Scholarship
AICTE e-Shodh Sindhu Scheme (eSS)(ESSSTJ)
Overview
About ESSSTJ
Search a scholarship list for the AICTE e-Shodh Sindhu Scheme and you will find no amount, no instalment and no bank field, because the scheme was never built to pay a person. It buys journal and database subscriptions and switches them on across a campus network. Nobody named in the paperwork is a student: what AICTE receives is a library dossier carrying the head of the institution's stamp on every page of it. For a student at a member institute the whole benefit is a working link to Web of Science from a library terminal, and there is no individual application to make for it.
eSS is a purchasing arrangement between a council, a set of publishers and a library. AICTE's version of it subscribes to Web of Science, Scopus, ASME, ASCE and Bentham Science on behalf of an approved institute, and the publishers then supply that institute directly rather than reimbursing it (AICTE e-Shodh Sindhu scheme document, archived copy). Sitting in a directory otherwise full of student payments, the myScheme entry files it the same way the scheme document does: the beneficiary field reads University / Institution, the purpose is logged as an infrastructure one, and no direct benefit transfer hangs off it. So there is no student-facing version of this record to reconcile against.
Behind the AICTE component sits a much larger consortium of the same name. e-ShodhSindhu was formed in December 2015 by merging the UGC-INFONET Digital Library Consortium, N-LIST and the INDEST-AICTE Consortium, and it carries current and archival access to more than 10,000 core and peer-reviewed journals for its member institutions (e-ShodhSindhu brochure, INFLIBNET Centre). That brochure is the consortium's own, and it is undated on its face, so treat its per-resource figures as a recent snapshot rather than a live count.
The position today is set by One Nation One Subscription. ONOS began operating on 1 January 2025, its first phase is approved for calendar years 2025, 2026 and 2027, it covers 32 international journal publishers, and the government's own description names E-Shodh Sindhu (ESS) first in the list of 10 library consortia through which access ran before ONOS existed (ONOS, Department of Higher Education). INFLIBNET, which executes both, still describes itself in the present tense as the executing agency for e-Shodh Sindhu under the Ministry of Education (INFLIBNET on ONOS).
AICTE's own footprint has thinned in step with that. The council's institutional development schemes listing currently names IDEA Lab, SPICES, the Grant for Organising Conference, MODROBS, CAFES, GAINER and Margdarshan, and e-Shodh Sindhu is not among them; the scheme document that myScheme still points to no longer resolves on the AICTE website at all. What AICTE does still host is the one-page instruction sheet, and its footer stamps it ESS NOV 2020 (AICTE, steps to apply for eSS). The council's E-Shodh Sindhu page is still standing, but the documents listed on it are circulars about other subjects entirely. Read the AICTE component as documented but dormant, and read ONOS as the route that is actually taking registrations.
Who runs it
Provider
Ministry of Education
Central Government
Department Of Higher Education
At a glance
Key details
| Level | Central |
| Scheme type | Central Sector Scheme |
| Category | Education & Learning |
| Beneficiaries | University / Institution |
| Benefit type | In Kind |
| Application mode | Offline |
| Direct Benefit Transfer | No |
| Tags | Subscriptions Of E-Resources, Web Of Science, Scopus, ASME, ASCE, Bentham Science |
| Source record | myScheme, 2026-07-08official-site· 2026-07-08 |
Calendar
Important dates
The AICTE component runs on an autumn cycle. Applications are invited in October and November each year, and the renewal documents are due in October, so a library that misses the autumn misses the year.
Only one cycle is pinned to real dates in a published AICTE advertisement, and it is old. Under AICTE Quality Improvement Scheme 2021-22, e-Shodh Sindhu appears in the schemes for institutes with the window opening 14-11-20 and closing 20-12-20, and the mode recorded as offline (AICTE, AQIS 2021-22 advertisement). Treat those dates as the pattern, not as a live deadline.
For the current year the live calendar belongs to ONOS. Phase one is approved for the calendar years 2025, 2026 and 2027 (ONOS, Department of Higher Education), institutional registration is open continuously rather than in a window, and the phase two consultation with private universities is the next dated item on the portal.
Who can apply
Eligibility criteria
The AICTE component draws its line at ownership, not at quality. Only AICTE-approved government and government-aided institutes are inside it, and the resource an institute may ask for is tied to what it teaches at postgraduate level, so a college without a PG programme in Mechanical Engineering has no claim on ASME however good its library is. Bandwidth, a static address and a named coordinator stack on top of that ownership test rather than substituting for it, and the coordinator is defined tightly: full-time regular faculty with 10 years of teaching and research and publications to their credit, backed by a co-coordinator with 7 years behind them.
The wider consortium uses a different test, and it is the one most colleges will meet or fail. Membership runs to centrally funded technical institutions, central universities, deemed universities funded by the UGC, and state universities and colleges covered under Sections 2(f) and 12(B) of the UGC Act; institutions outside that set, including private universities and non-12(B) colleges, may still subscribe, but at consortium-negotiated rates paid from their own funds (e-ShodhSindhu brochure).
ONOS narrows the question to who runs the institution. All government higher education institutions, central and state, together with central government research and development institutions, are eligible to participate, an AISHE code is mandatory before registration can even start, and the nodal officer named on the form has to be a regular, senior, whole-time employee (ONOS, How to Join).
| AICTE approved Government/ Government-aided institutes. | |
| The institute must have a digital library network having internet bandwidth (32 Mbps) and Wi-Fi connectivity with one or more static IP address. | |
| The proposed coordinator must be full-time regular faculty with at least 10 year of experience in teaching and research with publications to his/her credit. The institute should also identify a co-coordinator who must be a faculty with at least 7 year of experience in teaching and research. | |
| The institute must have PG Course in | Mechanical Engineering, if applies for ASME. |
| The institute must have PG Course in | Civil Engineering, if applies for ASCE. |
| The institute must have PG Course in | Pharmacy, if applies for Bentham Science. |
| The institute must have PG Course in | Any discipline, if applies for Web of Science/ Scopus. |
Who cannot apply
Exclusions
No document in this scheme carries a bar list. The exclusion is done by the eligibility test itself, and it is a wide one: an AICTE-approved self-financed college is outside the AICTE component from the first line, and a college outside 12(B) and 2(f) recognition is outside the consortium's centrally funded layer even when it is otherwise a strong institution.
Infrastructure removes another set. Access is granted against a static IP range, so an institute without a digital library network and a static address cannot receive what it applied for even if the paperwork is perfect. Discipline gates the rest, resource by resource.
Membership can also be lost after it is granted. AICTE's scheme document is explicit that where usage is not found satisfactory the subscription is stopped rather than renewed, and that a penalty may be imposed (AICTE e-Shodh Sindhu scheme document, archived copy).
Private universities are not shut out permanently, but they are not inside phase one either. A consultative meeting with private universities and private deemed-to-be universities on ONOS Phase II is open, with institutions asked to register before 18 Sep 2026 (ONOS notice).
Continuation
Renewal conditions
Renewal under the AICTE component is annual and is decided on evidence of use, not on a fresh competition. The subscription runs for one calendar year and continues only where the institute has used it and still meets the conditions, and the October file it has to assemble is a fixed list rather than a discretionary one.
What that file demands in practice is a usage report, and the consortium built the tool for it. InfiStats harvests usage data from publisher websites using the SUSHI protocol and gives member institutions title-level COUNTER reports, which is the form the proof of usage takes (e-ShodhSindhu brochure). Between renewals, AICTE reviews usage every three months rather than waiting for the year to end.
On the ONOS side, the annual cycle described above does not reappear. The join page describes a one-time institutional registration and says existing government consortia users, including state government institutions holding a static IP address, are being ported to the ONOS portal automatically for a smooth transition (ONOS, How to Join).
What you get
Award & benefits
The award is a licence, delivered to a network. Nothing is credited to a student, a faculty member or the institute's bank account, and the value shows up only as content that opens without a paywall on campus.
Of the five resources AICTE names, the consortium brochure places only three inside its centrally funded table. Scopus and Bentham Science appear in the separate open-model list, which is the layer an institution subscribes to at negotiated rates on its own account.
| Resource | Where the eSS brochure lists it | Titles | Institutions with access |
|---|---|---|---|
| Web of Science | Under central funding | Database | 150 |
| ASME Journals Online | Under central funding | 29 | 58 |
| ASCE Journals Online | Under central funding | 36 | 51 |
| Scopus | Open model resources | Not stated | Not stated |
| Bentham Science | Open model resources | Not stated | Not stated |
Taken together, the consortium offers differential access to more than 7,000 full-text journals from 11 publishers plus four bibliographic databases to its core member institutions, while N-LIST, the college component, carries upwards of 6,500 journals and 7,99,500 e-books to more than 3,500 colleges (e-ShodhSindhu brochure).
ONOS is the bigger operation now. Read in September 2026, its portal counts 6500+ member institutions and 13,000+ journal titles across 27 broad subject categories, alongside support for article processing charges in selected gold open access journals (ONOS portal). The expansion INFLIBNET describes takes beneficiary users from 56.7 Lakh to 177.82 Lakh and institutions from 2360 to 6500+, against roughly 8000 e-journals held across the older consortia (INFLIBNET on ONOS).
- Benefits: Subscriptions of e-Resources like Web of Science, Scopus, ASME, ASCE and Bentham Science to institutions.
- Duration of Subscriptions: Initially for one calendar year, renewable for further year on the basis of usage by institute and fulfilments of other essential eligibility criteria.
What to prepare
Documents required
A library assembling this file will notice that it is never asked who the readers are. AICTE wants the institute's standing, in the shape of the current AICTE approval letter and the NBA accredited approval letter, and then its research record: publication counts over three years, PhD-qualified faculty, professors on the rolls, completed research and consultancy projects. The head of the institute signs and stamps each page before it goes anywhere (AICTE, steps to apply for eSS). One line of the directory record can be read straight past: it expands NBA as the National Basketball Association, where AICTE's own sheet asks for nothing beyond an NBA accredited approval letter. A separate renewal set falls due each October.
One item dates the form. It still asks for TEQIP documents, and the sheet setting out that requirement is stamped ESS NOV 2020 (AICTE, steps to apply for eSS), so an institute is better off confirming the current list with the council before a library spends a week assembling it.
Step by step
How to apply
Two AICTE documents answer this question differently. Proposals reach the council through its web portal, says the scheme document. The sheet the council still hosts is headed Steps to Apply (Offline Mode) and it shuts the electronic route: registered or speed post only, addressed to the Advisor (IDC) at the Institutional Development Cell in Vasant Kunj, and nothing arriving by email is entertained (AICTE, steps to apply for eSS). One of those two documents is still on the live site and the other is not, which settles which one a library should act on.
That postal route leaves an institute with a courier receipt and the scheme mailbox as its only handles, since no application status page was ever published for it. The ONOS route is the one with a visible record: a librarian registers the institute on the portal with its name, AISHE code and the nodal officer's contact details, and can then confirm the outcome against the published Registered Member Institutions list, filtering by IP-based or login-based access, or write to support@onos.gov.in with the nodal officer's details if the entry does not appear (ONOS, How to Join).
Two registration details catch institutions out. An institute without an AISHE code has to obtain one from the AISHE portal first, applying as a college, university or stand-alone institution if it awards degrees or diplomas and under the research and development category if it does not; an R&D institution additionally needs an authorisation letter from its parent ministry or department (ONOS, How to Join).
Once an institute is in, access is configured rather than claimed. Any device on the campus network of an institution holding a static IP address reaches the content with no individual sign-up, off-campus use runs through the INFED access federation using a Shibboleth identity provider, and colleges without a static IP are served from a centralised identity provider at INFLIBNET, with user IDs issued by the college librarian (ONOS, How to Access).
- 1Apply offline
The official links on this page lead to the application portal.
How winners are picked
Selection process
Proposals under the AICTE component are screened by AICTE, evaluated by an expert committee, and sanctioned on the strength of those recommendations and the funds available for the scheme; the subscriptions are then supplied by the vendors, with Clarivate Analytics handling Web of Science, Elsevier handling Scopus, and GIST handling ASME, ASCE and Bentham Science (AICTE e-Shodh Sindhu scheme document, archived copy). Availability of funds is a stated condition, which is why an eligible proposal is not the same thing as a sanctioned one.
Selection works differently under the national licence. There is no competitive shortlist to survive: an eligible institution registers and is verified, and the Anusandhan National Research Foundation periodically reviews usage and the publication record of Indian authors at participating institutions (ONOS, Department of Higher Education).
Fine print
Terms & conditions
The obligation the scheme puts on an institute is usage, not reporting alone. The coordinator is required to keep utilisation high by running awareness activity among students and faculty, the usage is reviewed every three months, and a weak review can end the subscription and attract a penalty (AICTE e-Shodh Sindhu scheme document, archived copy).
Access carries its own conditions. It is bound to the institution's IP range or its identity provider, which means it does not travel with a student who leaves the institution, and the licence and fair use terms that govern downloading sit with the national portal (ONOS licence and fair use). Nothing in the arrangement converts to cash at any point.
Get help
Contact
Two mailboxes appear in the AICTE scheme document, split by subject: essidc@aicte-india.org for the scheme itself, it2idc@aicte-india.org when the problem is technical (AICTE e-Shodh Sindhu scheme document, archived copy). Neither address survives on the pages AICTE still publishes under this name, so an institute chasing live access will get further with the consortium's desk than with either mailbox.
For anything about current access, the working address is the consortium's. INFLIBNET Centre at Infocity, Gandhinagar answers on support@onos.gov.in and on +91 79 2326 8245, Monday to Friday, 9.30 am to 6.00 pm (ONOS contact).
Source
Official links
Questions
ESSSTJ – FAQ
Frequently asked questions
From the official scheme FAQ (myScheme)
Read this
Disclaimer
Disclaimer
Scheme details are compiled from myScheme, the Government of India’s official scheme-discovery platform, and are reproduced without alteration. Amounts, deadlines and eligibility change between cycles, so always confirm on the official links above before applying. Expertie does not process applications or charge fees.
References
Sources
- AICTE e-Shodh Sindhu scheme document, archived copy – web.archive.org
- myScheme entry – myscheme.gov.in
- e-ShodhSindhu brochure, INFLIBNET Centre – inflibnet.ac.in
- ONOS, Department of Higher Education – onos.gov.in
- institutional development schemes listing – aicte-india.org
- E-Shodh Sindhu page – aicte.gov.in
- Shodhganga, INFLIBNET Centre – shodhganga.inflibnet.ac.in
- ShodhGangotri – shodhgangotri.inflibnet.ac.in
- UGC-CARE portal – ugccare.unipune.ac.in
