Scholarship
ICSSR Doctoral Fellowship(ICSSR DOCTORAL FELLOWSHIP)
Overview
About ICSSR DOCTORAL FELLOWSHIP
Two clauses in the ICSSR guidelines settle most of this competition before a proposal is read on merit. UGC NET is mandatory, with a maximum of 10 per cent of the fellowships left open to candidates who are not NET qualified but whose proposals the Council's panel of subject experts finds outstanding. And the Ph.D. topic has to be confirmed by the institution's DRC on or before the last date of the call, with applications from scholars whose topics have not been approved by their statutory bodies summarily rejected (ICSSR, Guidelines for Doctoral Fellowships 2026-27). The money, Rs 20,000 a month with a contingency grant of Rs 20,000 a year, is the easy part to look up. The 2026-27 window has already been and gone: it opened on 15 June 2026 and shut on 4 August 2026 after an extension (ICSSR, Call for applications 2026-27).
This is money for a Ph.D. already under way, not a route into one. The Indian Council of Social Science Research, founded in 1969, calls itself the Government of India's apex body for research in the social and human sciences, works under the Ministry of Education, and counts 13,909 fellowships awarded across all its schemes as on March 31, 2026 (ICSSR).
One call for the financial year covers three separate schemes: the Full-Term Doctoral Fellowship Scheme, which is centrally administered, a Short-Term Doctoral Fellowship Scheme for scholars close to submission, and a Contingency Grant Scheme that stands on its own. A scholar can apply for only one of them in a financial year, which makes the choice between the three a real decision rather than a formality (ICSSR, Call for applications 2026-27).
Subject fit works differently at this stage than at any later one. Because clause 2.2 requires the topic to be DRC-confirmed before the call closes, nobody can re-aim a proposal at whatever the Council has flagged as a priority area that year; the topic already on the registration file either sits inside one of the guidelines' 32 domain headings and their named priority areas or it does not. Stated preference goes to work in those priority areas, and anything outside them survives only if the Experts Committee judges the issue important and the proposal outstanding (ICSSR, Guidelines for Doctoral Fellowships 2026-27).
Who runs it
Provider
Ministry of Education
Central Government
Department Of Higher Education · Indian Council Of Social Science Research
At a glance
Key details
| Level | Central |
| Scheme type | Centrally Sponsored Scheme |
| Category | Education & Learning |
| Beneficiaries | Individual |
| Benefit type | Cash |
| Application mode | Online |
| Direct Benefit Transfer | No |
| Tags | ICSSR Fellowships, Doctoral Fellowship, Social Science Research, PhD, Research Scholars |
| Source record | myScheme, 2026-07-08official-site· 2026-07-08 |
Calendar
Important dates
ICSSR describes its own fellowship calendar as one round of online applications a year, around April to June, advertised on its website and pushed out through its social media channels (ICSSR, Fellowships). The doctoral call can land later than that description suggests, and it can move once open.
| Stage | 2025-26 cycle | 2026-27 cycle |
|---|---|---|
| Online application opened | Not stated in the result notice | 15 June 2026 |
| Closing date first announced | Not stated in the result notice | 14 July 2026 |
| Closing date that finally applied | 3 November 2025 | 4 August 2026 |
| Joining documents due from awardees | 26 December 2025, extended to 6 January 2026 | Not yet announced |
Eligibility is frozen at the closing date, not at the date of the result. For 2025-26 the Council said eligibility and other conditions would be calculated strictly on documents and notifications issued up to the last date of submission, 3 November 2025, and required an OBC (NCL) or EWS certificate issued on or before that day (ICSSR, Declaration of Results, Doctoral Fellowship 2025-26). A caste certificate that lapses, or a NET result that lands a week late, is therefore a disqualification and not a paperwork problem. No date has been published for the next doctoral call.
Who can apply
Eligibility criteria
The two clauses that do the sorting are 2.5 and 2.2, and neither appears in the summary version of the scheme. Clause 2.5 makes UGC NET mandatory and caps the exception: a maximum of 10 per cent of the fellowships may go to candidates who are not NET qualified but whose proposals the ICSSR panel of subject experts rates outstanding. Clause 2.2 requires the Ph.D. topic to have been confirmed by the DRC or the institution's other authorised statutory body on or before the last date of the call, with a certificate to that effect uploaded during submission (ICSSR, Guidelines for Doctoral Fellowships 2026-27).
The rest is arithmetic done on the closing date. The candidate must not be more than 40 years of age on the last date of application, with an age relaxation of 5 years for SC, ST, OBC (NCL) candidates and persons with benchmark disability, and must have secured at least 55 per cent in a post-graduation in any social science discipline, relaxed by 5 per cent for the same categories. For 2026-27 the marks clause carries a document condition that catches people out: the scanned post-graduation marksheet has to be uploaded with a CGPA to percentage conversion formula certified by the affiliating university, and candidature is summarily rejected where it is not.
Where the scholar is registered decides admissibility as much as who they are. Registration has to be at a UGC recognised university or deemed-to-be university, at a college whose Ph.D. programme UGC has approved and recognised under 2(f) or 12(b), at an Institute of National Importance as defined by the Ministry of Education or UGC, or at an ICSSR Research Institute, and the fellow has to remain a full-time bonafide student of that institution through the whole tenure.
The two smaller schemes inherit all of the above and add one condition each. The short-term route additionally asks for at least three years of research work already completed towards the Ph.D. The contingency grant is meant for scholars at an advanced stage of their work, and is fenced to field trips, stationery and computer consumable expenses.
| Applicant must be an Indian citizen. | |
| Must be a full-time bonafide Ph.D. scholar in a social science discipline in a UGC-recognized university, deemed-to-be university, institute of national importance, ICSSR Research Institute, or college with approved Ph.D. programme. | |
| The Ph.D. topic must have been confirmed by the DRC/authorised statutory body of the institution on or before the last date of call for applications. | |
| Age must be below 40 years as on the last date of application. | |
| Age relaxation of 5 years allowed for SC/ST/OBC-(NCL) candidates and Persons with Benchmark Disabilities (PwD). | |
| Must have secured a minimum of 55% marks in post-graduation, with 5% relaxation for reserved categories (SC/ST/OBC-(NCL)/PwD). |
Who cannot apply
Exclusions
The bar that catches the best-qualified applicants is prior funding. Anyone who has already availed the UGC Junior Research Fellowship, the Rajiv Gandhi National Fellowship, the Maulana Azad National Fellowship, the Jawaharlal Nehru Memorial Foundation Fund Fellowship, or a doctoral fellowship from ICSSR, ICAR, CSIR, ICPR, ICMR or ICHR is out, and the clause closes with a catch-all for any such major doctoral fellowship. Written into that same clause is the exception worth knowing: candidates drawing the UGC Non-NET Fellowship are eligible to apply (ICSSR, Guidelines for Doctoral Fellowships 2026-27).
Three further exclusions operate quietly. A fellow is not entitled to the same type of fellowship more than once. Defaulters on any previous ICSSR fellowship, project or grant stay out of consideration until the concerned administrative division gives them clearance. And an application submitted against one call is not carried into the subsequent calls on its own, so a near miss has to be filed again from the beginning.
- Those who are not fulfilling the eligibility criteria.
Continuation
Renewal conditions
The two-year tenure is not sanctioned in one piece. The sanction is issued initially for one year from the date of the award letter, and the second year has to be approved by the Council as an extension, against a satisfactory Annual Progress Report, the Statement of Expenditure for the entire first-year grant, and the Grant-in-Aid Bill. There is an earlier checkpoint inside year one: the second instalment moves only after six months are complete and only against a detailed six-monthly progress report forwarded by the supervisor, setting out the work done and the research plan for the next six months (ICSSR, Guidelines for Doctoral Fellowships 2026-27).
Renewal can be lost rather than refused. The fellowship may be discontinued or terminated at any stage if research progress is found unsatisfactory, if any ICSSR rule is violated, or if the research topic is changed without the Council's permission, and ICSSR may call for an annual presentation or a mid-term appraisal along the way. Leave for maternity, medical or extraordinary circumstances, not exceeding six months and approved in advance, defers the tenure without increasing the total sanctioned amount. Deregistering from the Ph.D. and re-registering later earns no extension at all: the date of deregistration is treated as the date the fellowship terminates (ICSSR, Guidelines for Doctoral Fellowships 2026-27).
What you get
Award & benefits
| Scheme | What it pays | How long it runs |
|---|---|---|
| Full-Term Doctoral Fellowship | Rs 20,000 a month plus a contingency grant of Rs 20,000 a year | Two years, sanctioned one year at a time |
| Short-Term Doctoral Fellowship | Six months of the full-term fellowship amount plus contingency payable for six months | Six months, or until the thesis is submitted, whichever is earlier |
| Contingency Grant | A consolidated grant of Rs 62,500 | One-time |
Nothing here is credited to the scholar by ICSSR. The obligation sits with the affiliating or administering institution, which has to open or maintain a bank account earmarked for ICSSR grant under Scheme Code 0877 and duly registered on the PFMS portal, and which is expected to release the sanctioned grant onward to the scholar without delay (ICSSR, Guidelines for Doctoral Fellowships 2026-27).
The two smaller awards are front-loaded and then held back. A short-term fellowship arrives as 70 per cent of the grant against the award-letter documents, the Grant-in-Aid Bill and the PFMS mandate form, with the balance paid only once the thesis submission certificate, the soft copy of the thesis, a summary of 3000 to 4000 words and the audited utilisation certificate have reached ICSSR. The standalone contingency grant splits unevenly: Rs 40,000 first, and the remainder against the same closing paperwork minus the thesis soft copy (ICSSR, Guidelines for Doctoral Fellowships 2026-27). Contingency money of either kind is for books, stationery, computer consumable costs and field work, and while the fellowship runs, drawal of TA, attendance and leave are governed by the affiliating institution's own rules.
- Monthly Fellowship amount @ Rs.20,000 per month
- Contingency Grant @ Rs.20,000 per annum
What to prepare
Documents required
The scheme record does not publish a document list ahead of the call, and that is accurate rather than evasive: the annexure formats are released with each year's advertisement. What the 2026-27 call and guidelines asked for is still a useful preview, because most of it cannot be arranged overnight.
At application the online form takes the post-graduation marksheet with the university-certified CGPA conversion formula; proof of date of birth by way of a birth certificate, secondary school certificate or higher secondary school certificate; self-attested proof of educational qualification including UGC NET; the certificate confirming that the DRC or authorised statutory body approved the topic; scanned forwarding letters from the supervisor and from the affiliating institution in the prescribed formats; the institution's 2(f) or 12(b) certificate; a certificate of disability for PwD applicants; and, for OBC (NCL) and EWS applicants, a caste certificate valid for the financial year of the call, failing which the application is considered in the Unreserved Category (ICSSR, Guidelines for Doctoral Fellowships 2026-27). A scholar routed through an ICSSR Research Institute uploads one more forwarding letter, from that institute.
After selection the paperwork changes character. The 2025-26 awardees were asked to upload the master's degree and marksheet, the Ph.D. registration certificate, the affiliating institution's UGC recognition certificate, a joining report, an undertaking, the institution's forwarding letter, a Grant-in-Aid Bill matching their scheme, the PFMS mandate form and, for a scholar registered at a college, the approval letter for that college's Ph.D. programme (ICSSR, Declaration of Results, Doctoral Fellowship 2025-26). Hard copies then follow by speed post, forwarded by the competent authority of the university where the candidate is registered for the Ph.D.; where the supervisor belongs to a different institution, a forwarding letter from that institution's head is summarily rejected.
Step by step
How to apply
Applications are online only, through the ICSSR application dashboard at app.icssr.org, and the form can be filled in English or in Hindi, using Arial or Mangal Unicode font in Devanagari script. The research proposal follows the same language rule.
The step that trips people is not the form but the forwarding. Affiliating institutions and supervisors are instructed to forward only candidates who meet the norms in columns 2.1 to 2.6 of the detailed guidelines, after proper verification and certification of details from original documents, and an incomplete application, or one with no forwarding letter from the institution where the candidate is registered for the Ph.D., is summarily rejected (ICSSR, Call for applications 2026-27). Applicants who want to be routed through one of the 25 research institutes ICSSR funds (ICSSR, Research Institutes) use the same online form and select the institute inside it; that institute must then forward the application.
How to Track an Application
There is no application status tracker for this scheme. The dashboard offers three doors, none of them a lookup: apply for grants, apply for a vacancy, and a grievance portal (ICSSR, Application Dashboard). The guidelines close the gap on purpose, with clause 10.16 stating that no queries regarding the awards will be entertained by the ICSSR secretariat until the final declaration of results (ICSSR, Guidelines for Doctoral Fellowships 2026-27).
What stands in for tracking is the result notice itself. The merit list is placed on the Council's website, and only selected candidates and their affiliating universities are informed individually, through a provisional award letter emailed to them. Scholars whose applications were routed through an ICSSR Research Institute are not contacted at all: the intimation goes to the institute, which sends its own letter on to the scholar (ICSSR, Declaration of Results, Doctoral Fellowship 2025-26). Once an award is accepted, following the money means asking the institution, because instalments are transferred to its PFMS-registered account. Technical enquiries about uploading documents go to cc@icssr.org, the address the Council's Computer Division publishes (ICSSR, Divisions).
- 1Apply online
The official links on this page lead to the application portal.
How winners are picked
Selection process
Fellowships are awarded on the evaluation of applications by the panel of subject experts, and merit lists are prepared from the Expert Committees' evaluation reports. The Government of India reservation policy is followed in the award, ICSSR may invite a shortlisted applicant to make a presentation before an Expert Committee, and the Council reserves the right to reject any application without assigning a reason (ICSSR, Guidelines for Doctoral Fellowships 2026-27). Candidates who applied under a reserved category but scored above the unreserved cut-off within their discipline are placed in the general list, and every result stays provisional until documents are verified, with false information or suppression of facts at any stage cancelling the award (ICSSR, Declaration of Results, Doctoral Fellowship 2025-26).
The 2025-26 annexures show how much room the non-NET route really leaves. Annexure I, the revised full-term list, runs to serial 483 and is printed under two headings: UGC-NET Qualified down to serial 434, then Non-UGC-NET from serial 435 to the end, which is 49 names (ICSSR, Annexure I, Doctoral Fellowship 2025-26). Annexure II's short-term list of 30 is built the same way, 27 NET-qualified names and three below the Non-UGC-NET heading (ICSSR, Annexure II), while Annexure III's contingency list of 7 carries no such split (ICSSR, Annexure III). Setting those headings against the ceiling of 10 per cent that clause 2.5 sets (ICSSR, Guidelines for Doctoral Fellowships 2026-27) is arithmetic done on the published lists rather than anything the Council states, and it points one way: three of 30 is exactly a tenth, 49 of 483 is a shade over one, so the exception was not left half used.
Fine print
Terms & conditions
The fellowship assumes the scholar has no other income. A fellow may not accept or hold any appointment, paid or otherwise, or receive emoluments, salary or stipend from any other source during the tenure, with one carve-out: teaching assignments of not more than six hours a week. The fellow must stay and work full time at the affiliating university or institute, leaving it only for field work approved by the supervisor, and follows that institution's rules for the rest of the research period (ICSSR, Guidelines for Doctoral Fellowships 2026-27).
Research is expected to be done in India, and collecting data abroad is not a matter for the supervisor to wave through. It requires a separate application under the Data Collection Scheme of the Council's International Collaboration Division, ICSSR is not bound to support it, and the guidelines add the clause that decides how a proposal should be designed in the first place: completion of the study must not be consequent upon that support (ICSSR, Guidelines for Doctoral Fellowships 2026-27).
Output obligations are specific. The scholar has to publish at least two research papers in peer-reviewed journals on the theme of the research and send ICSSR a copy of each, and must acknowledge the Council in those papers and compulsorily in the thesis itself. The soft copy of the thesis goes to ICSSR with a Similarity Index report obtained from the affiliating institution, because as a matter of policy the Council does not accept contents beyond 10 per cent on that index. Where its experts recommend publication, ICSSR reserves the first right to publish a thesis it has funded.
Exit rules carry money consequences. No scholar is allowed to leave before completing three months of the fellowship period, and one who does has to refund the full amount already disbursed; a scholar who leaves without informing ICSSR refunds the entire fellowship released, with penalty or penal interest. Leaving later, having given notice, allows the grant drawn between joining and departure to be retained, against an updated progress report forwarded by the supervisor, an undertaking on a Rs 100 non-judicial stamp paper to send the thesis submission certificate and soft copy within a month of submission, a utilisation certificate in the GFR-12A form, and a refund of any unspent balance (ICSSR, Guidelines for Doctoral Fellowships 2026-27).
Get help
Contact
Doctoral fellowship queries belong to one division rather than to the Council's general desk. That division is the Research Fellowship Doctoral Division, reachable at rfddivision@icssr.org (ICSSR, Divisions). The Council's standing instruction is that all communication, enquiries, grant-in-aid bills and progress reports pertaining to any division must be addressed to that division's head, and not to the Chairman or the Member Secretary (ICSSR).
The office is at JNU Institutional Area, Aruna Asaf Ali Marg, New Delhi 110067, on +91-11-26741849, with visiting hours from 4:00 PM to 5:00 PM. ICSSR also runs a standing advisory asking people to respond only to communications that come from its official channels (ICSSR, Contact Us).
Source
Official links
Questions
ICSSR DOCTORAL FELLOWSHIP – FAQ
Frequently asked questions
From the official scheme FAQ (myScheme)
Read this
Disclaimer
Disclaimer
Scheme details are compiled from myScheme, the Government of India’s official scheme-discovery platform, and are reproduced without alteration. Amounts, deadlines and eligibility change between cycles, so always confirm on the official links above before applying. Expertie does not process applications or charge fees.
References
Sources
- ICSSR, Guidelines for Doctoral Fellowships 2026-27 – icssr.org
- app.icssr.org – app.icssr.org
- myScheme (Government of India) – myscheme.gov.in