathiyarSports entries onlyNot applicableNot applicable
Scheduled TribeRecorded as NilNot applicableNot applicable

Read the Open Competition row carefully, because it is not what its name suggests at this address. Of the 24 names on that open list, exactly one carries OC in the community column; the rest are Backward Class, Most Backward Class, Backward Class Muslim and Scheduled Caste candidates who topped the merit order outright. The same cycle's B.Sc. Statistics rank list opens the same way, not one of the twenty-four names on its open-quota list carrying OC in the community column; they are Most Backward Class, Backward Class, Scheduled Caste, Scheduled Caste Arunthathiyar and Backward Class Muslim candidates instead. Computer science in the same cycle splits further, into applicants who studied the subject in Class 12 and applicants who did not, and its Shift I ranking list closes lower for the first group than the second in every quota the two lists share.

Three cycles on, the pressure has moved. The college's vacancy statement for 2026-2027, dated 26 June 2026, sets sanctioned strength at 1,240, admitted at 1,073 split as 500 in arts and 573 in science, and vacant at 167. Only two of the 26 sections closed full, and both of them are biotechnology, a subject the department claims it was the only Government College in Tamil nadu which first started an undergraduate Biotechnology degree programme in.

Programme and shift, 2026-2027SanctionedAdmittedVacant
B.Sc. Bio-Technology (E/M), Shift I40400
B.Sc. Bio-Technology (E/M), Shift II40400
B.Com. Commerce (E/M), Shift I60591
B.B.A. Business Administration (E/M), Shift I60591
B.Sc. Chemistry (E/M), Shift I40391
B.Sc. Mathematics (T/M), Shift I40328
B.Sc. Statistics (E/M), Shift I40319
B.A. Economics (E/M), Shift I604911
B.Sc. Bio-Chemistry (E/M), Shift II402911
B.A. English, Shift I604317
B.A. Literature (Tamil), Shift II603723
B.A. English, Shift II603030

The two English sections leave 17 and 30 places empty, and the two Tamil literature sections another 5 and 23, so the four language sections account for close to half of the shortfall on their own. A candidate reading that table is looking at the practical cutoff: for the evening English section there was effectively no cutoff left by late June, while a biotechnology seat in either shift had to be won on marks.

The ranked queues behind those seats are long, and they are counted on two different scales. Tamil Nadu ranks a literature applicant on the mark in that language paper alone, out of 100, and every other bachelor's course on the remaining four subjects out of 400, so 91 on a Tamil list and 391 on a commerce list are not two rungs of one ladder. On this campus the language lists for 2026-2027 ran to 2,751 ranked names for B.A. English Shift I and 2,464 for B.A. Lit. Tamil Shift I, the English list opening at a perfect 100 and the Tamil list at 91, against 60 seats each. That the same English section then finished the cycle 17 places short is the strangest number on this page, and it is the college's own arithmetic.

For a course counted out of 400, the dated selection lists show the band each counselling day covered.

Programme, 2024-2025 cycleCounselling dateRanks calledMarks, first to last
B.B.A. Shift I13.06.20241 to 786395 to 300
B.Sc. Mathematics (E/M)12.06.2024796 to 1035229 to 172
B.Sc. Physics (E/M)12.06.2024923 to 1338229 to 172
B.Sc. Zoology (E/M)12.06.20241529 to 2194229 to 172
B.A. Economics (E/M)14.06.2024354 to 1832299.3 to 137
B.Com. Shift I25.06.2024896 to 2696297 to 164

Each band is one counselling day inside a much longer queue rather than the year's floor. The management degree opened its first day at the top of its queue and stopped at 300. The three science lists called on 12 June all bottom out at exactly 172, because the same candidates sit on several of them at once and the college worked down the queues in parallel: admission number 674873 heads both the mathematics and the physics list at 229, and 850153 closes the physics and the zoology list together. Commerce and economics run lower still, and the calendar does not explain it: economics closed at 137 eleven days before B.Com. closed at 164. The B.Com. row is also the only one of the six taken from a later counselling round, and it reads differently: its ranks are printed non-consecutively, because a second round invites candidates against seats still vacant. The marks at the foot of a list like that are marks the college called, not marks it admitted.

Placements

The medians this college files rise at every step of the four years it reports, undergraduate and postgraduate alike, though the postgraduate line does almost all of its climbing in one year.

Graduating yearLevelGraduated in stipulated timePlacedMedian salaryHigher studies
2021-22Undergraduate933297Rs 120000236
2022-23Undergraduate983333Rs 180000350
2023-24Undergraduate862400Rs 360000462
2024-25Undergraduate1050480Rs 480000504
2021-22Postgraduate30852Rs 18000031
2022-23Postgraduate40082Rs 20000068
2023-24Postgraduate365300Rs 60000065
2024-25Postgraduate410320Rs 62000070

Two of those rows do not behave like the others. The postgraduate placement count jumps from 82 in 2022-23 to 300 in 2023-24 while the graduating cohort shrinks, and the median trebles in the same step; nothing the college publishes explains a change of that size in one year. On the 2022-23 undergraduate line the same document contradicts itself: the digits read 180000 and the words printed immediately beside them name a sum in the tens of thousands. The 2025 filing prints that line identically, so this is a standing entry rather than a slip in one document, and neither return says which of the two readings the college meant.

The larger contradiction sits between three documents the college filed with three different bodies, and the 2023-24 cohort is where all three can be laid side by side. Its quality-assurance return for that year reports 281 outgoing students who got placement and 111 progressing to higher education. Its ranking submission enters 400 placed at bachelor's level and 300 at master's for the same cohort, with 462 undergraduates alone selected for higher studies. Its accreditation report works on a third scale again, putting the percentage of outgoing students placed and progressing to higher education during the last five years at 9.84, counting 163 such students in 2021-22 and 182 in 2020-21, against the 297 placed and 236 continuing to study that its ranking return records for 2021-22 alone. None of the three states the definition of placement it is applying, none cross-refers to the others, and averaging them would produce a number no document supports. Before you plan around any of them, put the question to the Training Placement and Entrepreneur Cell, whose page names Dr. S. Sakthivel of the Physics department as its coordinator, carries a career counselling programme of March 2 2022 as its most recent dated item, and still credits Dr. V. Senthamil Selvi as Principal where the homepage now names Dr. M. Sumathi.

Employers are named on this campus, but never as a recruiter list. The Career and Counselling Cell reports job fairs held on 09.02.2019, 13.07.2019 and 08.02.2020 with the District Employment Office and names Eureka Forbes, LIC of India and Manaporam Finance Private Limited among the companies present, then totals the three fairs at 24500 candidates participated and 8630 candidates got placed without saying how many of either figure were its own students. The more concrete list is in a place no applicant would look for it: the Chemistry department names its own leavers one by one and where each went, among them Chemplast Sanmar Limited, Tamilnadu Mercantile Bank, TNPL, the postal department, the Teachers Recruitment Board and the Tamil Nadu police. No other department page carries anything comparable, and nothing on the site collects those destinations campus-wide.

Seat Matrix

Three official documents carry an undergraduate intake for this college, and between them they print three different numbers, because they are counting three different things.

SourceWhat it countsUG seats
Directorate of Collegiate Education course tableSum of sanctioned strength across 26 course-and-shift rows1240
TNGASA 2026 district-wise college listSanctioned strength for the current cycle1240
NIRF 2026 submissionApproved intake filed for 2024-251488
NIRF 2026 submissionApproved intake filed for 2023-24 and 2022-231060

The first two reconcile exactly, which is the useful part: the total the state prints for this college is the arithmetic sum of its own 26 sections, and the vacancy statement works from the same 1240. The ranking return is the outlier, and it has been moving upward rather than settling. Filling has gone both ways against it, with the college recording 1,211 first-year undergraduates admitted in 2022-23 against a filed intake of 1,060.

Who takes those seats is the part no ranking captures. The community chart the college published for the 2020-2021 undergraduate intake breaks its 1,059 admissions down by community and by gender, and the Open Competition column is empty from top to bottom.

Community, 2020-2021 UG intakeMaleFemale
Open Competition00
Backward Class282119
Backward Class Muslim100
Most Backward Class11541
Denotified Communities10535
Scheduled Caste24993
Scheduled Caste Arunthathiyar52
Scheduled Tribe30
All communities769290

That is not a one-year accident, and the ranking return confirms it from the other end. Of the 3,559 undergraduates on its roll, 3,555 are entered as socially challenged under the SC, ST and OBC heading, with 4 recorded as economically backward. It is also why the open-merit quota list in the physics document above is filled almost entirely by candidates from reserved communities: there is barely an Open Competition applicant here to fill it. Gender runs the way the 2020-2021 chart does at bachelor's level, 2,378 male against 1,181 female, and inverts at master's, where the same return records 309 male against 437 female.

Rankings

A year earlier the same framework published no scores at all for this college, only its name inside a band, so the 2025 row is the first set of parameter figures there is to read.

NIRF 2025 measureScore
Rank in the college category79
Overall score56.57
Teaching, Learning and Resources61.79
Research and Professional Practice51.35
Graduation Outcomes74.37
Outreach and Inclusivity54.62
Perception0.97

Set that research figure beside the other state government colleges on the same table and it stops looking ordinary. Six Tamil Nadu government arts and science colleges hold numbered places in 2025, and on research and professional practice they read 59.46 at rank 15, 34.24 at rank 62, 22.57 at rank 67, 24.37 at rank 71, 35.13 at rank 76 and 51.35 here at rank 79. Only Presidency College in Chennai scores higher on that parameter, and it finishes far above this one on the total, which is the trade a candidate has to weigh. The ten doctoral subjects and the 80 teaching staff recognized as research supervisors are the published inputs behind that Thanjavur score.

Perception is the mirror image. At 0.97, exactly two colleges in the whole hundred score lower, which means the survey of academics and employers the framework runs registered almost nothing about this campus. Read the research column as a statement about supervision rather than about reputation: it describes what a doctoral candidate can register into on this campus, while the perception column describes what the college's name will do for an application made outside Tamil Nadu.

NIRF College 2025
Rank #79· Score 56.57NIRF· 2025-08-14
#79

Departments

Teaching is organised in 15 departments across three groups, and the college's own navigation lists them as Tamil, English, Economics and History on the arts side; Biochemistry, Biotechnology, Botany, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics, Statistics and Zoology on the science side; and Commerce and Business Administration on their own. Two of those, Botany and History, have a head of department but no degree of their own, and neither appears in the state's sanctioned-intake table for this college.

The foundation dates are staggered across six decades, and so is research recognition, which is what the ranking parameter above is built on.

DepartmentTeaching fromRecognised for doctoral work
English19552012
Physics19561986
Mathematics19572012
Zoology1960January 2010
ChemistryJuly 19612012
Commerce19702012
StatisticsJune 1979Not stated on its page
Business Administration20032011
BiotechnologySeptember 2013Not stated on its page

Physics is the oldest research department by more than two decades: it says it was recognized as a research department in the year 1986 for conducting Ph.D programmes in both Full time and Part Time modes. Commerce is the one that publishes an output figure, saying on its page that it has successfully guided 208 M.Phil and 50 Ph.D. Degree holders so far and that it now teaches more than 500 students with 15 dedicated Doctorate Professors. Zoology counts 16 permanent and 1 guest faculty members, all holding Ph. D. degree, with 3 technical staff.

The department pages themselves are an unreliable way to choose a subject. Botany, Economics and History open with the words Lorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry, where the description of the subject should be, and several departments answer their placement tab with a line saying data will be updated soon, so a shortlist built by reading the site will be uneven through no fault of the teaching.

Facilities & Infrastructure

The estate is large and the spend on it is not. The accreditation report counts 107 classrooms, 20 laboratories and 4 seminar halls across the 44 acres, with 10 research laboratories available to conduct research in specialized areas and the whole campus on a dedicated lease line with departmental wifi and CCTV surveillance. Set against that, the capital the college reports putting into its library was Rs 380000 in 2024-25 and Rs 350000 the year before, while its salary bill for teaching and non-teaching staff ran to Rs 317635629 in 2024-25. The teaching here is funded; the shelves are funded at roughly a thousandth of it.

The library is the one facility here that publishes a continuous record of itself. It was established in the Academic year 1956-1957 with 5020 number of books and its General Library collection has since increased to above 70,000, runs as a system of a General Library and 13 departmental libraries automated on ILIS, with a digital library of 10 pc's and e-resources through INFLIBNET, and opens 9.30 A.M. to 4.30 P.M.. Those departmental collections are real rather than nominal: Physics keeps a library with 3802 books and Zoology a small library with the collection of 3188 books and a museum.

Grounds and access are documented in the same report. Playfields are laid out for cricket, football, volleyball and badminton, with facilities for yoga, weightlifting and kabaddi, and indoor provision for carom and chess, and the campus carries a post office, canteen, co-operative stores and RO water in all blocks. The ranking form asks three accessibility questions and the college answers all three affirmatively, taking the top band on two of them and giving an unqualified yes on the third: lifts or ramps in more than 80% of buildings, specially designed toilets in more than 80%, and provision of walking aids and transport from one building to another for handicapped students. Its own environmental note records solar street-lights running from 7 PM to 5 AM, rain water harvesting, and approximately 5000 trees, 1000 shrubs and 5.5 acres of grass cover on a campus it describes as single-use plastic free.

Hostel

Residence here is old, endowed, and undocumented in every respect a current applicant would want. The college confirms only that the campus has a well-equipped playground, hostel and mess, and that among its financial initiatives are free buses and free hostel facilities provided to all deserving students from the disadvantaged sections.

The money behind those rooms predates the buildings. In April 1955 the Madras High Court permitted the college to receive a donation of Rs.3.5 lakhs from Kalimedu Chathram Funds, half of which built hostels named after the prime donor of the trust, Sri. Naranappaiar, while the interest on the remaining principal paid for free boarding and lodging; a further Rs.30,000/- came from Sri. R. Arunachalam of Alivalam for the students' free boarding hostel, and the hostel buildings were completed in 1961-62.

One line of published detail does exist, and it is the state's rather than the college's. The hostel column of the 2026 admission booklet, against college code 1051004, records no college hostel for men or for women and a welfare hostel for men only, with the women's entry left Nil. That sits awkwardly beside the accreditation report's flat statement that the campus has a hostel and a mess, and the college publishes nothing that resolves it. Beyond those four cells there is no hostel page on its website, and no count of blocks, no bed capacity, no warden and no room or mess rate appears in any document it has posted. Whether the free boarding that endowment was set up to pay for still runs is the one thing none of that paperwork answers.

Faculty

Every teaching post the state has sanctioned for this college is filled, and the gap sits somewhere else entirely. The accreditation report records 0 Professor posts, 6 Associate Professor posts sanctioned and 6 recruited, and 175 Assistant Professor posts sanctioned and 175 recruited, with nothing yet to recruit in any of the three. Non-teaching staffing is the opposite picture: 65 posts sanctioned, 23 recruited and 42 yet to recruit, so roughly two of every three office and support posts on this campus stand empty while the classrooms are staffed.

The two filings do not reconcile with each other. Where the accreditation report counted six Associate Professor posts and 175 Assistant Professor posts in all, the ranking submission it filed for 2026 lists 173 people by name, of whom 65 carry the Associate designation. Neither document explains how the one becomes the other. Reading down the 2026 columns gives 107 Assistant Professors, 65 Associate Professors and one entry filed under Other with a library-science degree; 138 holding a Ph.D. against 33 with an M.Phil.; 113 men and 60 women; and 59 of the 173 marked Adhoc or Contractual rather than Regular. That contract cohort is not a fringe. Of those 59, 44 hold a doctorate, 16 joined during 2023 alone, and 21 have been on contract terms since 2009 or earlier, so a department can be taught largely by people whose appointment does not have to be renewed between academic years.

Research supervision is the college's strongest teaching claim and it publishes the count: 80 teaching staff are recognized as research supervisors, with 293 candidates registered for Ph.D during the last 5 years and 228 research papers in journals notified on the UGC CARE list over the same period. The institution is headed by Dr. M. Sumathi as Principal, and the examination side runs separately through the Controller of Examinations office, which answers on coe@rsgc.ac.in.

Notable Alumni

One former student is presented as an alumnus on the college website, and it is the department that taught him that does the presenting. The Physics department's page says it proudly appreciates and acknowledges the achievements of Scientist M. Shankaran, Director, U R RAO Satellite Centre, ISRO, Bengaluru, our distinguished and an eminent alumnus. The Indian Space Research Organisation spells the surname Sankaran; the centre he heads is the one that builds ISRO's satellites, and it sits in Bengaluru rather than Tamil Nadu.

No page gathers anyone else under that heading. The accreditation report says only, without a single name attached, that the college has produced a great number of scholars, industrialists, politicians etc, and the alumni item in its menu leads to a feedback form rather than a list. Former students are named elsewhere on the site, though as career notes rather than as distinctions: the Chemistry department lists its own leavers by name with the post or employer each took, and both that page and Biochemistry print tables of university rank holders by year. The one name the college does offer as an eminent alumnus is spelled differently from the way ISRO spells it.

News & Articles

The college keeps a page headed News, and nothing on it has moved since 2021. Its most recent entries are a convocation circular dated 22 July 2021 and a mark sheet circular of 16 July 2021, and behind those sit a Corona Vaccination Campaign organised by the Indian Red Cross with support of IQAC on 13 June 2021, a tree plantation function run with NCC and the Rotary Club of Thanjavur on 19 April 2021, and a fire safety training programme on 16 April 2021. Across the top of that page a banner still scrolls the announcement that the online application form for I Year PG Admission 2020-2021 will be from October 10,2020 to October 20,2020, tagged New.

Current notices are posted by the examinations office instead, and they are all examination business. The News and Announcements column on the examination portal leads with a Redo Circular for the span period dated 06 Jul 2026, the UG and PG instant examination timetables for July 2026 both dated 24 Jun 2026, and the April 2026 revaluation results dated 16 Jun 2026. A candidate watching for a syllabus revision, a fee notification or an admission announcement is watching a channel that does not carry one, which is why the vacancy statement and the counselling lists have to be caught on the homepage while they are up.

College Compare

Thanjavur district puts two colleges on the national table, and the nearer rival is the better-placed one. Government Arts College (Autonomous), Kumbakonam finished 71st on a score of 57.30 in the 2025 college ranking, against 79th and 56.57 here, and the state sanctions it 1330 undergraduate places to this college's 1240. For a family in the delta the choice is rarely a national one; it is which of those two campuses the bus goes to.

Widen it to the state and six government arts and science colleges hold numbered places, all of them on the same admission list this one is on.

Government college, NIRF 2025CityRankOverallTLRRPCGOPerception
Presidency CollegeChennai1570.6278.4459.4668.5977.71
Queen Mary's CollegeChennai6257.6865.4934.2474.1319.87
Government Arts CollegeCoimbatore6757.4970.7122.5770.3828.61
Government Arts CollegeKumbakonam7157.3070.3224.3780.130.00
Alagappa Government Arts CollegeKaraikudi7656.8063.3535.1368.8241.99
Rajah Serfoji Government CollegeThanjavur7956.5761.7951.3574.370.97

The column that separates this campus from the other five is not research, it is teaching resource. Its 61.79 on teaching, learning and resources is the lowest of the six, below Alagappa on 63.35 and more than eight points below the two Government Arts Colleges at Coimbatore and Kumbakonam, and that parameter is built on faculty strength, student to teacher ratio and money spent. So the government college in this set doing the most measured research is also the one measured as having the least to teach with, which is a strange pair of facts to hold at once and the clearest thing this table says about Thanjavur.

Which one wins depends entirely on what a candidate plans to do next. For a bachelor's degree and a job, Kumbakonam is ahead on the total, ahead on teaching resource and ahead on graduation outcomes, 80.13 to 74.37. For a master's or a doctorate in the delta, the position reverses: 51.35 on research and professional practice against Kumbakonam's 24.37 is the widest gap on the whole table between the two, and the ten doctoral subjects sitting behind that score are what a research-minded candidate is actually choosing. Do not extend the comparison to fees or salaries: what these six have published in common is the ranking table and the sanctioned strength beside their names, and nothing else on this list has been filed to a shared definition.

Contact & Location

DetailValue
AddressRajah Serfoji Government College (Autonomous), Near New Bus Stand, Thanjavur 613005, Tamil Nadu
Phone+91 4362-226417
Emailenquiry@rsgc.ac.in
Examination officecoe@rsgc.ac.in, 04362 292496
Official websitersgc.ac.in
Affiliating universityBharathidasan University, Tiruchirappalli
StatusState government, co-educational, autonomous since 2004
Campus location typeUrban

The college files a second line and a second address for correspondence. Its quality-assurance return gives 04362228102 as the alternate phone and tnjrsgc@yahoo.com as the head of the institution's registered e-mail, which is the address on its accreditation paperwork rather than the enquiry address on the contact page.

Verified

Approvals & Accreditation

Statutory approvals and accreditation grades from official bodies.

official-report

Both of the college's University Grants Commission entitlements are dated to the week it opened: its accreditation report enters 2f of UGC and 12B of UGC against the same date, 23-06-1955, and its answer on resource mobilisation repeats the entitlements alongside Permanent Affiliation of the Bharathidasan University. Grading came very much later, and the college has now been through four cycles of it.

NAAC cycleGradeScoreYear of accreditationValid fromValid to
Cycle 1Three Star65-70200017/04/200016/04/2005
Cycle 2B+80.30200731/03/200730/03/2012
Cycle 3A3.17201619/02/201618/02/2021
Cycle 4A3.18202403/01/202402/01/2029

The two right-hand columns are the ones to read. Third-cycle validity ran out on 18/02/2021 and the fourth-cycle award begins on 03/01/2024, so the cohorts that joined in 2021, 2022 and 2023 studied at a college holding no current accreditation for part or all of their degree, and neither return remarks on the gap.

That was not the first break in the run. The same table has cycle 2 expiring on 30/03/2012 and cycle 3 not beginning until 19/02/2016, a window wide enough to hold a three-year degree from start to finish. Cycle number is therefore the wrong thing to check a certificate against; the validity dates are the ones that decide whether the college was accredited on the day a mark sheet was issued.

What is not on the site is the certificate for the grade in force. The IQAC's NAAC page lists certificates under 2015-2016, 2006-2007 and 1999-2000, and each of the three opens on a caption with an empty panel underneath where the certificate should load; nothing is listed for the fourth cycle at all. The peer team report the college does publish belongs to the visit behind the 2016 award, while the photographs on that same NAAC page are of the 2023 peer team visit, the one that produced the grade on the masthead today. The older report is still the more useful document, because the assessors set the institutional weaknesses down in their own words: first generation learners, weak in communication skills, no formal consultancy or collaborations, shortage of class rooms and infrastructural facilities, and very poor library facilities.

The paperwork behind the grades has a hole of its own. The quality reports page posts a return for every year from 2015-2016 to 2021-2022, then jumps straight to 2023-2024, with nothing filed for 2022-2023 and nothing yet for 2024-2025. The cell that writes them was established on 24/07/2008 and answers on iqac@rsgc.ac.in, which is a third address again beside the two the college prints for correspondence.

Underneath the institutional grade there is nothing to produce, and that follows from what is taught rather than from missing paperwork. The table the accreditation report keeps for recognition or approval by statutory bodies other than the Commission, the row an AICTE, NCTE or PCI approval would sit in, is filed as No contents, and the same profile answers No to College with Potential for Excellence status and No to recognition by any other governmental agency. Programme-level accreditation does not arise on a roll of B.A., B.Sc. and B.Com. degrees: those are sanctioned by Bharathidasan University and the state, and the National Board of Accreditation, whose registers cover technical and professional courses, carries no entry for the college.

One line of the masthead is worth chasing, because only a single document supports it. Every page of the website is headed NAAC 'A' Grade & DST-FIST Institution, and the sanction sits in the quality report for 2020-21, which enters the special status as DST FIST from the Ministry of Science and Technology, year of award 01/04/2020, amount 61.0. The fourth-cycle accreditation report, filed three years afterwards, does not use the word FIST anywhere in the 107 pages it runs to, so the current document a candidate is most likely to open is the one that leaves the claim unsupported.

NAAC Grade
A
CGPA 3.12
Affiliation
Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirappalli
AISHE Code
C-35846

Aid

Scholarships

The fee this college does not print is largely settled by two welfare departments, and the register naming the schemes belongs to the directorate that runs the college. The Directorate of Collegiate Education keeps a scholarship table for the institutions it administers, and the row reaching most students here is the free education scholarship for degree students: Backward Classes, Most Backward Classes and Denotified Communities studying in three year Degree Courses in Government and Government Aided Arts and Science colleges are sanctioned special fee and non-refundable compulsory fee, with tuition fee waived, on a parental income ceiling of Rs 2.50 lakh for Backward Classes and no condition for the other two. For Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe candidates, the Adi Dravidar and Tribal Welfare Department takes 1000 boys and 1000 girls in the order of their plus 2 marks and pays an award of Rs.3,000 each per annum for a period of 5 years. Put those two rows beside the college's own community chart for 2020-2021, which enters no undergraduate at all under Open Competition, and it is plain how much of this roll the state is carrying.

Neither award is claimed on a portal. The directorate's instruction is that BC, MBC and DNC College students can collect their BC, MBC, and DNC Scholarship applications from their Institutions and submit the duly filled-in applications with the relevant documents to the Institutions, which makes the office in Thanjavur the counter that matters. The college's whole published contribution to that is one SC scholarship form sitting among the student forms on its homepage; there is no scholarship page in its menu, no calendar of closing dates, and its SC/ST Cell page, where an officer to ask would be named, is published with nothing under the heading.

Two further rows on the same table reach the deepest parts of this campus. The EVR Nagammai scholarship applies only to girl students pursuing postgraduate degree courses in Arts and Science from a recognised college in Tamil Nadu, which is where the college's women outnumber its men, and the Chief Minister Research Fellowship, under G.O.No 53 of the Higher Education Department dated 27.02.2023, funds 180 scholars per year reading for a Ph.D. in a government or aided college, which is the money behind ten doctoral subjects.

What actually reaches students is counted in the college's own returns, and they do not agree with each other. Between the two, the government line falls and the institutional line stops being empty: 3885 students benefitted by scholarships and freeships provided by the Government in 2020-21, against a Nil return for the institution and non-government agencies, and 3691 from the Government in 2023-24, with 164 from the institution and non-government agencies. Its accreditation report counts the same population on a different scale again, reporting 85.38 percent benefitted over five years, on year-wise figures of 1361, 1295, 1430, 1410 and 1300 for 2021-2022 back to 2017-2018. That leaves 2020-2021 recorded as 1295 in one document and 3885 in another, with no note in either to reconcile them.

What the college funds itself is small, and most of it is not cash. Its accreditation report lists Fee waiver, fees concession, cash prizes for Rank holders among the offers to students, describes free buses, and free hostel facilities provided to all deserving students from the disadvantaged sections as financial initiatives, and says eligible students are forwarded for farmers' scholarships, single child scholarships, Tamil medium scholarships and first-generation scholarships. Its quality cell's record of the year's work is at the same altitude: an awareness programme conducted on the Moovalur Ramamirtham Scholarship Scheme, and a meeting to create awareness on various scholarship schemes provided by the state and central Government. Explaining the schemes and forwarding the forms is the college's part in this; the sanction is signed elsewhere.

Two clauses that bite hardest on this campus are published by the paying department rather than by the directorate. Students studying in the second shift in Government and Government aided colleges are sanctioned scholarship by applying the same conditions stipulated for students studying in the morning shift, which is what makes the evening sections of commerce, English and zoology worth enrolling in for a Backward Class or Most Backward Class candidate; and a student living in a hostel attached to the institution draws boarding and lodging charges at the enhanced rate of Rs.4000 per year, Rs.400 per month for 10 months, from the year 2021-22 on top of the award. That is the only rupee figure attached to residence here anywhere in the public record, and it is the state's, not the college's.

One fund is described as the college's own money, and its terms are not published. The accreditation report says that through the endowment, scholarships and endowment prizes are provided to the meritorious students who excel in sports and cultural activities. No rulebook, no amount and no list of past recipients appears beside it, so it belongs on the list of questions for the office rather than in anybody's arithmetic.

Voices

Student Reviews

Student opinion about this campus has exactly one publisher, and it is the college. Expertie adds no score of its own and reproduces none from anywhere else, so what there is to report is the institution's own instrument, and where that instrument stops is the instructive part.

Five feedback forms hang under one menu on the college website, for students, parents, alumni, faculty and employers, and beside them sits a Students Satisfaction Survey of ten questions. Read the questions before weighing any result taken from them. Most offer Excellent, Average, Satisfied and UnSatisfied, a four-way choice with one plainly negative option and two that overlap, only the teaching question runs on a 1 to 10 scale, and several are worded so that they carry their own answer, among them whether the college provides transparency in conducting examination and declaration of results.

The published analysis has not moved in years. The survey page offers analysis reports for 2018-2019, 2019-2020, 2020-2021 and 2021-2022 and nothing since, and each of those four files is a scan with no text layer, so nothing inside them is searchable and every figure has to be taken off the image by eye. The accreditation report meanwhile claims the whole loop is closed, that Feedback collected, analysed, action taken & communicated to the relevant bodies and feedback hosted on the institutional website. Hosted it is; legible it is not.

So the most recent thing this college publishes about how its own students rate it is dated 2021-2022 and arrives as an image nobody can search, quote or verify a figure from, which is a stranger position than never having run the survey.

One number about student opinion here is legible, and it sits in a different document. The accreditation report answers the online student satisfaction survey regarding teaching learning process with 3.73, which is the figure the assessors weighed rather than anything the survey page shows. The current quality report carries no figure at all: its student satisfaction survey box holds nothing but the address of that same survey page, so the official trail for 2023-2024 ends at scans two academic years older than the return pointing to them.

Questions

Frequently asked questions

At a glance

Quick facts

Established
1955
Affiliation
Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirappalli
NIRF 2025 (College)
Rank #79NIRF· 2025-08-14
NAAC
A, CGPA 3.12
Website
rsgc.ac.in

Get counselling

Tell us what you are looking for and get guidance for your shortlist.

Get counselling
Expertie

Expertie Editorial Team

This page is researched and maintained by the Expertie editorial team, and checked against official sources.

Found something that looks wrong? Email us at editorial@expertie.com.

Last updated