Chanakya National Law University, Patna
Five of the seven vertical categories that fill Chanakya National Law University's 69 B.A. LL.B. (Hons.) seats carry the words "of Bihar" in their own names, and the sixth, the Economically Weaker Section quota, is shut to outsiders by a separate Bihar statute of 2019. An applicant from outside the state therefore has exactly one queue here, the 28 unreserved seats, and in CLAT 2026 that queue stopped at All India Rank 1235. A candidate from inside Bihar reads the identical grid completely differently, because 4907 took the last Extremely Backward Class seat and 13020 the last Scheduled Caste one. The first year costs Rs 3,33,020 with a hostel room, and two of the five taught programmes on this campus never touch CLAT.
Overview
Bihar Act No. 24 of 2006, the Chanakya National Law University Act, is the instrument this university stands on, and the CLAT 2027 information brochure records it as recognised under Sections 2(f) and 12(B) of the UGC Act, 1956. Section 2(f) is what makes it a university in the UGC's eyes and Section 12(B) is what lets central grant money reach it. Neither settles whether a graduate can practise; for that the university's own recruitment brochure adds that CNLU is registered with the Bar Council of India, and the CLAT brochure notes separately that its law students take twenty-eight compulsory subjects in accordance with BCI regulations.
| Fact | Detail |
|---|---|
| Founding statute | Chanakya National Law University Act, 2006 (Bihar Act No. 24 of 2006) |
| Campus | Nyaya Nagar, Mithapur, Patna 800001, Bihar |
| Chancellor | Justice Sudhir Singh, Acting Chief Justice, Patna High Court |
| Vice-Chancellor | Prof. (Dr.) Faizan Mustafa |
| Registrar | Prof. (Dr.) S. P. Singh |
| Reservation statute | Bihar (In Admission in Educational Institutions) Reservation Act, 2003, Bihar Act 16 of 2003 |
| NIRF 2025, Law | Rank 17, score 62.40 |
| Student roll | 666 undergraduates, 67 postgraduates |
| Official website | cnlu.ac.in |
The founding date is not settled in the university's own paper. The CLAT 2027 brochure says CNLU was instituted on 15 August 2006; the recruitment brochure for the batch of 2024 says it came into being on 15 July 2006 under its founding Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Dr. A. Lakshminath, and describes an 18-acre site at Nyaya Nagar. The statute is the fixed point either way, and the year is not in dispute.
Location is the quiet advantage here and it is worth weighing against the campuses that sit an hour outside their city. The same recruitment brochure puts the university one kilometre from Patna Junction and five kilometres from Jay Prakash Narayan International Airport, with the state secretariat and the Patna High Court in the same city. For a student who intends to intern in chambers and appear in court from the second year onward, that geography does more work than a bigger lawn would.
Five intakes of that grid have produced a roll, and CNLU reports its shape. Bihar addresses account for 427 of the 666 students on the five-year degrees in the NIRF 2026 data submission, against 238 from the rest of India and exactly one from beyond it; the LL.M. year divides 41 to 26 on the same axis. Men lead women 375 to 290 across the undergraduate roll, while the postgraduate year sits almost level at 33 to 34. Two undergraduates in three being Bihar's own is not an accident of who applied, it is the arithmetic a grid built out of state categories is built to produce.
Courses & Fees
Three entrance routes fill the five taught programmes here, and the route you take decides your calendar, your fee sheet and whether a hostel room exists for you at all. CLAT carries the two five-year degrees and the LL.M.; CNLU's own all-India test carries the three-year LL.B.; the M.Sc. runs on a written paper and an interview held at the Mithapur campus.
| Programme | Length | Entrance | Notified seats |
|---|---|---|---|
| B.A. LL.B. (Hons.) | Five years, ten semesters | CLAT | 69 |
| B.B.A. LL.B. (Hons.) | Five years, ten semesters | CLAT | 69 |
| LL.M. | One year, two semesters | CLAT postgraduate paper | 66 |
| LL.B. (Hons.) | Three years, six semesters | CNLU-ET, the university's own test | 60 |
| M.Sc. Cyber Security and Digital Forensics | Two years, four semesters | Written paper and interview at the university | 60 |
| Ph.D., D. Phil. and LL.D. | Not stated | Not stated in the admission brochure | Not stated |
The M.Sc. is the odd one on that list and it is deliberate rather than opportunistic. It runs 80 credits across four semesters with laboratory hours attached to most papers, carries an exit award of a Post Graduate Diploma after the first year, and is open to a graduate of any discipline, per the brochure. Its selling line is that a law school teaching digital forensics can put its graduates in front of courts and investigating agencies, not only in front of employers, and the coursework reflects that with papers on cyber law, data protection and the evidentiary handling of digital material alongside malware analysis and cloud forensics.
The only Class XII bar the brochure states in its own words is 45% of marks, and it states it inside the Foreign National and NRI section rather than as a general rule, so a CLAT applicant should read the Consortium's eligibility clause alongside it. The three-year LL.B. asks for a bachelor's degree in any discipline at 45% for General and EWS candidates, 42% for BC, EBC and PWD candidates and 40% for SC and ST candidates, on the same brochure. The LL.M. is taught in five specialisation groups, constitutional and administrative law, international law, corporate and commercial law, intellectual property and information technology law, and criminal law, and a group opens only if at least five candidates choose it. Every LL.M. student writes a dissertation carrying 200 marks with a presentation and viva under it.
Now the money for a five-year entrant, head by head, as the current brochure sets it out.
| Fee head | Amount |
|---|---|
| Tuition, two consecutive semesters | Rs 1,50,000 |
| Admission fee, one time | Rs 1,500 |
| Admission processing fee, one time | Rs 5,000 |
| Development charges | Rs 10,000 |
| Moot court | Rs 5,000 |
| Arbitration and mediation | Rs 5,000 |
| Sports | Rs 5,000 |
| Literary and cultural activities | Rs 4,000 |
| Outsourced charges | Rs 18,000 |
| Internet | Rs 6,000 |
| Examination | Rs 5,000 |
| Library and journal | Rs 9,000 |
| Mess, tentative | Rs 42,000 |
| Room rent, double seated | Rs 35,000 |
| Electricity | Rs 10,000 |
| Alumni fee, one time | Rs 2,000 |
| NSS fee, one time | Rs 20 |
| Health insurance | Rs 1,500 |
| Convocation | Rs 4,000 |
| Library deposit, refundable | Rs 5,000 |
| Hostel deposit, refundable | Rs 10,000 |
| Payable at admission | Rs 3,33,020 |
Two lines under that table change what the total means. Tuition rises by 5% every year, so the figure a first-year student signs is not the figure they pay in the fifth, and the mess charge is marked tentative and revisable. A candidate admitted as a Foreign National or under the Non-Resident Indian quota pays Rs 3,91,500 of tuition instead of Rs 1,50,000 and Rs 5,59,520 in total, on that brochure.
What the continuing years actually cost is published separately and is lower, because the senior batches are billed on an older scale. The university's fee structure notice for the academic year 2024-25 put the second and third year at Rs 2,18,450 for a hosteller and Rs 1,74,450 for a day scholar, on tuition of Rs 1,14,950.
| Fee head, second and third year, 2024-25 | Hosteller | Day scholar |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Rs 1,14,950 | Rs 1,14,950 |
| Infrastructure development | Rs 6,000 | Rs 6,000 |
| Development charge | Rs 3,000 | Rs 3,000 |
| Student welfare fund | Rs 3,000 | Rs 3,000 |
| Examination | Rs 5,000 | Rs 5,000 |
| Facilities | Rs 16,000 | Rs 16,000 |
| Library | Rs 5,000 | Rs 5,000 |
| Mess | Rs 31,500 | Rs 10,500 |
| Room rent, double seated | Rs 18,000 | Nil |
| Electricity | Rs 5,000 | Nil |
| Moot court | Rs 2,500 | Rs 2,500 |
| Arbitration and mediation | Rs 2,500 | Rs 2,500 |
| Sports | Rs 2,500 | Rs 2,500 |
| Literary and cultural | Rs 2,000 | Rs 2,000 |
| Internet | Rs 1,500 | Rs 1,500 |
| Total | Rs 2,18,450 | Rs 1,74,450 |
Read the day-scholar column before assuming that living at home removes the mess bill. It does not: a day scholar still pays Rs 10,500 for lunch, and the notice gives the reason in one line, that students are supposed to be on campus from 09:00 am to 05:00 pm. Two smaller lines in the same notice are worth knowing before you pick a room. A single room costs Rs 18,000 plus Rs 6,000, while a double-seated room occupied alone costs Rs 18,000 plus Rs 12,000, so the smaller room is the cheaper one. An air conditioner adds Rs 20,000 for the academic year and an air cooler Rs 4,000, with no refund for light use. Fees go only through the university's ICICI Bank payment gateway; cheque and cash are not accepted.
The other three programmes are priced on their own sheets, and two of them exclude residence entirely.
| Programme, 2027-28 | Total |
|---|---|
| Three-year LL.B. (Hons.), day scholar only | Rs 2,30,520 |
| LL.M. without hostel charges | Rs 2,11,000 |
| LL.M. with hostel charges | Rs 2,96,000 |
| LL.M. including the refundable library deposit | Rs 3,01,000 |
| M.Sc. Cyber Security and Digital Forensics, day scholar only | Rs 3,03,420 |
The three-year LL.B. and the M.Sc. are both stated to be day-scholar programmes with no hostel facility, on that brochure, so anyone moving to Patna for either has to budget private rent on top of the totals above. The examination fee schedule attached to the LL.B. regulations is unusually detailed and unusually expensive at the margins: a repeat paper costs Rs 700, a backlog or detained paper Rs 2,600, and a student barred from two or more papers for short attendance pays a re-admission fee of Rs 4,000, the semester fee again, Rs 2,600 per paper and a late fine of Rs 50 a day. The lighter band, which the brochure applies to a student barred from two papers or fewer, swaps the re-admission fee for a shortage-of-attendance fee of Rs 10,000 per paper. Attendance is not a formality on this campus.
Admissions
Nothing crosses between the entrance routes here. A candidate turned away on one gains nothing on another, because CNLU runs each on its own calendar, its own application form and its own merit list, and the direct route for foreign nationals sits outside all of them.
The CLAT route covers the two five-year degrees and the LL.M., and all of those seats are filled on All India Rank through the Consortium's counselling. What is specific to CNLU is a declaration trap inside the form. Bihar's reservation law has no Other Backward Classes head at all; it has Backward Classes and Extremely Backward Classes as separate categories, and the CLAT 2027 brochure states that a Bihar candidate who does not write BC or EBC in the application form is not entitled to the reservation benefit. A candidate who ticks a generic OBC box and stops there has forfeited a seat before counselling begins. The certificates themselves have to be issued by the competent authority of the Bihar government, and the brochure repeats under every category that candidates from outside Bihar cannot claim the benefit, EWS included.
The second route is CNLU-ET, the university's own all-India entrance test for the three-year LL.B. (Hons.), and in 2026 it took seven rounds to fill sixty seats. The admission page for the 2026-27 LL.B. intake archives allotment lists dated 26 May, 2 June, 9 June, 3 July, 9 July, 10 July and 14 July 2026, and then a notice of 31 July naming the 60 students provisionally admitted. Four of the seven landed in July, three of them between the 9th and the 14th, so the tail of that calendar moves faster than a graduate watching for an email would expect. None of it is published through the Consortium; it lives only on that admissions page, and it is not mirrored anywhere the CLAT counselling portal would show you.
The third route is the M.Sc. in Cyber Security and Digital Forensics, and it is the only programme here decided partly by an interview. The brochure sets a 50-mark entrance paper of 50 multiple-choice questions held at the university campus, a 50-mark personal interview, and a total out of 100. It describes the paper as deliberately accessible, testing computer literacy, cyber awareness, legal aptitude and analytical reasoning, because the programme wants applicants from every discipline rather than only from computer science.
Foreign nationals and non-resident Indians apply directly to the university and not through counselling, and the two are judged on different things. Five seats are held for each across the two five-year degrees. A Foreign National candidate does not sit CLAT at all and is ranked on the percentage of marks in Class XII, with ties broken first on Class X marks, then on age, then by drawing a lot; an NRI candidate is ranked on the CLAT All India Rank. Both pay a one-time non-refundable application fee of Rs 10,000, and the brochure is explicit that unfilled seats in these two categories are not transferred to any other category.
Cutoff
CLAT 2026 ran to five provisional lists for CNLU and stopped there, and the last page of each one is a Cut-Off Rank Table stating the closing All India Rank seated in every queue. What follows is therefore a record of a finished cycle, not a forecast for the next one. A candidate with no Bihar certificate reads the General row and skips the six reserved rows under it. The Person with Disability row is the one exception worth understanding, because that reservation is horizontal and lands inside whichever vertical the candidate belongs to. On the B.B.A. LL.B. (Hons.) fifth list only one of the three disability seats fell in the General vertical, the other two going to a Bihar Backward Class candidate and a Bihar EWS candidate, so a disability certificate without a Bihar one still leaves you in the General queue.
| Category, B.A. LL.B. (Hons.) | Seats | Closing AIR, first list | Closing AIR, fifth list |
|---|---|---|---|
| General | 28 | 1141 | 1235 |
| EWS of Bihar | 7 | 1886 | 2375 |
| Backward Classes of Bihar | 8 | 2517 | 2980 |
| Women of Backward Classes of Bihar | 2 | 2549 | 3166 |
| Extremely Backward Classes of Bihar | 12 | 4592 | 4907 |
| Scheduled Caste of Bihar | 11 | 12822 | 13020 |
| Scheduled Tribe of Bihar | 1 | 18875 | 18875 |
| Person with Disability, horizontal | 3 | 26373 | 36837 |
The General queue barely moved across four rounds of counselling, from 1141 to 1235, and the fifth list shows the mechanism behind the last leg of that. Its fourth-round status table marks eleven General candidates between ranks 1108 and 1141 as Vacant, seats let go by people who took something else, and the fifth list then seats exactly eleven replacements, ranks 1185 to 1235. No new seat was created anywhere in that exchange. A candidate ranked past 1235 on this degree is waiting on somebody else walking away, and in 2026 that happened in the last round rather than the first.
The management degree runs consistently deeper than the arts degree in every category, which is the useful comparison if you would take either.
| Category, B.B.A. LL.B. (Hons.) | Seats | Closing AIR, first list | Closing AIR, fifth list |
|---|---|---|---|
| General | 28 | 1287 | 1368 |
| EWS of Bihar | 7 | 2450 | 2597 |
| Backward Classes of Bihar | 8 | 3352 | 3568 |
| Women of Backward Classes of Bihar | 2 | 3523 | 3756 |
| Extremely Backward Classes of Bihar | 12 | 7369 | 7797 |
| Scheduled Caste of Bihar | 11 | 17421 | 17550 |
| Scheduled Tribe of Bihar | 1 | 30407 | 30407 |
| Person with Disability, horizontal | 3 | 32493 | 41384 |
Take the largest reserved block on the grid, the twelve Extremely Backward Class seats, and the two degrees sit nowhere near each other: 4907 closed the arts degree while 7797 closed the management one, on the B.A. LL.B. fifth list and the B.B.A. LL.B. fifth list. The Scheduled Caste rows open wider still, 13020 on the arts list against 17550 on the management one.
A Bihar reserved-category candidate who is indifferent between the two degrees has a materially better chance at the B.B.A. LL.B., and preference order in the counselling form is where that choice gets made.
Move to the LL.M. and the arithmetic changes character. Its General queue travelled further between the first list and the fifth than either five-year degree did, so an opening rank here is a much weaker verdict than an opening rank upstairs.
| Category, LL.M. | Seats | Closing AIR, first list | Closing AIR, fifth list |
|---|---|---|---|
| General | 26 | 968 | 1278 |
| EWS of Bihar | 6 | 1832 | 2022 |
| Backward Classes of Bihar | 8 | 2461 | 2919 |
| Women of Backward Classes of Bihar | 2 | 2624 | 3388 |
| Extremely Backward Classes of Bihar | 12 | 4859 | 5534 |
| Scheduled Caste of Bihar | 11 | 5356 | 5835 |
| Scheduled Tribe of Bihar | 1 | 14916 | 14916 |
| Person with Disability, horizontal | 3 | 10103 | 10103 |
The postgraduate General queue opened at 968 on the first list and closed at 1278 on the fifth, so an applicant ranked outside the first thousand on the postgraduate paper should not read the opening list as the verdict. The single Scheduled Tribe seat in all three programmes never moved at all across the rounds, which is what a one-seat queue does: it is either taken in the first round or it stays where it is.
None of the tables above covers the three-year LL.B. or the M.Sc., and no closing rank exists for either, because neither uses CLAT. The LL.B. merit position is set by CNLU's own test and published only as named allotment lists on the university's admission page.
Placements
One CNLU document puts graduates and placements in the same table, and it is the annual return the university files with the Ministry of Education and then hosts on cnlu.ac.in.
| Programme | Graduating year | Graduated in stipulated time | Placed | Median salary | Higher studies |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Five-year degrees | 2022-23 | 137 | 105 | Rs 10,40,000 | 16 |
| Five-year degrees | 2023-24 | 136 | 110 | Rs 10,80,000 | 26 |
| Five-year degrees | 2024-25 | 103 | 80 | Rs 12,00,000 | 23 |
| LL.M. | 2022-23 | 61 | 43 | Rs 4,80,000 | 14 |
| LL.M. | 2023-24 | 66 | 51 | Rs 7,20,000 | 15 |
| LL.M. | 2024-25 | 66 | 53 | Rs 12,00,000 | 13 |
Add the columns before admiring them. In 2024-25 the filing counts 80 placements and 23 admissions to further study against 103 graduates finishing on time, and 80 plus 23 is 103 exactly; in 2023-24 it is 110 plus 26 against 136, exact again, on the same submission. A return that closes to the last graduate in two consecutive years is worth a question rather than applause, and the question to put to the placement cell is what it accepted as a placement. The 2022-23 row does not close that way. Against 137 graduates it records 105 placements and 16 admissions to further study, and the sixteen people left over sit in neither column, on the same filing.
Treat the LL.M. median with more caution than the undergraduate one. It moved from Rs 4,80,000 to Rs 7,20,000 to Rs 12,00,000 across three years on roughly the same number of placements, in that filing, and a median that triples in two years is describing a change in who gets counted rather than a market that tripled. Ask the department which employers those figures rest on before letting the one-year degree's number drive a decision.
Named evidence exists too, and it counts something narrower. The university's placement record for 2021 to 2024 lists fifty-three students by name, batch, employer and city, and it is headed as a record of students placed in the corporate sector. Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas, JSA, Lakshmikumaran and Sridharan, Wadia Ghandy and Co, S and A Law Offices, Spiceroute Legal, HSA Legal, Tuli and Co and DLS Law Offices appear on it alongside ICICI Bank, HDFC and Digit. Fourteen of the fifty-three entries are positions at the Patna High Court. Set that list against the ranking filing and the gap is not a contradiction; it is the difference between corporate placements the cell records by name and every outcome the annual return counts.
The public-service pipeline is where the numbers get large, and it is documented separately. Forty-two CNLU graduates cleared the 31st Bihar Judicial Services examination, listed by name, batch and merit serial on the university's own result notice, and two of them took merit serials 4 and 7 in that examination. Eleven more qualified the Assistant Public Prosecutor examination in 2023, on a separate notice. The CLAT 2027 brochure puts the cumulative figure at over 300 judicial officers produced by the university. If judicial service rather than a law firm is the plan, that is the record to weigh.
What sits between those two documents is nothing at all. The career development cell page is busy enough: individual recruitment notices going back to 2021, internship calls, the phone numbers of Prof. Ajay Kumar, Dr. Shweta Vats and Ms. Kirti, a separate placement record for 2024-25, and a list of alumni posted as judicial officers. None of it is totalled anywhere. Read the whole cell page end to end and you will not find how many offers a batch received, what the best one paid, or which recruiters came back a second year. CNLU publishes names, and it publishes a median in a government return, and it publishes nothing in between the two.
Seat Matrix
There is no all-India reserved pool at CNLU. Five of the seven vertical heads carry "of Bihar" in the brochure's own wording and the sixth, EWS, is closed to outsiders by the state's 2019 Act, so a Bihar certificate gates every seat except the unreserved ones. The percentages are Bihar's own too, and 18% for Extremely Backward Classes against 1% for Scheduled Tribes is a distribution no national grid produces.
| Category | B.A. LL.B. (Hons.) | B.B.A. LL.B. (Hons.) | LL.M. | LL.B. (Hons.) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unreserved, 40% | 28 | 28 | 26 | 24 |
| Economically Weaker Section, 10% | 7 | 7 | 6 | 6 |
| Scheduled Castes of Bihar, 16% | 11 | 11 | 11 | 9 |
| Scheduled Tribes of Bihar, 1% | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| Extremely Backward Classes of Bihar, 18% | 12 | 12 | 12 | 11 |
| Backward Classes of Bihar, 12% | 8 | 8 | 8 | 7 |
| Women of Backward Classes of Bihar, 3% | 2 | 2 | 2 | 2 |
| Total | 69 | 69 | 66 | 60 |
Two of those rows carry consequences worth spelling out. The Scheduled Tribe share is 1%, which produces exactly one seat in each programme, because Bihar's tribal population is small and the reservation tracks the state rather than the country; a Scheduled Tribe candidate from a state with a large tribal population gets nothing from that here and competes unreserved. Women of Backward Classes is a category most applicants will not have met before: it is a vertical head of its own, filled after all the other reserved seats are allotted, from women of the Scheduled Caste, Scheduled Tribe, Extremely Backward Class and Backward Class categories of Bihar ranked among themselves, per the brochure. A woman in one of those categories should file in her own category and will be considered for this one automatically.
Persons with disability are covered by a 5% horizontal reservation cutting across all the vertical heads, which the Consortium's own cut-off table settles in practice at three seats per undergraduate programme. Five Foreign National and five NRI seats sit outside the CLAT grid entirely, and the brochure notes that the reservation policy itself is subject to change by the Government of Bihar.
The sanctioned intake and the notified CLAT seats agree here, which is worth confirming rather than assuming. The NIRF 2026 data submission records an approved undergraduate intake of 138 for each of 2024-25, 2023-24 and 2022-23, and 138 is 69 plus 69, the two five-year grids above. It was 132 in 2021-22 and 120 in 2020-21, so the five-year intake has risen by fifteen percent in four years and then held flat for three. The postgraduate figure moved by one over the same period, from 66 sanctioned in the 2025 filing to 67 in the 2026 one, which is why the LL.M. grid totals 66 seats while the roll shows 67 students.
Rankings
CNLU climbed 14 places in a single edition of the Ministry of Education's law ranking, and the parameter columns show exactly which half of the university did it.
| NIRF Law edition | Rank | Overall | Teaching and resources | Research | Graduation outcomes | Outreach | Perception |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | 31 | 51.70 | 65.03 | 23.97 | 58.72 | 56.53 | 17.63 |
| 2025 | 17 | 62.40 | 72.35 | 23.82 | 79.23 | 64.74 | 36.06 |
Graduation outcomes did most of the lifting, from 58.72 to 79.23, and perception roughly doubled from 17.63 to 36.06, on the 2024 and 2025 tables. Research is the column that did not move: 23.97 became 23.82, a fraction lower. So the rise is a story about what happens to students who finish here and about how the university is now regarded, not about published scholarship, and a candidate choosing this campus for doctoral work should read those two columns in opposite directions.
The climb starts from further back than the 2024 row suggests, and one detail of the table itself belongs in the story. The published law lists for 2022 and 2023 each stop at thirty institutions and CNLU appears in neither; the framework widened the law table to forty places in 2024, and CNLU's debut is rank 31, in the band the widening created, and tied at that. So the honest description is a rise from a place that did not exist a year earlier to rank 17, across the only two editions CNLU has appeared in. That is fast, and it is also a very short record to read a trend off. One more edition of the law ranking will show whether the 62.40 behind rank 17 is a level or a peak.
The university claims more than the NIRF placing. Its CLAT 2027 brochure records 12th among law colleges and 4th among emerging institutions in the India Today 2025 survey, 35th in the IIRF 2025 ranking, and several international placings besides. Those come from the university's own summary of its results rather than from a ranker's public table, so treat the NIRF row above as the one you can independently check and the rest as the university's account of itself.
Departments
Teaching here is not divided into departments. The academic work is organised into named centres, and the research centres page lists eleven of them: a Career Guidance Centre, the Centre for Innovation Research and Facilitation, a Civil Services Study Centre, the Chanakya Centre for Alternative Dispute Resolution, a Child Right Centre, a Centre for Artificial Intelligence and Technology Law, a Gender Resource Centre, the Centre for Advanced Research on Corporate and Insolvency Law, a Centre for Innovation, Incubation and Legal Entrepreneurship, a Cybersecurity and Digital Forensics Centre, and a Centre for Law and Economics. The CLAT 2027 brochure names a twelfth, the Centre for Research in International Trade and Investment Laws, that the site's list does not carry, so ask which centres currently have a convenor rather than counting names off either page.
Above the centres sit two named chairs, and an outside body pays for each. The brochure describes a Panchayati Raj Chair established by the Government of Bihar, which it calls the first such chair at any law university in India, and an IPR Chair supported by DPIIT under the Ministry of Commerce and Industry. The Gender Resource Centre, one of the eleven on the site's list, was set up under the aegis of the United Nations Population Fund. Those are the three units at CNLU whose money has a name attached to it, and for the rest of the list the funder is not stated anywhere.
The consultancy work here ends up in the Bihar statute book, which is an unusual place for a law faculty's output to be checkable. CNLU prepared the draft Bihar Right to Business Bill, 2026 at the request of the state government and submitted it to the Chief Secretary on 7 June 2026, and a drafting committee chaired by the Vice-Chancellor prepared the Bihar Ease of Doing Business Bill, 2026 for the Department of Industries, which has since been passed by the Bihar legislature, per the brochure. The money behind that shows up in the annual return. The NIRF 2026 data submission records 22 consultancy projects for 16 client organisations worth Rs 89,41,802 in 2024-25, against three projects worth Rs 2,91,49,125 in 2022-23. More engagements for a third of the money means the average brief has shrunk, so a doctoral applicant weighing consultancy exposure should ask what a typical CNLU project now involves rather than reading the project count as growth.
Grant-funded research is the line that grew on both axes at once. The same filing shows 11 sponsored projects from five funding agencies worth Rs 1,12,10,062 in 2024-25, against two projects worth Rs 58,17,844 two years earlier. The publishing side is settled too: the journals page carries four titles, the CNLU Law Journal, the Chanakya Law Review, an e-journal on intellectual property research and an IP Bulletin. What none of it has done yet is register in NIRF's research column, which sat still while every other parameter rose.
Facilities & Infrastructure
Nishant Nilayam, the library, is the one part of this campus CNLU inventories rather than describes. The CLAT 2027 brochure counts 17,551 textbooks including bare acts and donated volumes, 10,403 reference books, 921 theses and dissertations, 31 subscribed journals, 30 national and 29 international bound back-volume sets, 10 magazines, 9 newspapers and 25 subscribed electronic databases and e-book collections. The paid databases named there run to SCC Online, HeinOnline Academic Core, Manupatra, LexisNexis Advance, Westlaw, AIR Online, Kluwer Arbitration, Kluwer Competition and Kluwer Intellectual Property, JSTOR, Live Law Premium and Bar and Bench, with e-book collections from Brill, Bloomsbury Hart, Cambridge, Taylor and Francis and Oxford.
What that inventory cost is published too, and the trajectory is steep. Nishant Nilayam absorbed Rs 63,74,446 of capital spending in 2022-23, then Rs 3,82,75,747 in 2023-24 and Rs 4,19,67,777 in 2024-25, on the NIRF 2026 data submission. Two years at that level after one at a fraction of it is a rebuild rather than routine renewal, though the filing does not say what the money bought, so a visitor who cares about the collection should ask the librarian which of the subscriptions and which of the shelves the recent spending went on.
Laboratory equipment is the other line that has moved, and at a law university it needs explaining. The same filing records Rs 3,51,33,099 of new laboratory equipment in 2024-25 against Rs 13,18,323 in 2022-23. A law faculty has little use for lab equipment on that scale, and the only teaching here that plausibly needs it is the M.Sc. in Cyber Security and Digital Forensics, whose papers carry laboratory hours on most of the syllabus; the filing does not label the spending, so an applicant to that programme should ask to see the labs before reading the figure as proof they exist.
Two separate medical services overlap on this campus, and the second one is genuinely unusual. The university's own health facilities page describes a health centre giving 24-hour general medical care with one resident doctor and two paramedical staff, one male and one female, plus oxygen and ambulance services on call. The same page then records that the Health Department, Government of Bihar has established an Urban Primary Health Care Centre on the campus, staffed with its own doctors and paramedics and offering laboratory testing. That second centre is run by the state health department rather than by CNLU, so it is the one to ask about if a chronic condition needs managing over five years.
CNLU writes about accessibility in prose on one page and answers for it in tick-boxes on another, and the two do not say the same thing. The facilities page calls accessibility a principle rather than a provision, and says ramps now rise where steps once did and that lifts open in the academic blocks. The ranking form takes the same subject and bands it: two of its three accessibility answers on the 2026 submission come back as the banded option rather than a plain yes, once for lifts and ramps and once for adapted toilets, with only the walking-aids question answered outright. A band leaves some buildings outside it, and since the horizontal quota seats three candidates with disabilities in each undergraduate degree every year, those particular buildings have names the registrar can supply. The brochure adds a basketball court, a football ground, a language lab, a dedicated accessibility lab and renovated smart classrooms to the picture.
Hostel
Two official documents describe residence here and they contradict each other, so settle this with the admission office in writing before you plan a budget. The hostel regulations on the university's own site state that every student admitted to CNLU shall reside in the hostels maintained by CNLU. The CLAT 2027 brochure says the reverse in one sentence: hostel accommodation is optional, and both local and outstation students may choose to be day scholars. The money follows the brochure, since every fee sheet the university publishes carries a separate day-scholar column with room rent and electricity struck out.
Where the brochure is unambiguous is the order of the queue, and it runs the way most families would not expect. Rooms go first to admitted students from other states, then to admitted students from outside Patna but within Bihar, and a student who lives in Patna is considered only if rooms remain after both of those groups are housed, per that brochure. On a campus where roughly two undergraduates in three come from Bihar, that priority is what makes residence workable for the minority who have travelled furthest.
Life inside the halls runs on the hostel regulations, which are specific enough to plan around. The gate closes at 10:00 pm unless the Vice-Chancellor fixes another time, visitors are received between 4:00 pm and 6:30 pm on working days, and alcohol, smoking, pan, tobacco and narcotic substances are all prohibited outright. Electrical appliances are not allowed in rooms, with air coolers the exception and only on written permission against a monthly payment. A warden structure of a faculty in-charge, senior, resident and deputy wardens and a matron sits over the halls, and a mess committee fixes meal timings each year.
The two newer programmes are outside all of this. Both the three-year LL.B. (Hons.) and the M.Sc. in Cyber Security and Digital Forensics are day-scholar programmes with no hostel facility at all, on the brochure, so a graduate moving to Patna for either needs a private room from day one.
Faculty
Ask how many people teach at CNLU and the university answers three ways, none of them wrong. The faculty directory names 44: six professors, five associate professors, twenty-nine assistant professors, one assistant professor of practice, two teacher associates and a coordinator for the Civil Services Study Centre. The NIRF 2025 data submission entered 51. The NIRF 2026 data submission lists seventy-seven, and its Association Type column is what reconciles them.
Split that seventy-seven by how people are engaged and the permanent core is small. Twenty-seven entries are marked Regular, twenty-two Adhoc or Contractual and twenty-eight Visiting, on that filing. Forty-seven of the seventy-seven hold a doctorate. So the number that matters for a student choosing a supervisor or a specialisation is closer to the directory's count than to the filing's, and the directory is the page to check for who is actually teaching this session.
The visiting bench is the roll's most quotable feature and also its most dated. The same filing carries Justice Madan Bhimarao Lokur, Justice Markandey Katju, Justice Arijit Pasayat, Justice Raghvendra Singh Chauhan, Justice Ashutosh Kumar, Prof. Amita Dhanda, Prof. Paramjit S. Jaswal, Prof. S. Sivakumar and Prof. Punam Saxena as visiting entries. Five of those nine joined in 2024 or 2025, so the bench is being refreshed. The other pattern in the column is older: twelve visiting records, Katju, Pasayat, Jaswal and Sivakumar among them, all carry a joining date of 31 July 2011 and no leaving date, so the roll has never closed them. Put that to the registrar as a plain question, which of these names took a class on this campus last session.
Not all the teaching is law, which follows from what the degrees actually contain. The filing carries an assistant professor whose qualification is an M.Com, a contractual appointee with an MCA and a visiting entry with a master's in broadcast journalism, against a B.B.A. LL.B. syllabus that runs accounting, managerial economics and human resource management alongside the law papers. Doctoral supervision has changed shape sharply in one year: the 2025 submission counted 24 full-time and 26 part-time research scholars, while the 2026 submission counts 62 full-time and none part-time, with 13 full-time doctorates awarded in 2024-25 against five the year before. Anyone applying for a Ph.D. here should ask what happened to the part-time route before assuming it still exists.
Notable Alumni
CNLU has been graduating lawyers since well before it had an alumni body, and the alumni committee page dates the committee to 2024, a student-run body with a faculty convenor that runs a biennial alumni meet and a gathering called Sammilan held on 1 January 2026. Its Notable Achievements section is a running congratulations feed rather than a hall of fame. It posts one graduate at a time, mostly from the 2024 and 2025 batches, at Dentons Link Legal, Saikrishna and Associates, Chandhiok and Mahajan, AK and Partners, Bharucha and Partners, Kochhar and Co, Sagus Legal, JSA, Lakshmikumaran and Sridharan, EY, ICICI Bank, ElpeeCo and Go Digit; it records two of them clearing the Supreme Court of India Law Clerk-cum-Research Associate examination for 2024, one at All India Rank 290; and it congratulates two graduates of the 2023 batch on the Rajasthan Judicial Services examination for 2024. Written offer by offer, the page shows where the newest graduates went and never how many did not go anywhere.
The substantial record is elsewhere and it is in public service. Forty-two graduates appear by name on the university's 31st Bihar Judicial Services result notice, spanning batches from 2010-2015 to 2019-2020 and including LL.M. graduates as well as the five-year degrees, and eleven more on the Assistant Public Prosecutor notice for 2023. The CLAT 2027 brochure claims over 300 judicial officers in total and describes graduates practising as Advocates-on-Record before the Supreme Court and in the High Courts, alongside officers in the Indian Foreign Service and the Indian Revenue Service.
Postgraduate destinations abroad are listed rather than counted. The brochure names the School of Oriental and African Studies, Cambridge, Berkeley, Leiden, the University of Southern California, Stanford and Northwestern Pritzker School of Law among the institutions its graduates have reached. No count travels with those names, so read them as evidence that the route exists rather than as a measure of how wide it is.
News & Articles
CNLU runs five noticeboards and they move at wildly different speeds, so which one you land on decides what you conclude about the place. The administrative board is fully current and slightly alarming: through July and August 2026 the general notices are dominated by attendance-shortage lists, three of them dated 11 August 2026 alone, naming the first-semester postgraduates, the first and third semester three-year LL.B. students and the first-semester five-year students who fell below 75%. Set those beside the Rs 2,600 per paper a barred student pays to sit the examination again, on the CLAT 2027 brochure, and the 75% rule stops being theoretical.
The examination notifications run just as hot and are the feed a current student lives on: mid-semester and surprise-test schedules for August 2026, backlog and detained-student notices, detention and promotion lists after the July repeat examinations, and the allotment and then amended allotment of LL.M. dissertation supervisors on 14 and 19 August 2026. Staff hiring gets a board of its own, and that is where the rolling advertisement of 14 August 2026 for a Finance Officer and a Civil Engineer sits.
The news page is the slow one and the better one for an applicant, since it records what the university chose to announce rather than what it had to. Its entries run from the M.Sc. CSDF admission notice of April 2026 and the live stream of the January 2026 convocation back through a legislative report by the Kautilya Society, a call for legal researchers from the Election Commission of India, an intellectual property workshop with DPIIT under the university's own IPR Chair, and a national conference on regulation in the real estate sector.
The fifth board has stalled outright. The students' achievements page carries a "last updated on 9 March 2024" stamp, covers debate, essay and quiz results only, and below a pair of 2024 entries it drops to 2016 and then runs backwards year by year to 2009. Moot court results, which is what an applicant to a law school actually wants from a page like that, are not on it at all; the live record of them is the gallery, whose 2026 albums cover the 4th CNLU Cyber Law National Moot Court Competition in April and the 5th CNLU-CARCIL National IBC Moot Court Competition in February.
College Compare
Bihar has two institutions in the top 40 of the NIRF 2025 Law ranking, and CNLU is the higher of them at rank 17 with 62.40, ahead of the Central University of South Bihar at Gaya at rank 23 with 58.84. For a Bihar candidate that is a real choice rather than a formality, because the Gaya institution is a central university and the Bihar Reservation Act that governs every reserved seat at CNLU does not reach it, so confirm Gaya's own grid from its admission notice before ranking the two.
| NIRF 2025 Law rank | Institution | City | Score | Research | Graduation outcomes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 | Gujarat National Law University | Gandhinagar | 76.23 | 51.45 | 84.29 |
| 15 | National Law University | Cuttack | 63.66 | 23.54 | 58.72 |
| 16 | Dr. B. R. Ambedkar College of Law | Visakhapatnam | 63.12 | 20.36 | 72.55 |
| 17 | Chanakya National Law University | Patna | 62.40 | 23.82 | 79.23 |
| 21 | Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University | Lucknow | 60.12 | 27.27 | 85.37 |
| 23 | Central University of South Bihar | Gaya | 58.84 | 18.87 | 84.62 |
| 27 | National Law Institute University | Bhopal | 57.64 | 26.47 | 74.41 |
| 28 | Maharashtra National Law University | Nagpur | 56.54 | 22.54 | 63.54 |
| 30 | National University of Study and Research in Law | Ranchi | 55.81 | 29.69 | 61.66 |
Both rows immediately above CNLU beat it on the overall score and lose to it on graduation outcomes. National Law University Cuttack takes rank 15 on 63.66 with a graduation-outcome score of 58.72, and Dr. B. R. Ambedkar College of Law takes rank 16 on 63.12 with 72.55, against CNLU's 79.23, on that ranking. For a candidate whose test of a law degree is whether it leads to work or to further study, the parameter says something the rank does not. It cuts the other way against Ranchi at rank 30, which scores 29.69 on research where CNLU scores 23.82.
For a candidate without a Bihar certificate the comparison collapses into one number. Only 28 of the 69 seats in each five-year degree are open to you, so this is a 28-seat university as far as you are concerned, closing at All India Rank 1235 on the fifth allotment list, while the same rank at an NLU with a smaller domicile share is competing for a much larger open pool. Do that open-seat arithmetic for every institution before you order your counselling preferences, because it decides your odds and it is never the headline seat total.
Contact & Location
The campus sits in the Mithapur farm area, close to the Jakkanpur police station, in the middle of Patna rather than on its outskirts.
| Office | Contact |
|---|---|
| Postal address | Chanakya National Law University, Nyaya Nagar, Mithapur, Patna 800001, Bihar |
| Registrar's office | 0612-2352300 |
| General enquiries | +91-612-2352314 |
| Registrar | registrar@cnlu.ac.in |
| Admissions | admission@cnlu.ac.in |
| Career Development and Recruitment Committee | cdrc@cnlu.ac.in |
Send admission questions to the admission address and recruitment questions to the committee, because they are answered by different people. Anything that needs a written ruling goes to the registrar's office, and two things at CNLU need one before a candidate accepts a seat: whether residence is compulsory or optional, since the hostel regulations and the admission brochure disagree, and which buildings fall outside the accessibility band recorded in the ranking return.
Verified
Approvals & Accreditation
Statutory approvals and accreditation grades from official bodies.
Four bodies stand behind a CNLU degree and each answers a different question. The CLAT 2027 brochure names two of them on its first page, inclusion under Sections 2(f) and 12(B) of the UGC Act, 1956. Registration with the Bar Council of India appears not there but in the university's own recruitment brochure, and it is the one a would-be advocate needs, since a law degree outside the BCI register is an academic qualification that leads to no enrolment at any state bar.
The fourth is the National Assessment and Accreditation Council, and CNLU holds its accreditation without announcing it where you would look for it. The university's NAAC page explains what accreditation is and links two self-study reports, one from 2015 and one from 2020, and then stops: no grade, no cumulative grade point average, no cycle, no validity date. The council's own register of institutions holding valid accreditation carries CNLU at Grade B in its second cycle. So the letter a listing site prints against this university is not invented, it is simply absent from the page that ought to state it, and a family who wants the score behind the letter and the date it runs out should ask the registrar for the certificate rather than trust a portal for either.
The internal quality machinery is visible even where the accreditation is not. The university runs an IQAC, publishes a public self-disclosure page, files an annual return to the ranking framework and lists an ombudsperson, a chief vigilance officer and an internal complaints committee constituted under the UGC's 2015 regulations on sexual harassment, per the brochure. When the next assessment cycle falls due is a fair question to put to the same office.
Aid
Scholarships
CNLU publishes no scholarship scheme of its own. Its scholarship page lists five external routes instead, the PM Vidyalaxmi scheme, the Post Matric Scholarship, the Central Sector Scheme of Top Class Education for OBC, EBC and DNT students, a Foundation for Excellence fee scholarship and the National Scholarship for Higher Education of ST students. There is no published merit waiver, no means-tested award and no income threshold set by the university itself, so what you qualify for here is decided entirely in a government office rather than in the admission office.
Government schemes carried full tuition for 371 undergraduates here in the NIRF 2026 data submission; CNLU's own funds carried 26 and private bodies 7, and 154 students got no full reimbursement from anyone. Set 371 against a roll of 666 and more than half this campus is studying on a state or central scheme. The postgraduate year runs the other way, with 23 of its 67 reimbursed by government and 25 by nobody at all. Separately, the same filing classes 233 undergraduates as economically backward and 325 as socially challenged.
The share CNLU pays out of its own pocket is shrinking. The 2025 submission recorded 55 undergraduates on institution funds against 26 in the 2026 one, so the university's own contribution more than halved in a year and the government schemes absorbed the difference. Get the caste and income certificates issued before counselling opens rather than after an offer arrives, because they are what the five routes run on. A general-category student who qualifies for none of them has no third door at CNLU and should plan for the published fee in full.
Decide
Compare with similar colleges
Voices
Student Reviews
CNLU runs a feedback form and publishes nothing that comes out of it. No survey result, no satisfaction summary, no student comment: the form is open to any visitor and the answers go nowhere the public can read them. The nearest thing to a testimonial on the whole site is the faculty convenor's own note on the alumni page, which is the university describing itself. Star ratings against the CNLU name exist on listing sites, averaged from whoever felt like typing one in, and a number assembled that way is not evidence about a law school, so none appears here.
What the site gives you instead is better than a rating: named people you can actually reach. The alumni committee page publishes the email of its faculty convenor, Dr. Shivani Mohan, alongside a student convenor and co-convenor; the career development cell page publishes phone numbers for Prof. Ajay Kumar as placement convenor, Dr. Shweta Vats as placement chair and Ms. Kirti as internship coordinator. Between them those two pages put you in touch with a current student and a recent graduate, which is where the answers a review site cannot give you actually live.
Three questions about CNLU can only be settled that way. Ask whether residence was treated as compulsory in their year, because the hostel regulations and the admission brochure contradict each other outright. Ask which of the visiting professors actually took a class, because twelve of those appointments on the ranking return have carried the same 2011 joining date ever since. And ask how the 75% attendance rule was enforced, because the notice board says it was enforced in August 2026 and the fee schedule says what it costs.
Campus
Gallery
Everything photographic of Mithapur belongs to CNLU and is published on CNLU's terms, so go and look at it at the source. Its photo gallery dates every album: the 4th CNLU Cyber Law National Moot Court Competition on 5 April 2026, the 5th CNLU-CARCIL insolvency moot on 8 February 2026, the convocation on 3 January 2026, the inauguration of the Bihar Samvidhaan Fellowship on 26 November 2025, and one from 6 April 2024 titled Inauguration of Smart Classes. A set called CNLU Facilities sits alongside them, and it is the closest thing to a walkthrough the university offers.
Look at the dated moot albums rather than the facilities set, since the first shows what the campus does and the second shows what it owns. Then take up the campus visit the site invites, because the thing that decides five years here is not in any photograph: whether an 18-acre site one kilometre from Patna Junction feels central or cramped depends entirely on how you intend to use the city around it.
Questions
Frequently asked questions
References
Sources
- CLAT 2027 information brochure – consortiumofnlus.ac.in
- Official website – cnlu.ac.in
- NIRF 2025 ranking – nirfindia.org
- CLAT 2026 first provisional list, CNLU B.A. LL.B. (Hons.) – s3.ap-south-1.amazonaws.com
- council's own register of institutions holding valid accreditation – naac.gov.in
At a glance
Quick facts
- Established
- 2006
- NIRF 2025 (Law)
- Rank #17NIRF· 2025-08-14
- NAAC
- B, CGPA 2.17
- Website
- cnlu.ac.in

Expertie Editorial Team
This page is researched and maintained by the Expertie editorial team, and checked against official sources.
Found something that looks wrong? Email us at editorial@expertie.com.
Last updated
