Expertie
Scholarships Get counselling
NATI
governmentCollege

National Institute Of Pharmaceutical Education And Research Kolkata

Kolkata, West Bengal Est. 2007 Official site Updated
NIRF Pharmacy
#29

The government's most recent Pharmacy ranking scores NIPER Kolkata 84.73 on teaching, learning and resources, the best mark any of the seven NIPERs earned, and 31.61 on research and professional practice, the worst. Rank 29 is what a strong teaching score and a weak research score produce together, and the gap between the two is the most useful thing on this institute's card.

Two other facts decide a preference here. One of the ten programmes that admitted in the last round, M.Tech. Medical Technology, runs at no other NIPER in India and is the only block on the Kolkata grid with no monthly fellowship attached. And the institute is spread across three addresses: teaching at Chunilal Bhawan on Maniktala Main Road, a hostel on the other side of Kolkata at Salt Lake, and a permanent campus at Panihati whose foundation stone went down in 2023.

Overview

The institute is an Institute of National Importance created in 2007 under the Department of Pharmaceuticals in the Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers, and it opened narrow: three M.S. (Pharm.) disciplines only, Medicinal Chemistry, Natural Products and Pharmacoinformatics, on its about page. Pharmacology and Toxicology followed in 2018 and Pharmaceutics in 2020. Doctoral work began in the academic year 2016, in the same three founding subjects, before picking up the two newer ones. That history accounts for five of the ten disciplines admitting here today and stops at 2020; the rest arrived without a date anywhere on the institute's own record.

FactDetail
StatusInstitute of National Importance, autonomous under the Department of Pharmaceuticals
MinistryMinistry of Chemicals and Fertilizers
Established2007
Teaching addressChunilal Bhawan, Maniktala Main Road, Kolkata 700054, West Bengal
Second campusPanihati, North 24 Parganas, foundation stone laid 25 August 2023
HostelIC Block, Sector III, Bidhannagar, Kolkata 700106, with a bus to the institute
Levels taughtMasters and doctoral only. No undergraduate intake
Masters seats offered, 2026-27120, of which 100 carry a fellowship
NIRF 2025, PharmacyRank 29, score 59.12
DirectorDr. USN Murty, on additional charge
Sourced from the institute's about, contact, hostel and director pages, the NIPER JEE 2026 seat matrix for masters programmes, the NIRF 2025 Pharmacy ranking and a Press Information Bureau release of 25 August 2023.

The second address is the one nobody quotes and the one most likely to change what a two year enrolment feels like. Union Minister Dr. Mansukh Mandaviya laid the foundation stone of a new campus at Panihati in North 24 Parganas on 25 August 2023, announcing 78 crore rupees for the permanent campus and a further 100 crores to build a centre of excellence, in a release issued that evening by the Press Information Bureau in Kolkata. The reason the release gives is space: the institute is planning to expand its facilities, more room is needed, so the second campus goes up in the city's northern suburb. The national admission brochure now describes the institute as holding campuses at both Maniktala and Panihati, in the NIPER JEE 2026 Masters information brochure, without saying what is taught where. That sentence is the one to put back to the registrar in writing, naming your discipline, before an offer is accepted.

Its intake is national rather than Bengali, and by a long way. West Bengal supplied 27 of the 206 students on the two year postgraduate roll, the other 179 arrived from elsewhere in India, and nobody at all came from abroad, in the institute's NIRF 2026 data submission. That same return splits the roll 119 men to 87 women and puts 79 full time doctoral scholars behind it. A candidate from Kolkata gets no home advantage in the entrance process, and four in every five classmates will have moved for the seat.

Courses & Fees

Ten disciplines admitted here in the 2026-27 round, six under the M.S. (Pharm.) label and four under M.Tech., in the NIPER JEE 2026 seat matrix for masters programmes and the Masters information brochure that governs it. The last row of the table below is the one to read first, because it is the only one on this campus where the degree arrives without money.

DegreeDisciplineSeatsFellowship
M.S. (Pharm.)Medicinal Chemistry16With fellowship
M.S. (Pharm.)Natural Products10With fellowship
M.S. (Pharm.)Pharmaceutical Analysis8With fellowship
M.S. (Pharm.)Pharmacology & Toxicology15With fellowship
M.S. (Pharm.)Pharmaceutics15With fellowship
M.S. (Pharm.)Pharmacoinformatics8With fellowship
M.Tech.Biotechnology8With fellowship
M.Tech.Medical Devices8With fellowship
M.Tech.Biopharmaceuticals12With fellowship
M.Tech.Medical Technology20Without fellowship
Total120
Kolkata's ten discipline block, exactly as printed on the masters seat matrix the NIPER JEE office issued before counselling opened.

M.Tech. Medical Technology runs at Kolkata and nowhere else. The course availability tables in the Masters information brochure tick it for this institute and cross it out for the other six, and the row exists only in the without fellowship table; there is no funded version of it anywhere in the system. The one campus in India that teaches this degree offers it without a stipend. Two other disciplines here are scarce rather than unique: Pharmacoinformatics runs at Hyderabad, Mohali and Kolkata alone, and Natural Products at those three plus Ahmedabad, in the same seat availability tables.

Before you plan around any of that, know that the institute's own site disagrees with the counselling grid. Its academic programme page lists eight postgraduate disciplines rather than ten, puts Medicinal Chemistry at 19 seats and Pharmaceutics at 20, and carries neither M.Tech. Biotechnology nor M.Tech. Medical Technology at all. Whatever that page is describing, it is not the round you would be applying to. The seat matrix published before counselling is the only list that governs an allotment.

There is no NIPER Kolkata fee schedule. What exists is one national schedule that this campus bills against, broken into a long list of separate one time and per semester heads, and the reason no two aggregators quote the same annual figure for Maniktala is that each of them totals a different subset of those heads.

Fee head, M.S. (Pharm.) and M.Tech.General, OBC, EWSSC, STGovernment or industry sponsored
One time charges before admission₹48,496₹48,496₹75,698
Tuition fee, each semester₹26,022NilNot stated separately
Laboratory fee, each semester₹11,483₹11,483Not stated separately
Hostel rent, each semester₹4,593₹4,593Not stated separately
Electricity, each semester₹5,500₹5,500Not stated separately
Each semester, total₹57,167₹31,145₹92,535
Payable before admission, first semester₹1,05,663₹79,641₹1,68,233
Every figure is from section 4.1.1 of the NIPER JEE 2026 Masters information brochure.

Three of those heads are optional, and one Kolkata charge is not in the table at all. Hostel admission of ₹3,496, hostel rent of ₹4,593 and electricity of ₹5,500 come off the bill for a student who declines a room, in the same brochure, and that clause is genuinely usable here because the campus sits inside a city large enough to live in. The charge the table omits is stated in the Kolkata section of that brochure instead: this institute levies a miscellaneous fee for the transport it arranges between the hostel and the institute. Whichever way you go, a Kolkata commute is part of the price.

A doctorate is billed on the same heads at different rates, and almost the whole gap is bench and bed. Set the Ph.D. information brochure beside the Masters information brochure and the laboratory head runs ₹22,960 a semester against ₹11,483, the hostel room ₹7,654 against ₹4,593, and hostel admission ₹5,162 against ₹3,496, while tuition sits unchanged at ₹26,022 in both. That is what lifts a doctoral semester to ₹71,705 from the taught degree's ₹57,167, and the opening payment to ₹1,22,367 from ₹1,05,663, with ₹45,683 and ₹96,345 in the column where tuition reads nil. Thesis evaluation is charged separately at submission, which belongs in a budget for the far end of a doctorate rather than the near end. USD 3,250 at admission and USD 2,075 for each semester after it is the doctoral price for a foreign national, who is treated as a hosteller even after declining a room.

One price list here belongs to nobody enrolled. Anyone coming for a short training or internship pays by duration on the institute's training fee page: ₹10,000 a month for one or two months, ₹25,000 flat for three, ₹50,000 for six and ₹75,000 for nine, with the in between durations billed as the last flat block plus ₹10,000 for each remaining month. That card is worth knowing about even if you are applying for a degree, because a short training placement is the one arrangement here that an entrance rank plays no part in.

Admissions

Nothing about getting in is decided in Kolkata. Admission here is an output of the common NIPER JEE process, administered from Mohali, and this institute's involvement starts only once a candidate has typed its name into a preference order, per the NIPER JEE 2026 Masters information brochure. The institute's own admissions page adds nothing current to that, describes admission as GPAT followed by NIPER JEE and still carries a 2023 announcement as its latest notice, so use the NIPER JEE portal for dates.

The scorecard and the marksheet are both filters, and both sit in front of the entrance result rather than behind it.

Eligibility gateRequirement
Qualifying degree60% in aggregate or CGPA 6.75 on a ten point scale
Relaxed for SC and ST55% or CGPA 6.25
Relaxed for benchmark disabilities50% or CGPA 5.75
National qualificationValid GPAT, GATE, NET or equivalent fellowship scorecard
Waived on that scorecardHolders of B.V.Sc., M.B.B.S., B.A.M.S. or B.D.S., foreign nationals and sponsored candidates
Awaiting a final resultEligible if examinations finish by 31 July 2026, on a bonafide certificate and an undertaking on ₹100 stamp paper
Kolkata applies every one of these unchanged; they are the national bars on a NIPER JEE candidature, in the 2026 Masters brochure.

Which of the ten Kolkata doors is open to you depends entirely on the degree already in your hand, and the spread is unusually wide because four of the ten programmes are M.Tech. degrees. The table below reads the subject wise eligibility in section 2.1 of that brochure against the disciplines this campus actually offered.

Kolkata disciplineWho may apply
M.S. (Pharm.) PharmaceuticsB.Pharm. only
M.S. (Pharm.) Medicinal Chemistry, Natural ProductsB.Pharm. or a master's in organic chemistry
M.S. (Pharm.) Pharmaceutical AnalysisB.Pharm. or a master's in organic or analytical chemistry
M.S. (Pharm.) Pharmacology & ToxicologyB.Pharm., B.V.Sc., M.B.B.S. or a master's in pharmacology
M.S. (Pharm.) PharmacoinformaticsB.Pharm., B.Tech. in bioinformatics, or a master's in organic, physical or pharmaceutical chemistry, biochemistry, biotechnology, molecular biology, bioinformatics or microbiology
M.Tech. Biotechnology, BiopharmaceuticalsB.Pharm., B.Tech. in biotechnology or a master's in biological sciences, biotechnology, microbiology or life sciences
M.Tech. Medical Devices, Medical TechnologyB.Pharm., M.B.B.S., B.D.S., B.V.Sc., a wide list of engineering branches, a four year BS, or a postgraduate degree in chemical, life, material or physical sciences and allied subjects
Entry routes for each Kolkata discipline, read out of the subject wise eligibility list in section 2.1 of the NIPER JEE 2026 Masters information brochure.

Count the rows before you rank this institute high. A B.Pharm. graduate can compete for all ten and nobody else can. An M.Sc. in organic chemistry reaches four of them. An engineering degree reaches the four M.Tech. programmes and Pharmacoinformatics, and only in the right branch, which puts the campus's one unfunded programme squarely in an engineer's path. One group skips the paper altogether: candidates holding a foreign passport, and OCI or PIO card holders carded after 4 March 2021, are exempted from the entrance test and apply through the Study in India portal instead, in section 2.10 of the Masters information brochure. No student on this campus's most recent roll came from outside the country.

EventDate, NIPER JEE 2026
Online application opens16 April 2026
Last date to apply23 May 2026
Form correction window25 to 26 May 2026
Hall ticket download opens8 June 2026
Computer based test13 June 2026
The published calendar for the 2026 cycle, from section 3.1 of the NIPER JEE 2026 Masters information brochure; merit list and counselling dates were left open there, to be announced on the NIPER JEE webpage.

One sitting decides all of it, and three fifths of that sitting is pharmacy. The NIPER JEE paper runs 150 minutes over 200 multiple choice questions, 120 of them drawn mainly from the B.Pharm. syllabus, each worth half a mark with 0.125 docked for a wrong answer, and the form costs ₹4,000 to submit or ₹2,000 under SC and ST reservation, in the Masters information brochure. Set that against the eligibility table above and the asymmetry is obvious: every discipline here except Pharmaceutics is open to graduates who never read pharmacy, and all of them sit the same pharmacy paper.

What this campus does run itself is the tail end of admission, and it publishes the paperwork. Its student notices carry a schedule for physical reporting and document verification for the 2026-27 session at the top of the list, hostel room allotment circulars for newly admitted postgraduate and doctoral students, a final reporting deadline, and a notice for spot counselling of vacant seats at NIPER Kolkata. The outcome of that round goes on a different page: two notices carrying the results of online spot counselling sit on the institute's news page, so an applicant left out of the national phases has to watch both lists.

Doctoral entry runs on a different split, and its deciding stage happens at the other end of the country. Fifteen per cent of a doctoral candidate's combined merit comes from an interview that must be attended in physical mode at NIPER Mohali, the remaining 85% from the written test, in the NIPER JEE 2026 Ph.D. information brochure. Nobody from Maniktala who would actually supervise the research sits on that panel, and it is the only face to face stage in the whole process.

Cutoff

No closing rank exists for this campus, from the institute or from the counselling office, so any category wise cutoff table you meet for NIPER Kolkata was built by whoever is displaying it. What does get published, before every round, is the sheet of seats still unfilled, and the Kolkata page of those sheets is unusually revealing because this campus stayed on them to the end.

Counselling stageKolkata seats still vacantWhat was left
Going into phase II49, plus 6 held for candidates with disabilitiesEvery one of the ten disciplines, 18 of the 49 in unfunded Medical Technology
Going into phase III26, plus 4 held for candidates with disabilitiesEight of the ten disciplines still open, 9 of the 26 in Medical Technology and 6 in M.Tech. Biotechnology
Going into phase IV17, plus 4 held for candidates with disabilitiesFive disciplines, led by 9 in Medical Technology and 4 in Natural Products
Every count above is the Kolkata block of the vacancy sheet the counselling office released ahead of that round, for the second, the third and the fourth.

Two disciplines account for most of what would not fill, and only one of them is the obvious candidate. Medical Technology behaved exactly as an unfunded programme behaves: 18 of its 20 places were still open after the first phase and 9 of them survived all four, on the phase II and phase IV sheets. Natural Products is the surprise. It is a funded programme, it is one of the three subjects this institute opened with in 2007, it has only 10 seats, and 8 of them were still vacant going into phase II, 5 into phase III and 4 into phase IV. The oldest department on the campus was the hardest one to fill.

M.Tech. Biotechnology went the wrong way between rounds, and that says something the totals hide. Its Kolkata vacancy count rose from 3 before phase II to 6 before phase III, on the phase II and phase III sheets, which happens when candidates already holding those seats upgrade out of them. Four of those six went during phase III, leaving 2 on the phase IV sheet.

For an unreserved candidate the practical instruction is the opposite of the one a campus that fills early would give you. Seats in most Kolkata disciplines were still on the sheet in the third and fourth rounds, so an offer here can usually be held while an upgrade elsewhere is chased. Pharmacoinformatics is the exception. Only 1 of its 8 places was left when phase II opened, and it showed zero vacancies on both the phase III and phase IV sheets, the only Kolkata discipline that was full at both. That is the one queue to convert on sight.

Placements

Pay at this campus is described by exactly one number, and it is a middle rather than an average. ₹5,10,000 was the median filed for the 2024-25 batch, out of which 77 of 111 on-time finishers took a job and 11 went on to study further, in its NIRF 2026 data submission. No mean and no top offer appears anywhere in that filing or on any page of the institute's website to set beside it.

Graduating yearFinished in stipulated timePlacedMedian salaryWent to higher studies
2021-224932₹3,80,00015
2022-237555₹4,70,00019
2023-248861₹5,05,00023
2024-2511177₹5,10,00011
Four years assembled from the institute's NIRF 2025 and 2026 data submissions.

The pay line has flattened just as the cohort has doubled. The median climbed steeply from ₹3,80,000 to ₹5,05,000 across three cycles and then barely shifted, reaching ₹5,10,000, while the graduating class went from 49 to 111 over the same stretch, in the NIRF 2025 and NIRF 2026 submissions. More graduates are being placed each year and the middle of the market has stopped moving for them.

The higher studies column is where something changed abruptly. It ran 15, 19 and 23 across three cycles and then fell to 11 in 2024-25, in the NIRF 2026 data submission, against a cohort that was the largest the institute has ever graduated. Fewer than one leaver in ten went on to research in the most recent year, on a campus whose entire intake is a research masters, and that is worth raising with a department before you accept a seat intended as a route to a doctorate.

Employers are named, but only in the national brochure and only with a ceiling rather than a distribution. Recent leavers went to Biocon in Bangalore, Aragen, Audree of the Hetero group, Airis Pharma, Vivo Biotech, Natco, Sci Life Science and Ferring Pharma in Hyderabad, WNS in Gurgaon, Jubilant, Sravathi, MC Analytics and Suven Life Sciences in Bangalore, TCG Life Science in Kolkata and Macleod in Mumbai, with a package of up to 6 lakh a year, in the NIPER JEE 2026 Masters information brochure. Read that list geographically before you read it for the money. TCG Life Science is the only Kolkata name on it and the only one anywhere in eastern India; everything else is Hyderabad, Bangalore, Gurgaon or Mumbai. Studying pharmacy in Kolkata does not appear to mean working in Kolkata afterwards.

The institute publishes no placement report of its own. The Placement entry in its site footer is an anchor with an empty destination, there is no placement cell page anywhere on the site, and the recruiter names above exist only in a document produced at Mohali. A candidate sponsored by a government department or a pharmaceutical employer is outside all of it in any case, since a sponsored candidate is excluded from the financial assistance and placement provisions in the same brochure.

Seat Matrix

Reservation is applied inside each discipline here rather than across the intake as a whole, so the grid below is what an allotment is actually drawn from. The fellowship split does not run through it: nine blocks are funded and one is not.

DisciplineTotalURSCSTOBCEWS
M.S. (Pharm.) Medicinal Chemistry1682141
M.S. (Pharm.) Natural Products1061021
M.S. (Pharm.) Pharmaceutical Analysis851020
M.S. (Pharm.) Pharmacology & Toxicology1582131
M.S. (Pharm.) Pharmaceutics1582131
M.S. (Pharm.) Pharmacoinformatics851020
M.Tech. Biotechnology851020
M.Tech. Medical Devices851020
M.Tech. Biopharmaceuticals1271031
M.Tech. Medical Technology, without fellowship20103151
Total12067154286
The Kolkata page of the NIPER JEE 2026 seat matrix for masters programmes carries every cell above.

Six of the ten disciplines carry no ST seat at all, because an intake of 8, 10 or 12 does not divide far enough to produce one. Six more places sit above that grid for candidates with benchmark disabilities, 5 of them attached to the funded blocks and 1 to Medical Technology, in the same matrix. Three further quotas are written into the national rules instead, and none of them appears on any Kolkata document.

Supernumerary quota, set nationallyShare above the grid
Sponsored by a government department, R&D organisation, PSU or reputed private pharmaceutical enterprise5%
Foreign nationals, plus OCI and PIO holders carded on or after 4 March 20215%
Candidates with benchmark disabilitiesNot less than 3%
All three are listed under the seat availability tables in section 2.3 of the NIPER JEE 2026 Masters information brochure.

The doctoral grid is where Kolkata stands alone among the seven, and not in a good way. The 2026 round gave this institute no institute funded doctoral seat whatsoever. Its entire doctoral allocation of 7 places sits in the project funded half of the NIPER JEE 2026 Ph.D. seat matrix, two each in Natural Products and Pharmaceutics and one each in Medicinal Chemistry, Pharmacology and Toxicology and Medical Devices, every one of them tied to a three year project. Ahmedabad, Guwahati, Hajipur, Hyderabad, Mohali and Raebareli all appear in the institute funded list on the first page of that document and Kolkata does not. A place tied to a project is a place tied to that project's money and its timeline, so ask which grant funds the seat you are offered.

Two different numbers describe how big this campus is, and they point in opposite directions. Its ranking return files 100 approved places for 2024-25, down from 111 a year earlier, in the NIRF 2026 data submission. The counselling grid issued the following cycle carried 120, in the seat matrix. The 20 place difference is exactly the unfunded Medical Technology block, which is one way to widen an intake without widening the fellowship bill behind it.

Rankings

Twenty-ninth in 2025 on a score of 59.12, five places below where this institute stood a year earlier, in the pharmacy table the Ministry of Education publishes each year. The route to that position has a hole in the middle of it.

NIRF Pharmacy yearRankOverall score
20213349.90
2022Not in the published tableNot applicable
20233254.94
20242458.76
20252959.12
Compiled from the NIRF Pharmacy rankings for 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024 and 2025.

The 2022 row is not a formatting accident. The institute has an entry in the 2021 table and another in the 2023 table, and no entry anywhere in the 2022 one, which carries all six of its sibling institutes and not this one. Its best position so far was 24 in 2024, and it gave five of those places back in 2025 even though its own score rose from 58.76 to 59.12, which is what happens when the institutes around you improve faster than you do.

NIRF Pharmacy parameter20212025
Teaching, Learning and Resources80.1484.73
Research and Professional Practice13.7431.61
Graduation Outcomes57.2576.01
Outreach and Inclusivity63.7155.34
Perception39.2434.87
Overall49.9059.12
Both columns come from the institute's rows in the NIRF Pharmacy rankings for 2021 and 2025.

Research is doing the moving and it started from almost nothing. The research parameter was 13.74 in 2021, 13.87 in 2023, 26.83 in 2024 and 31.61 in 2025, so the whole gain arrived in the last two editions after two flat ones. Graduation outcomes rose almost 19 points across the same five tables, which fits a campus placing a rising share of a growing cohort. Two parameters went backwards: outreach and inclusivity fell from 63.71 to 55.34, and perception from 39.24 to 34.87 after peaking at 40.57 in 2023.

Set the 2025 card beside the six other NIPERs and the shape is unmistakable. NIPER Kolkata's 84.73 for teaching, learning and resources is the highest of the seven, ahead of Guwahati at 84.30 and Raebareli at 81.76, while its 31.61 for research is the lowest of the seven, below Hajipur at 37.04 and far below Hyderabad at 74.10, all in the 2025 Pharmacy table. Whatever this campus is short of, the framework does not think it is teaching resource. What it has not produced at the rate its siblings do is research output, and for anyone choosing a research masters that is the parameter to put to a department by name.

NIRF Pharmacy 2025
Rank #29· Score 59.12NIRF· 2025-08-14
#29

Departments

Counting departments here gives different answers depending on which page you open, and the discrepancy has seats attached to it. The national brochure says the institute runs postgraduate programmes in ten departments, naming Medicinal Chemistry, Natural Products, Pharmacoinformatics, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Pharmaceutics, Pharmaceutical Analysis, Biotechnology, Biopharmaceuticals, Medical Devices and Medical Technology, in the Masters information brochure. The navigation menu that runs across the institute's own site, including its about page, names eight and ends at Biotechnology. The faculty page quietly adds a ninth, Biopharmaceutical, that the menu never shows.

So the largest single block on the counselling grid belongs to a department the institute does not describe anywhere on its own website. Twenty of the 120 seats are M.Tech. Medical Technology, in the seat matrix, and neither of the site's two department lists contains it, so no page names its head, its faculty or its laboratories. An allotment into Medical Technology is worth nothing until the department, the supervisor and the building behind it are named to you in writing.

Doctoral study is narrower than the taught list in a way that matters for anyone planning to stay on. Five subjects took doctoral places in the 2026 round, Medicinal Chemistry, Natural Products, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Pharmaceutics and Medical Devices, in the NIPER JEE 2026 Ph.D. seat matrix. Pharmaceutical Analysis, Pharmacoinformatics, Biotechnology, Biopharmaceuticals and Medical Technology took none through the entrance test that year, which is half the taught grid with no doctoral continuation on this campus under its own name.

Facilities & Infrastructure

The instrument park is run as a priced service and the rate card is public, which is the most concrete thing this institute publishes about its own capacity. Its Central Instrument Facility charges by experiment on the 400 MHz NMR: an academic user pays ₹650 a sample for proton work, ₹750 for a 13C or DEPT run, ₹850 for 19F and 31P and ₹1,700 for two dimensional experiments, against ₹1,300 to ₹3,400 for the same work booked by industry. Infrared spectroscopy is ₹750 against ₹2,500, flow cytometry without a sorter ₹2,100 an hour against ₹4,200, and the J-1500 circular dichroism spectrophotometer ₹1,700 for the first hour with ₹600 for each hour after it, all with 18% GST on top. The same page prices LC-MS work on a Q-Tof high resolution system and both analytical and preparative HPLC by the hour. An outside user can therefore find out what an hour of this campus costs, which is more than most institutes disclose.

FacilityWhat is there
Central Instrument Facility400 MHz NMR, LC-MS Q-Tof and TQ, analytical and preparative HPLC, FE-SEM, XRD, TGA, Zetasizer, rheometer, circular dichroism, flow cytometry
Animal houseSingle storey block on a two way corridor with an air shower entry, four rooms for quarantine, caging and experiments, a dynamic pass box, a 96 cage individually ventilated system, tail flick apparatus, a rodent ventilator, inhalation anaesthesia and round the clock surveillance
LibraryFully automated on Koha with barcode circulation and an online catalogue, e-journals through the PM One Nation One Subscription scheme, SciFinder, Grammarly and iThenticate, remote access through Knimbus, open 10:00 am to 6:00 pm Monday to Friday
Other instrumentationAnimal imaging, confocal microscopy, a flow reactor, ultracentrifuge, spray dryer, DSC and real time PCR
Compiled from the institute's instruments facility, animal house and library pages and the NIPER JEE 2026 Masters information brochure.

Two centres explain where the research parameter is heading, and only one of them exists yet. The Centre for Marine Therapeutics sits on a five year project in affordable synthesis of expensive, complex drug molecules from marine sources, carrying 30 crore split 15 and 15 between the Department of Science and Technology and the Department of Pharmaceuticals, listed with Prof. V. Ravichandiran and Dr. S. P. Swain as investigators on the institute's projects page and described in the Masters information brochure as aimed at drug resistant cancers, bacteria and viruses. The second was announced at the Panihati ceremony as a Centre of Excellence in Flow Reactor and Continuous Manufacturing with 100 crore of Department of Pharmaceuticals funding, in the Press Information Bureau release of 25 August 2023. The 2026 admission brochure still says the institute is in the process of establishing that facility. A candidate drawn here by continuous manufacturing should ask what is actually running today.

Money is arriving faster than it is being spent on hardware, and the filing shows both lines. Sponsored research income more than tripled in a year, from ₹4,15,55,229 across 9 projects in 2023-24 to ₹14,87,34,160 across 12 in 2024-25, having stood at ₹3,67,52,527 across 7 in 2022-23, while spending on new laboratory equipment ran the other way over the same three years, ₹8,00,66,957, then ₹3,29,32,668, then ₹3,02,31,212, all in the NIRF 2026 data submission. Library capital spending rose to ₹96,49,020 in 2024-25 after ₹82,94,407 the year before. The output side of that money has only just started to show: patent publications went 1 in 2022, then 2 in 2023, then 8 in 2024, and 2024 is also the first calendar year in which any patent of this institute's was granted, at 2.

On accessibility the institute has given the same three answers two years running, and all three are at the top of the scale: more than 80% of buildings with lifts or ramps, more than 80% with specially designed toilets, and walking aids and inter-block transport available, in the NIRF 2026 and NIRF 2025 submissions. All three were given about one building at Maniktala. Panihati has not been built yet and the Salt Lake hostel is a separate property, so neither is described by that percentage.

Hostel

The hostel is not on the campus and it is not near it. Students are accommodated at the NIPER hostel in IC Block, Sector III, Bidhannagar, Kolkata 700106, which is Salt Lake, and the institute runs a to and fro bus service between there and Maniktala, on its hostel page. The national brochure adds the part that costs money: this institute charges a miscellaneous fee for making those transport arrangements, over and above the hostel heads in the fee table. It is the only one of the seven NIPER sections in that brochure to carry such a note.

Hostel chargeMastersPh.D.
Hostel admission, one time₹3,496₹5,162
Hostel rent, each semester₹4,593₹7,654
Electricity, each semester₹5,500₹5,500
Both columns are lifted from the fee schedules in the masters and doctoral brochures.

House rules here are stricter than the fee schedule suggests and they are published in full. Every resident is compulsorily a member of the hostel mess, rooms are allotted and cannot be swapped without the hostel supervisor's written permission, silence is required after 8:30 pm, and alcohol, intoxicants and smoking are banned outright inside the building, on the hostel page. Accommodation is offered on the availability of rooms and may be shared, per the Masters information brochure, and the institute posts its room allotment circulars for newly admitted students each session on its student corner rather than confirming a bed with the offer.

Faculty

The teaching bench has shrunk while the student roll has grown, and the two filings say so plainly. The institute entered 39 faculty members in its NIRF 2025 data submission and 31 in its NIRF 2026 data submission a year later. Five of those 31 carry a leaving date, so 26 were in post when it was filed, against 206 masters students and 79 full time doctoral scholars in the same document. The institute's own faculty page shows 19 names, so read the filing rather than the website if you want the working number.

A third of that bench is borrowed, which the headcount alone will not tell you. The same filing marks 8 of the 31 entries as visiting and 3 more as adhoc or contractual, leaving 20 regular posts, two of which are held on a master's degree rather than a doctorate, in the NIRF 2026 data submission. Borrowing is how ten disciplines get covered on a campus this size. It also means the useful question for a department is not how many teachers it has but how many of them will still be here when your thesis is submitted.

One column in that filing is stark enough to plan around. Exactly 1 of the 31 faculty entries is recorded as a woman, and she is a visiting appointment whose leaving date is already entered, against 87 women among the 206 postgraduates on the roll, in the NIRF 2026 data submission. Put plainly, an incoming cohort that is more than two fifths women will be taught by a bench that has effectively none, and any applicant for whom that matters should establish which named person in her chosen department would supervise her before she accepts.

Leadership is the other thing that has moved, and the institute is openly looking for a replacement. The same filing carries Prof. V. Ravichandiran in the director's row with a joining date of 6 July 2015 and a leaving date of 8 October 2024, the director's page now names Dr. USN Murty in the post on additional charge while he continues as Director of NIPER Guwahati, and an advertisement for the post of Director of NIPER Kolkata sits in the vacancies list on the institute's own home page. The projects page meanwhile still lists Prof. Ravichandiran as principal investigator on the largest grants the campus holds, the 30 crore marine synthesis project among them. On recognition the institute publishes almost nothing: its awards page names a single honour, Dr. Satheesh Kumar Nanjappan of the Department of Natural Products as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Notable Alumni

Reaching a former student of this institute means leaving its website. The alumni page does one thing, which is to hand you off to a separate portal at alumni.niperkolkata.edu.in; it describes an Office of Alumni Affairs and an Alumni Association but lists no office bearer, no batch roll and no directory, and it names no graduate at all.

Ceremonies are documented even where graduates are not. The convocation page carries papers for the fourth ceremony through the thirteenth, the oldest of them a magazine from the fifth convocation of 4 September 2017, and a list of medals for the twelfth convocation in 2024 sits among its student notices. The doctoral pipeline behind those ceremonies has thinned sharply: full time doctoral graduates numbered 9 in 2022-23, 7 in 2023-24 and 2 in 2024-25, in the NIRF 2026 data submission, while 79 scholars were on the roll. Two completions in a year against a doctoral school that size is the number to raise with a prospective supervisor.

News & Articles

Recruitment is what this institute has been publishing in 2026, and at pace. Its home page carries an advertisement for Phase 8 recruitment under employment notification NIPER-K/P-VIII/2026 dated 18 July 2026, one for Phase 9 under NIPER-K/P-IX/2026 dated 8 August 2026, and separate advertisements for the centre of excellence project seeking a chief executive, research associates and a junior research fellow. The same list carries a public notice warning candidates about fake recruitment advertisements. Three weeks between two general recruitment phases is what a campus does when it is filling posts, which cuts against the falling faculty count in its most recent filing.

The academic noticeboard runs to results and schedules rather than events. A schedule for physical reporting and document verification for the 2026-27 session heads the student corner, followed by fourth semester results for the 2024-26 postgraduate batch and first semester results for the 2025-26 doctoral batch. The news page is thinner still, with the 2026 holiday list posted on 8 December 2025, a One Nation One Subscription notice from 29 April 2025 and ministerial messages on Swachhata Pakhwada dated 31 August 2026.

Where the campus does gather people is around one subject in particular. Its photo gallery carries albums for both the fourth and the fifth Flow Chemistry and Natural Products Synthesis Symposium, alongside an international conference on chitosan held with the tenth Indian Chitin Chitosan Symposium, a symposium on drug delivery systems, a workshop on nucleic acids research and another on computational modelling and artificial intelligence. Flow chemistry appears twice in that list, which is consistent with the centre of excellence it is still trying to build.

College Compare

Inside its own city, this institute is not the top ranked pharmacy address, and the gap has widened rather than closed.

NIRF 2025 Pharmacy, Kolkata entriesRankScore
Jadavpur University2462.18
National Institute of Pharmaceutical Education and Research Kolkata2959.12
Guru Nanak Institute of Pharmaceutical Science & Technology8543.23
JIS University9741.67
Every institution the NIRF 2025 Pharmacy ranking places in Kolkata city.

Jadavpur University finished ahead in both of the last two tables, at 18 with a score of 64.14 in 2024 and at 24 in 2025. The two are not interchangeable, though, and the difference is not the ranking. Jadavpur admits school leavers to a pharmacy degree; this campus starts at masters level and takes only candidates who already hold a national fellowship scorecard. For a student finishing school in Kolkata this year, Jadavpur is the live option and this institute is a plan for four years later.

Comparing Kolkata with its own siblings is a narrower exercise, because one entrance paper, one fee schedule and one ₹12,400 stipend govern all seven, leaving only size and subject to separate them. Its 120 seats sit fifth of seven, ahead of Guwahati's 118 and Hajipur's 112 and behind Mohali's 244, Hyderabad's 210 and the 150 apiece at Ahmedabad and Raebareli, in the NIPER JEE 2026 seat matrix. On subject it is the only address in the country for M.Tech. Medical Technology and one of only three for Pharmacoinformatics, while a candidate who wants Pharmacy Practice, Regulatory Affairs, Regulatory Toxicology, Traditional Medicine, Clinical Research, Process Chemistry or any M.B.A. is ruled out here entirely, in the seat availability tables of the Masters information brochure.

Contact & Location

None of the desks below can help with the entrance test, the merit list or a counselling round; all of that is Mohali's until an allotment letter exists. Everything from reporting day onwards is answered here.

ContactDetail
AddressNIPER Kolkata, Chunilal Bhawan, Maniktala Main Road, Kolkata 700054, West Bengal
Main line+91 (033) 23200086
Registrar, direct+91 (033) 23202011, extension 204
Chief Vigilance Officer, direct+91 (033) 23202422
General enquiriesinfo.office@niperkolkata.edu.in
DirectorDr. USN Murty, director@niperkolkata.edu.in, extension 213
Deandean@niperkolkata.edu.in, extension 218
Registrar, emailregistrar@niperkolkata.edu.in
Instrument bookingsIcms@niperkolkata.ac.in
Every line is printed on the institute's contact page, except the instrument booking address, which is on its instruments facility page.

The scientific neighbourhood is the real argument for this address, and it is a Kolkata neighbourhood rather than a national one. Of the twenty agreements on the institute's collaborations page, nine are with organisations in the city: CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical Biology, the All India Institute of Hygiene and Public Health, the National Institute of Cholera and Enteric Diseases, Jadavpur University, Chittaranjan National Cancer Institute, Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Cancer Hospital, the National Institute of Homeopathy, Bengal Chemicals and Pharmaceuticals Limited and TCG Life Science. The other eleven are scattered across the country, from CSIR-CDRI at Lucknow and CSIR-IGIB in Delhi to IIT Madras, Alagappa University at Karaikudi and IBSD at Imphal. Two cancer hospitals and a public health institute inside the same city is a set of collaborators no sibling campus can match, and for a pharmacology, toxicology or clinical project it is the difference between sending samples away and walking them across town.

Verified

Approvals & Accreditation

Statutory approvals and accreditation grades from official bodies.

What this institute offers in place of a grade is legislation, published version by version. Its governing acts page carries the parent Act of 1998 as No. 13 of 1998 with gazette registration DL-33004/98 dated 26 June 1998, the amendment Act No. 19 of 2007 dated 3 April 2007, the Statutes gazetted as G.S.R. No. 391 on 8 November 2003 and amended on 10 September 2014, the Ordinance of 21 November 2005 with three later amendments dated 1 February 2010, 1 October 2012 and 24 January 2014, and a notification of 27 September 2007, the year this institute came into being. Most institutes publish an ordinance once, if at all; every revision of this one is on that page. There is no NAAC grade and no NBA programme badge to go with it, and there was never going to be: NAAC and NBA inspect the university affiliation system, and an Institute of National Importance created by Act of Parliament stands outside it.

The one inspection this institute has actually passed was of a building, not of the institution. Its Central Animal Facility is an approved establishment of the Committee for the Purpose of Control and Supervision of Experiments on Animals under the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, and no animal is released to a researcher until the Institutional Animal Ethics Committee has cleared the protocol, on the animal house page. Anyone taking a Pharmacology and Toxicology seat should treat that approval as the load bearing credential on this page, because it is what keeps in vivo work inside the building instead of contracted out.

AISHE Code
S-19746

Aid

Scholarships

Your stipend was decided the moment the allotment letter named a discipline. Nobody applies for it, nobody competes for it, and 100 of the 120 Kolkata seats carry it while the 20 in Medical Technology do not, in the seat matrix. Neither the amount nor the conditions belong to this campus. Section 4.2 of the NIPER JEE 2026 Masters information brochure sets ₹12,400 a month for every funded Indian student at all seven institutes, payable so long as the CGPA holds at 6.00 or better, withheld between 5.50 and 6.00 until it recovers. An unfunded seat here is billed exactly like a funded one.

Tuition relief is where this campus reads differently from its siblings, and the difference is who is paying. The NIRF 2026 data submission records 112 socially challenged and 35 economically backward students on the two year roll. Institute funds fully reimbursed tuition for 40 of them, state and central government funds for none, private bodies for none, and the remaining 107 got no full reimbursement from any source. Where several sibling campuses report government money doing part of this work, the Kolkata return puts a zero in that column and leaves its own budget carrying whatever gets carried.

An SC or ST candidate gets more from a line in the fee table than from any of that. Tuition is entered as nil for those categories, which removes ₹26,022 from every semester bill without an application, in section 4.1.1 of the Masters information brochure. A doctoral fellowship is a different bargain: section 4.2 of the Ph.D. information brochure caps it at four years, renews it yearly against progress and conduct, requires a CGPA of 6.50, and obliges every scholar to give the institute 8 hours of assistance a week on top of the research.

Voices

Student Reviews

A decimal rating for this institute needs a sample it does not have. Whatever score you find has been averaged from a few dozen volunteered entries set against 206 postgraduates on the roll in its most recent filing, nothing behind it is auditable, and this campus publishes no testimonial that could be checked against it, so no rating is shown on this page.

Four things settle more than a score would, and every one of them has a documentary answer. Whether the allotment sits in the funded column or in the Medical Technology block that pays nothing for an identical fee. Which building the two years happen in, with Maniktala running, Panihati unfinished and the hostel out at Salt Lake. Whether the subject awards a doctorate here at all, since half the taught grid took no doctoral seat in the last round. And, if the plan is to stay on, ask a prospective supervisor for their own completion record before the department's: two full time scholars finished here in the last year filed.

Questions

Frequently asked questions

References

Sources

  1. Official website – niperkolkata.edu.in
  2. NIPER JEE 2026 seat matrix for masters programmes – niper.gov.in
  3. NIRF 2025 ranking – nirfindia.org
  4. Press Information Bureau release of 25 August 2023 – pib.gov.in
  5. Director of NIPER Guwahati – niperguwahati.ac.in

At a glance

Quick facts

Established
2007
NIRF 2025 (Pharmacy)
Rank #29NIRF· 2025-08-14
Website
niperkolkata.edu.in

Get counselling

Tell us what you are looking for and get guidance for your shortlist.

Get counselling
Expertie

Expertie Editorial Team

This page is researched and maintained by the Expertie editorial team, and checked against official sources.

Found something that looks wrong? Email us at editorial@expertie.com.

Last updated