Expertie
Scholarships Get counselling

Scholarship

Loan Based Schemes For Safai Karamchari - Education Loan(LBSSF-EL)

Cash
CentralCentral Sector Scheme
Ministry Of Social Justice and Empowerment All India myScheme record
Eligibility
The following person(s)/entities shall be considered eligible for availing of financial assistance under the various schemes of NSKFDC:-
Region
All India
Award
Cash
Deadline
Not published by the source

Overview

About LBSSF-EL

This is borrowed money, and its price is printed in a table that never says who pays what. The National Safai Karamcharis Finance and Development Corporation lends up to Rs 10.00 lakh for a course in India and up to Rs 20.00 lakh for one abroad, and against those two ceilings it prints four interest figures, 2% and 6% for India and 3% and 7% for abroad, under a single heading with no column labels at all (Education Loan (EL), Department of Social Justice and Empowerment). Read against the corporation's own labelled schedules, the lower figure in each pair is what the lending agency pays NSKFDC and the higher one is what reaches the student. The other term families misread is the clock: interest is payable quarterly from the day the money is drawn, not from the day the degree is awarded.

The corporation is a Government of India company set up on 24 January 1997 and in operation since October that year, and it does not lend to a student. Its schemes are implemented through State Channelising Agencies nominated by state governments and union territory administrations, through Regional Rural Banks and through nationalised banks, and the financial assistance is provided to those bodies at concessional rates of interest for onward disbursement to the target group (NSKFDC objective and salient features, Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment).

Two consequences of that structure change how a family should plan. The lending policy funds 90% of the cost with the remaining 10% to be arranged by the student or the agency, and it states that the assistance is provided through the channelising agency or the institute or college only, with nothing provided directly to the candidate (NSKFDC Lending Policies and Guidelines). A fee already settled out of the family's own pocket is not what this loan is built to reimburse.

The lending is also far more concentrated than a national scheme sounds. Across all NSKFDC schemes and not this loan alone, the Ministry reported funds released of Rs 250.68 crore covering 37,503 beneficiaries in 2024-25, and Rs 93.61 crore covering 11,081 beneficiaries in 2025-26 up to 31 December 2025; of that second year's Rs 9,360.91 lakh, Rs 9,095.80 lakh went to Kerala alone and 10,948 of the 11,081 beneficiaries were there, with most states recording nothing at all (Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment Annual Report 2025-26). Whether this loan is reachable depends less on the scheme than on whether your state's agency is currently drawing funds. The Ministry's evaluation of the corporation, carried out by the National Productivity Council against 2018-19, listed increasing coverage under the education loan among its areas of intervention (Evaluation Study of NSKFDC, executive summary).

Who runs it

Provider

Ministry Of Social Justice and Empowerment

Central Government

Department of Social Justice & Empowerment · National Safai Karamcharis Finance & Development Corporation (NSKFDC)

At a glance

Key details

LevelCentral
Scheme typeCentral Sector Scheme
CategoryEducation & Learning, Banking,Financial Services and Insurance, Social welfare & Empowerment
BeneficiariesIndividual
Benefit typeCash
Application modeOffline
Direct Benefit TransferNo
TagsProfessional Course, Technical Course, Education Loan, Student, Manual Scavengers, Waste Pickers, Safai Karamcharis
Source recordmyScheme, 2026-07-08official-site· 2026-07-08

Calendar

Important dates

The scheme has been running since the corporation began operations in October 1997 and publishes no closing date, so a student is not waiting for a notification. Applications go in against the academic session rather than against any calendar the corporation announces.

What does constrain the timing is the course and the agency. Admission must be for the current academic session, or for an earlier one with the course still incomplete when the loan is sanctioned, which sets the outer limit on how long a file can sit. Inside that, the agency's 90-day disbursement window and its own drawal cycle decide when money can actually move. Where a channelising agency runs an intake calendar of its own, it is set locally and published locally, so the district office is the only place to ask.

Important dates by cycle
CycleStageDate
CurrentApplications open1997-10-01

Who can apply

Eligibility criteria

The test is occupational. It is not academic merit, and it is not caste: answering a written question in the Rajya Sabha on 3 March 2011, the Ministry stated that under the corporation's lending policy the benefits of NSKFDC schemes are provided on occupational basis and not on caste basis (Press Information Bureau, 3 March 2011).

The lending policy defines a Safai Karamchari as a person engaged in or employed for any sanitation work, and a dependant as a family member dependent on that person who has attained the age of 18 years and above, which is the floor for financial assistance (NSKFDC Lending Policies and Guidelines). Status is proved by one of two routes and the second is much lighter. Either the applicant produces an occupation certificate from one of the authorities the policy names, or, under the Prohibition of Employment as Manual Scavengers and their Rehabilitation Act, 2013, a person whose name has appeared in the final list of manual scavengers prepared by the state government or union territory administration needs no certificate at all.

Nothing about the household's earnings decides the application. The policy states that no income limit is fixed for availing financial assistance, and puts income to work only as a tie-breaker: other things being equal, priority goes first to scavengers whose income is below double the poverty line, then to women from the target group, then to disabled persons from it. On the study side the applicant must have obtained admission for the current academic session, and an admission taken in a previous session still qualifies provided the course is not completed at the time the loan is sanctioned.

The following person(s)/entities shall be considered eligible for availing of financial assistance under the various schemes of NSKFDC:-
Safai Karamcharis (including Waste pickers), identified Manual Scavengers and their dependents.
Registered co-operative societies of the target group.
Legally constituted association/firm promoted by the target group, and
Persons, who produce a certificate from local Revenue Officer/local Municipal Officer/Cantonment Executive Officer/ Railway Officer, Head of the Govt. Departments (i.e. Schools, Colleges, Forest, Health, Education, Animal Husbandry) having rank not less than Gazetted Officer, Elected Members of the Municipal Body, Pradhan of Gram Panchayats, and Regional Managers of Regional Rural Banks (RRBs)/Public Sector Banks (PSBs). However, under the MS Act, 2013, a person identified as a Manual Scavenger in a survey, need not provide any certificate once his/her name appeared in the final list of Manual Scavengers prepared by State Governments/Union Territory Administration .
Mukhia/ Sarpanch/ President or any other authority equivalent to Pradhan of Gram Panchayat for the issue of Occupation Certificate to Safai Karamcharis/ dependents; and In case of Municipal Bodies without Gazetted Officers, the head of such Municipal Bodies, maybe the Competent Authority.

Who cannot apply

Exclusions

The scheme catalogue prints nothing under exclusions, so the boundaries have to be read out of the lending policy, and there are four of them. The loan funds a named set of professional, technical and graduate-level courses, so a programme outside that list is outside the scheme. A course that has finished before the file reaches sanction falls out, since the policy protects only an unfinished course from an earlier session. A cost already met by the family has no route back, because assistance moves to the channelising agency or the institution and never to the candidate. And the 10% promoter's contribution carries no published waiver: a household with nothing to put in has to find that share before the 90% is of any use to it (NSKFDC Lending Policies and Guidelines).

Continuation

Renewal conditions

Nothing here is renewed year by year. The corporation's own schedule labels the education loan ceiling a maximum course cost, so one sanction is meant to carry a whole degree rather than to be topped up each session (NSKFDC objective and salient features, Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment), and nothing in the published guidelines asks a borrower to re-apply each year or to submit marks to keep the sanction alive. What repeats instead is the bill. Interest falls due quarterly from disbursement, which means the second and third years of a course carry payments even though no principal is due yet, and a household that has budgeted only for the fee will meet those quarters unprepared.

What you get

Award & benefits

Where the course isMaximum loanInterest figures on the current card
Study in IndiaRs 10.00 lakh2% and 6% a year
Study abroadRs 20.00 lakh3% and 7% a year

Which of each pair a student pays is not stated on that card, whose only heading over both columns reads interest chargeable from. Every NSKFDC schedule that does label its columns splits them the same way, the rate to the channelising agency first and the rate to the beneficiary second, so the operative number for a borrower is the second one, 6% a year in India and 7% abroad. Since that reading is an inference from how the corporation lays out its other schemes rather than something this card spells out, treat the figure in your sanction letter as the one that governs the account.

That reading also matters because the figures have moved. The corporation's lending policy and the annexure of NSKFDC scheme terms prepared for the National Commission for Safai Karamcharis both set the education loan at 1% a year to the channelising agency and 4% a year to the beneficiary (NSKFDC Lending Policies and Guidelines, NCSK, loan schemes of NSKFDC), and so did the Rajya Sabha answer of 2011 (Press Information Bureau). Those older figures still circulate on scheme aggregators and in the corporation's own guidelines document. The card on the Department's scheme page is the current one.

Women candidates get a rebate of 0.5% a year, and the wording of it has an oddity worth carrying to the counter. The rebate is stated for study in India, and in the lending policy it is a footnote against the beneficiary's rate rather than the agency's, but the Department prints the same India-worded line against the abroad row too (Education Loan (EL), Department of Social Justice and Empowerment). A woman planning an overseas course should ask the channelising agency to confirm her rate in writing before signing.

The same table carries a note about a second benefit that is not part of this loan at all: where a course is in India and the family's annual income is up to Rs 4.50 lakh, the interest is reimbursable under a Ministry of Education scheme (Education Loan (EL), Department of Social Justice and Empowerment). Older prints of the same note name the Ministry of Human Resource Development, which is that ministry under its former name, so a listing quoting either is quoting the same benefit.

On what the money may be spent, the lending policy's coverage list runs one item wider than the summary most portals reproduce. Alongside admission and tuition fees, books, stationery and instruments, boarding and lodging and the insurance premium, it covers the examination fee (NSKFDC Lending Policies and Guidelines).

  • Educational Loan: Study in India₹10,00,000/-2% 6% (0.5% p.a. rebate for women candidates for study in India) Study in Abroad₹20,00,000/-3% p.a. 7% p.a.(0.5% p.a. rebate for women candidates for study in India) Note: The interest on an education loan (for study in India) is reimbursable under the scheme of Ministry of Education , Government of India to the beneficiaries whose family annual income is upto 4.50 lac per annum.
  • Repayment period: 5 years after the co-termination of the course. However, the interest is payable on a quarterly basis from the disbursement of the loan.
  • Moratorium period: Coverage : Education loan may cover the following:-
  • Admission Fees & Tuition Fee.
  • Books, stationery, and other instruments required for the course.
  • Boarding and lodging expenses.
  • Insurance premium for the policy.

What to prepare

Documents required

One paper decides the file, and it is not an academic one: the occupation certificate, or the entry in the state's final list of manual scavengers that replaces it. Everything else on an agency's checklist exists to support that.

Two items on the indicative list sit oddly against the scheme's own rules and are worth querying rather than chasing blindly. An income certificate is asked for by a scheme whose policy fixes no income limit, and a caste certificate by a scheme the Ministry has described as occupational and not caste-based. An agency may still want both on file, for the priority ordering or for its own records, but neither is the document that establishes eligibility.

Because the loan is sanctioned by the channelising agency and not by the corporation, the agency sets the supporting list, and the policy adds a requirement on its side of the counter: proposals reach NSKFDC in its prescribed formats, with a detailed project report attached for each scheme (NSKFDC Lending Policies and Guidelines). Ask the district office that will hold your file for its list before assembling anything.

Indicative Documents
Aadhaar Card
Income certificate
Caste certificate
Bank account statement
Educational Certificates

Step by step

How to apply

There is no online application, and no individual application is submitted to the corporation. The lending policy is explicit that no application or project report of an individual beneficiary will be submitted to NSKFDC directly, and that proposals go to the channelising agency in its prescribed format instead (NSKFDC Lending Policies and Guidelines). In practice that means the district office of the State Channelising Agency for your state, or a Regional Rural Bank or nationalised bank acting as a channelising agency; the corporation publishes the current list of those agencies on its website. The agency identifies and appraises the applicant, the corporation examines viability and sanctions by issuing a Letter of Intent to that agency, and the agency then sanctions and disburses.

Tracking works the same way round, which is why a status question addressed to Delhi comes back empty. The corporation's sanction is issued to the agency and not to a named student, so the only file that can be traced is the one the district office or bank branch holds. One published rule explains a kind of delay nobody at that counter can fix: a State Channelising Agency has 90 days from the release of NSKFDC funds to disburse them to the ultimate beneficiaries, funds unutilised after that must be refunded in lump sum with non-utilisation charges, and where the agency's cumulative utilisation at the end of the preceding financial year was below 80% those charges run at 3% a year over and above the applicable interest rate (NSKFDC Lending Policies and Guidelines). Applications therefore bunch around an agency's drawal cycle rather than around a student's admission date.

How winners are picked

Selection process

There is no merit list and no cut-off. The guidelines put identification of beneficiaries on the channelising agencies, keep viability appraisal and the Letter of Intent with NSKFDC, and place responsibility for both the utilisation of the loans and their recovery back on the agency (NSKFDC Lending Policies and Guidelines).

That last clause is why the queue in one state moves while another stands still. Before more money is released to a State Channelising Agency, the corporation looks for cumulative utilisation of loans at the end of the preceding financial year of not less than 80% of the funds disbursed to it, repayment of existing loans of not less than 50%, and security in the form of a block government guarantee or letter of assurance (NSKFDC Lending Policies and Guidelines). An agency that has lent badly cannot draw easily, and its applicants wait however strong their own file is.

Fine print

Terms & conditions

The repayment period is 5 years after co-termination of the course with a moratorium period of one year, and interest is payable on a quarterly basis from the disbursement of the loan (Education Loan (EL), Department of Social Justice and Empowerment). That is the whole of what the guidelines say about the moratorium, and it should not be read as the deferment a bank education loan offers: principal waits, interest does not.

The security the corporation insists on sits above the student rather than on the student. A block government guarantee from the state government or union territory administration backs its lending to a State Channelising Agency, it may accept a bank guarantee or a letter of assurance from the state's social welfare department instead, and lending to Regional Rural Banks and nationalised banks needs no security at all (NSKFDC Lending Policies and Guidelines). On the same tier, an agency that misses an instalment pays liquidated damages of 2% over the applicable rate on the overdue amount, and any payment it makes is adjusted to interest first and principal after, which is why an agency in arrears is slow to sanction new files.

What the borrower is asked to pledge, and who must stand as guarantor, is set by the lending agency and is not stated in the corporation's published guidelines. Assets created out of a loan are hypothecated to the agency, and the policy closes by giving the Managing Director of NSKFDC the final word on any ambiguity in the guidelines, so a disputed term is settled by the corporation and not by the counter that quoted it.

Get help

Contact

NSKFDC is at NTSC, 3rd Floor, E-Block, NSIC, Okhla Industrial Estate Phase-III, New Delhi 110020, on 011-26382476, 011-26382477 and 011-26382478, and at nskfdc-msje@nic.in (NCSK, loan schemes of NSKFDC). That office answers for the scheme's terms. It does not hold applications, so for anything about a specific file the sanctioning agency in your state is the address, and the district manager there is the officer to write to.

Questions

LBSSF-EL – FAQ

Frequently asked questions

From the official scheme FAQ (myScheme)

Read this

Disclaimer

Disclaimer

Scheme details are compiled from myScheme, the Government of India’s official scheme-discovery platform, and are reproduced without alteration. Amounts, deadlines and eligibility change between cycles, so always confirm on the official links above before applying. Expertie does not process applications or charge fees.

Written by

Expertie Editorial Team

Expertie editorial desk

Last updated verified data

Sources & References

  1. 1.myScheme (MeitY, Government of India) official-site· accessed 2026-07-08